How much you like wild meat?

netsket

Re: How much you like wild meat?

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 11:09 am

-Roach- wrote:Wild Meat Could Never Be Extinct... Thats Why There Is A Hunting Season... After The Season Close The Animals Have Time To Mate etc.. Plus, Real Hunters Go For The Males NOT The Females... One Time Me And My Cousin Saw A Manicou Up A Mango Tree But When We Flash The Light It Had A Pouch With Babies Inside So We Left It... Iguana On The Other Hand Does Have Eggs Inside Of It And I Hear Alot Of People Talking About How The Eggs Does Taste Good... I Never Had It Though...

are you a virgin? how do the females reproduce without the males? just asking.

:?:

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 29th, 2013, 11:16 am

netsket wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Wild Meat Could Never Be Extinct... Thats Why There Is A Hunting Season... After The Season Close The Animals Have Time To Mate etc.. Plus, Real Hunters Go For The Males NOT The Females... One Time Me And My Cousin Saw A Manicou Up A Mango Tree But When We Flash The Light It Had A Pouch With Babies Inside So We Left It... Iguana On The Other Hand Does Have Eggs Inside Of It And I Hear Alot Of People Talking About How The Eggs Does Taste Good... I Never Had It Though...

Rotfl @ This Response... :|

Did You Even Read The Entire Post?... Would YOU Kill A Female Manicou During 'HUNTING SEASON' With A Pouch Full Of Babies Or A Male?...

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2013, 11:24 am

netsket wrote:

getting kinda edgy there netsket

if you really want to make a difference you need to join the forest rangers and enforce the law. posting on tuner asking about people who don't eat it and singing kumbaya not gonna help anything

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 29th, 2013, 11:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

if you really want to make a difference you need to join the forest rangers and enforce the law. posting on tuner asking about people who don't eat it and singing kumbaya not gonna help anything

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 11:28 am

-Roach- wrote:
netsket wrote:

Rotfl @ This Response... :|

Did You Even Read The Entire Post?... Would YOU Kill A Female Manicou During 'HUNTING SEASON' With A Pouch Full Of Babies Or A Male?...

as I said if there are no males, how are the females to reproduce? just asking

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 11:31 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
netsket wrote:

supply and demand, the power in numbers makes a difference :wink:

tuner has thousands of people at various locations throughout trinidad and tobago. Every person who does not eat results in one less sale for the hunter. bringing awareness is the first step in making an impact.

Postby nemisis » January 29th, 2013, 11:55 am

the only wild meat i does eat is hog sket, but i wouldn't make this thread on tuner when i know at the end of the day my money not where my mouth is, where do you actually contribute to helping the situation?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 29th, 2013, 12:04 pm

have relatives that hunt & when they visit bring a few pieces already cooked up so yes i eat it & no lie it tastes good , something different on occasions nuh

when i was about 16yrs old i went 1 time hunting with them & shot d tail feathers off a corn bird (it didnt die since it flew off) & honestly it didnt appeal to me to go in d bush again to hunt\kill a poor wildlife animal so not me & hunting ....... go in d bush for hiking ,fruits\veggies or just to enjoy nature i fine with that but not d hunting part

thing about hunting is most hunters do it for sport so every wk end or during d wk they going often as they can & they dont just kill 1 or 2 animals enough for a good meal but they killing multiple animals they come across & stocking it in their freezer for feting later on

who say ppl dont hunt outside hunting season , allyuh really dont know but they hide & do it .... :|

Postby tr1ad » January 29th, 2013, 12:19 pm

working down moruga and guya regularly, i always get agouti or deer once a year, but not to say i make it my business to go looking to get or purchase

many of the hunters that work with me, always go to hunt, and capture male / female alive, keep them in captivity(not necessarily a cage) and make sure they have young ones, then release at a later stage

not saying this happens for all of those that hunt, but at least some try to assist in repopulating

Postby rollingstock » January 29th, 2013, 12:28 pm

Hmmmmmm going hunting Catshill tonight, just cleaned teh 12 gauge.

Will tell you how the meat taste tomorrow.

Postby Rooki3 » January 29th, 2013, 12:31 pm

i see nun wrong wid catchin 14 agouti one time, they are pests

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 29th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Postby Razkal » January 29th, 2013, 12:34 pm

i would fully support a full 5 year ban on hunting AND fishing in trinidad and tobago for sport or recreation. and place seasonal restraints on the fishing of certain species during their spawning periods for commercial fishermen.

fishermen or folks who refer to themselves as "fishermen" are just as sickening as hunters. just check the 3ne2nr fishermans thread..90% of the pictures posted include bucketfuls and coolers overflowing with juvenile fish...every weekend, on every bank, from every boat yard..every year. no regulations, no angler limit, no seasonal spawning acknowledgement, not even a concern for fishes that are horrible eating but kept "because ah never catch ah tarpon so big yet"...

