subaru wagon burnt down on monroe road

Re: subaru wagon burnt down on monroe road

Postby X2 » April 1st, 2013, 7:32 am

Steups... if that car had enough soup... it wouldna burn down at all.

Sharma must be hire the prophetess to work some obeyah on modified cars...next thing you know... someone with an aftermarket spoiler will be involved in an accident !

.. Or worse yet... someone Prado will be involved in a high speed accident on public streets... endangering innocent civilians !

Oh the carnage !

Postby A172 » April 1st, 2013, 8:59 am

shogun wrote:
japan-r-us wrote:it's not a wagon,it's a sedan pcn 8801 a turbo charged 1.6 ts it was selling here on tuner,owner was javishm,the new owner now buy that car about a week or 2 ago.. that is sourness!

I remember this car.....had no hood scoop to help with cooling the engine.

Hope the new owner didn't seek to "ghee" without making sure he got the bonnet+scoop?

how does no hood scoop affect engine cooling?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 1st, 2013, 9:14 am

more like efficient intercooler operation, not engine cooling.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 1st, 2013, 10:31 am

It just becomes hot air from the turbo, especially top mounts with no vented cooling, heats up very much. Something could have been touching it, a harness or jack or something, decided to melt and start a fire. Especially on long drives, long runs etc.

Mines has a scoop and still is hot as f*ck. Changing to Front mount soon. Our forester has had nearly 2-5 degrees cooler temps when it was switched to a Front Mount. And engine bay does not let out waves of heat when opening the bonnet like it did with stock top mount. Imagine if there was no hood scoop!

Postby shogun » April 1st, 2013, 1:17 pm

A172 wrote:
shogun wrote:
japan-r-us wrote:it's not a wagon,it's a sedan pcn 8801 a turbo charged 1.6 ts it was selling here on tuner,owner was javishm,the new owner now buy that car about a week or 2 ago.. that is sourness!

I remember this car.....had no hood scoop to help with cooling the engine.

Hope the new owner didn't seek to "ghee" without making sure he got the bonnet+scoop?

how does no hood scoop affect engine cooling?

Was a turboed TS....with a TMIC. i'd think, it would help.

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Mines has a scoop and still is hot as f*ck. Changing to Front mount soon.

Same here.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 1st, 2013, 1:54 pm

wtf at top mount with no scoop!!

should have put the air filter in the cab to get breeze from d ac one time

Postby black start » April 1st, 2013, 2:00 pm

trust me, he ain't the first to run a tmic without a scoop, and he won't be the last

Postby A172 » April 1st, 2013, 2:20 pm

shogun, I now realise my question was vague. I was wondering if you were just making a general statement about running a tmic with no scoop or suggesting it caught on fire because of that

Postby bushwakka » April 1st, 2013, 2:30 pm

^correction...she was running it lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 1st, 2013, 2:31 pm

No hood scoops on a TMIC will result in poor efficiency and high IAT's, not necessarily engine fire.

I'll quicker suspect bad electrical, leaky fuel line, or an oil line that probably got away and sprayed on the backend of the turbo or something.

Postby SUPAstarr » April 1st, 2013, 3:37 pm

Xtrail GT's are top mount and no hood scoop, so the no hood scoop talk is in valid, I would look to electrical first, or what vex dog says

Postby shogun » April 1st, 2013, 7:04 pm

A172 wrote:shogun, I now realise my question was vague. I was wondering if you were just making a general statement about running a tmic with no scoop or suggesting it caught on fire because of that

I know you know about cars, so i was wondering mehself. :lol:

Yeah, just in general. Hoping out loud, that the new owner took every precaution to keep the engine as cool as possible, so as to not compound any issues.

Obviously i have no idea what happened in this case.

SUPAstarr wrote:Xtrail GT's are top mount and no hood scoop, so the no hood scoop talk is in valid, I would look to electrical first, or what vex dog says

Dred, you see the size/surface area of that thing?

No need for a scoop, as i'm sure it disperses the heat pretty well, on it's own.
Last edited by shogun on April 1st, 2013, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 1st, 2013, 7:23 pm

the xtrail, along which other vehicles like the prado do not require a hood scoop, but the air is funneled in from the front of the hood and travels along an air passage built under the hood.

You can see just a bit of the seal around the tmic in these pics.

Postby shogun » April 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

KiD wrote:the xtrail, along which other vehicles like the prado do not require a hood scoop, but the air is funneled in from the front of the hood and travels along an air passage built under the hood.

You can see just a bit of the seal around the tmic in these pics.

Did not know this.

That intercooler is huge.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 1st, 2013, 7:37 pm

Found a pic of my old prado.
Here you can see at the front, 2 scoop like openings with a rubber seal.
When the hood is closed it seals to a passage under the hood and exits above the intercooler.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 1st, 2013, 9:22 pm

First time I saw that

Postby SUPAstarr » April 1st, 2013, 9:27 pm

That's great knowledge there KiD, I assumed natural unvented airflow

gregs999

Postby gregs999 » April 1st, 2013, 11:53 pm

The power steering line burst.. That is what started it...

Postby gastly369 » April 1st, 2013, 11:57 pm

subby eh fix that yet :\

80% dem subby does bun down because of that PS line :|