Re: offical boots/shoes to wear @ work thread

Postby tr1ad » February 3rd, 2013, 11:41 pm

rocking meh puma steel tips

Postby De Dragon » February 4th, 2013, 12:06 am

tr1ad wrote:rocking meh puma steel tips

I considered them, but the uppers aren't stitched to the sole in the ones I saw, and where I work that is a new boots in 3-4 months time.

Postby tr1ad » February 4th, 2013, 12:16 am

yea you would run through them in no time.......... i use them for occasional field visits

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » February 4th, 2013, 1:53 am

Where sells red wing locally? Don't like buying shoes online

Postby De Dragon » February 4th, 2013, 4:20 am

jsm1985 wrote:Where sells red wing locally? Don't like buying shoes online

Atlantic Plaza has a Red Wing store, or Caribbean Safety Products in Point Lisas.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » February 4th, 2013, 6:37 am

Clarks Trooper
Trooper.JPG

Postby sMASH » February 4th, 2013, 7:18 am

I considered them, but the uppers aren't stitched to the sole in the ones I saw, and where I work that is a new boots in 3-4 months time.

this is confirmed now. dat bussin up with moderate work.

i rockin dis these days, worked out pretty well when i had my little office stint.

i had passed through these before... very uncomfortable, but then, i am only comfortable in slippers

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 4th, 2013, 7:45 am

Gonna be ordering this soon (have a brown slip-on to this and love it):

Postby pete » February 4th, 2013, 7:51 am

$17.50USD :lol:

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2013, 9:33 am

Guys, when choosing your boot, just remember a few things:

1) Electrically insulated should be chosen only if absolutely nesescary. It usually does not have the same oil resistance non slip, comfort, or durability of those that are not (personal experience)

2) The new gold standard for "steel toe" is not steel but plastic. If your foot is crushed with a steel toe, the steel will crimp your flesh, but the plastic will deform and crack, but will release your foot.

3) The metatarsal guard is really uncomfortable, and you could forget about driving in it... again only if nesescary.

4) Consider buying a Dr. Scholes inner for your boot. I don't know if this affects the ansi safety approval but it makes it a lot more comforable for me

5) Odour eaters.. I put them in when I am not using them, but I use mine like twice a month. Dunno if these comfortable.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 4th, 2013, 11:21 am

All these boots.. so nobody wear regular shoes??

:lol: ah shame

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 4th, 2013, 11:26 am

have these as well,the boots one to it,i find it extremely uncomfortable though,only reason i got them is because of the rated heat resistance

Postby tr1ad » February 4th, 2013, 12:49 pm

ru$$ell wrote:

have these as well,the boots one to it,i find it extremely uncomfortable though,only reason i got them is because of the rated heat resistance

agreed, was a pair they sent over to see if we'll order from them in bulk
i use it occasionally, can't see it being used for longer periods or lasting long

i'll go back to the harley davidson steel tip red wings

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 4th, 2013, 1:17 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Guys, when choosing your boot, just remember a few things:

1) Electrically insulated should be chosen only if absolutely nesescary. It usually does not have the same oil resistance non slip, comfort, or durability of those that are not (personal experience)

2) The new gold standard for "steel toe" is not steel but plastic. If your foot is crushed with a steel toe, the steel will crimp your flesh, but the plastic will deform and crack, but will release your foot.

3) The metatarsal guard is really uncomfortable, and you could forget about driving in it... again only if nesescary.

4) Consider buying a Dr. Scholes inner for your boot. I don't know if this affects the ansi safety approval but it makes it a lot more comforable for me

5) Odour eaters.. I put them in when I am not using them, but I use mine like twice a month. Dunno if these comfortable.

Good tips there Bhagian, especially 1-4. I too use a Dr. Scholes after I had that bout of plantar fasciitis.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2013, 1:26 pm

I not in Industry so its only regular shoes. On khaki days I wear one of these

And on days calling for a black shoe I use some generic black shoe I got in New Vintage.

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2013, 1:44 pm

One settah sorf men postin in this ched.... :lol:

And one set ah sorf men who does wear boots also :|

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 4th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Nice tips there man, I have to wear my boots rite through but that plastic tip boots you talking about.... they sold anywhere in T&T ?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 4th, 2013, 7:59 pm

i never saw them selling anywhere, then again i dont go looking at boots.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 4th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Rudman wrote:

Good tips there Bhagian, especially 1-4. I too use a Dr. Scholes after I had that bout of plantar fasciitis.

dude any tips to help someone who has that ... even been to the doc twice .

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » February 4th, 2013, 10:42 pm

When i'm in the office i wear these
And when i'm working on the press i wear something very similar to these. The difference is the brand is 3M.

Postby BrotherHood » February 4th, 2013, 10:58 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I not in Industry so its only regular shoes. On khaki days I wear one of these

And on days calling for a black shoe I use some generic black shoe I got in New Vintage.

Nice. Got the black in it. My alternate black shoe.

Postby RBphoto » February 5th, 2013, 12:15 am

greenlime100 wrote:

Nice tips there man, I have to wear my boots rite through but that plastic tip boots you talking about.... they sold anywhere in T&T ?

You can check by model:

http://www.redwingshoes.com/footwear/fi ... /maxnum-18

I think wolverene is either safety toe or composite.

Do a search and check the suppliers. SSL carries red wing as far as I know, and there are many safety stores in point and marabella also.

Postby RBphoto » February 5th, 2013, 12:18 am

MonsterPower wrote:
Rudman wrote:

Yeahboi... please share.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 5th, 2013, 11:19 am

where can i get some dr scholes?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 5th, 2013, 11:48 am

8-)

jaceson

Postby jaceson » February 5th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Red Wing work shoes, got mines from the Red-wing Store in IAL on the Cross and they have a branch in Pt Lisas. Very comfi and it looks nice with my dress trousers.

App. they are the official retailers for the product. The sales girl said that have safety clothing, with the same properties like nomex but much softer. I need to make a pass in the Pt Lisas store to check it. If any one currently using it, can you post some feed back.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 5th, 2013, 12:53 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:
Rudman wrote:

Yeahboi... please share.

After visiting the doctor myself, apart from the Voltarin he prescribed, I did these series of exercises for 2 weeks:

This, combined with the Dr. Scholes and trying to keep off my foot as much as I can eventually gave me an ease-up after 2 weeks.

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2013, 1:59 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:

You can check by model:

http://www.redwingshoes.com/footwear/fi ... /maxnum-18

I think wolverene is either safety toe or composite.

Do a search and check the suppliers. SSL carries red wing as far as I know, and there are many safety stores in point and marabella also.

Cyrtoen Ltd, Jarvis Street Vistabella for Wolverine. Or you can order online like I did.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 5th, 2013, 9:30 pm

nicee.... ill give ssl a call.. bought my red wing there also.

wagontuner

Postby wagontuner » August 30th, 2013, 10:01 am