i have stopped keeping most of my catches, use only circle hooks and stay off the breeding banks and swamps/wetlands. every so often i'll bring home a legal size (i use US florida coast rules and regulations as a guideline, their system WORKS!) fish or two for a good quality munch.
i've stopped buying fish from vendors who repeatedly display and sell undersized and underaged fish and encouraged all my family to attempt the same.

i've started raising tilapia at home also, supplement protein, save $$, consistent quality, and its easier to release prize fishes or good catches, content in the knowledge you have delicious home-grown, butter-garlic seared tilapia at home :lol:

great post OP. nice to know there are concerned folks around

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 29th, 2013, 12:36 pm

rollingstock wrote:Hmmmmmm going hunting Catshill tonight, just cleaned teh 12 gauge.

u feel is you alone have ah phorqin 12 gauge owah boy dan? eh? eh? steups! this could be easily concealed, only 3 round capacity though. :lol: :lol:

Last edited by STORM1234 on January 29th, 2013, 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 29th, 2013, 12:39 pm

Skanky wrote:What really grinds my gears is what they do to those poor iguanas they tie up alive and sell at the side of the road.

What's your address?

Postby rollingstock » January 29th, 2013, 12:41 pm

lost to all wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Hmmmmmm going hunting Catshill tonight, just cleaned teh 12 gauge.

u feel is you alone have ah phorqin 12 gauge owah boy dan? eh? eh? steups! :lol: :lol:

Oh goar is ah ole sbbl ah have.

Postby Razkal » January 29th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Rooki3 wrote:i see nun wrong wid catchin 14 agouti one time, they are pests

do you even know what an agouti is? i would love to know in what capacity they're considered pests :lol:

Postby tr1ad » January 29th, 2013, 12:45 pm

moti

Postby moti » January 29th, 2013, 12:53 pm

i don't eat wild meat and won't.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 29th, 2013, 1:06 pm

tr1ad wrote:you studying he razkal?

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=466317&start=540

:lol: sometimes I honestly think he tries to fail at life. :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » January 29th, 2013, 1:18 pm

Razkal wrote:

do you even know what an agouti is? i would love to know in what capacity they're considered pests :lol:

we have alot that comes in our backyard, when they eat & scatter all the fallen fruit all over, isnt that pest behaviour?

burrowing hole under the fence to get in, isnt that pest behaviour?

but i gues its ok to tolerate this bcuz being a tree huggin bulla is d "in ting"

oh tr1ad u still have that man crush on me huh?

Postby meccalli » January 29th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Razkal wrote:i would fully support a full 5 year ban on hunting AND fishing in trinidad and tobago for sport or recreation. and place seasonal restraints on the fishing of certain species during their spawning periods for commercial fishermen.

fishermen or folks who refer to themselves as "fishermen" are just as sickening as hunters. just check the 3ne2nr fishermans thread..90% of the pictures posted include bucketfuls and coolers overflowing with juvenile fish...every weekend, on every bank, from every boat yard..every year. no regulations, no angler limit, no seasonal spawning acknowledgement, not even a concern for fishes that are horrible eating but kept "because ah never catch ah tarpon so big yet"...

i have stopped keeping most of my catches, use only circle hooks and stay off the breeding banks and swamps/wetlands. every so often i'll bring home a legal size (i use US florida coast rules and regulations as a guideline, their system WORKS!) fish or two for a good quality munch.
i've stopped buying fish from vendors who repeatedly display and sell undersized and underaged fish and encouraged all my family to attempt the same.

i've started raising tilapia at home also, supplement protein, save $$, consistent quality, and its easier to release prize fishes or good catches, content in the knowledge you have delicious home-grown, butter-garlic seared tilapia at home :lol:

x2 , I actually suggested the Florida catch/seasonal limit to one the managers undertaking the reserve for conch and cascadura on the East coast,,but this is Trinidad. Guilty as charged for juvenile fish tho.. :oops: But its usually about 5 lane snappers for the 3 times a year I actually get to go fish lol.
On the actual wild meat note, I've eaten it before but don't pursue it. If I get some from friends/ family, I'll eat it. Usually manicou or deer once a year. Idk how people does eat iguanas or even rabbit for that case lol. 2cute

Postby SMc » January 29th, 2013, 2:56 pm

Breds the last time I made comment on why we shouldnt overhunt I was made out to be a cun.t.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=466512&p=6603328#p6603328

I did think 2nr was a good place to start educating, but I no longer think so

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2013, 3:14 pm

I love wild meat every now and then but men over doing it.

turbosingh wrote:BTW most off the wild meat you see on sale are actually from Venezuela!Very few are from our Forests

x2, got some huge agouti from vene last year....next day I see man get bust for it on the newspapers. That night I ate like a criminal. :fadein:

Postby shogun » January 29th, 2013, 3:39 pm

moti wrote:i don't eat wild meat and won't.

Same here. Not affected.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 29th, 2013, 3:49 pm

Roast rabbit have a nice wild flavor, I'll settle for that

Postby Gem_in_i » January 29th, 2013, 4:32 pm

Someone should ask the Minister when last a wildlife survey was done. They throw around words like dwindling and extinction etc but have no facts to back it up. I am not saying it is truth or not but they use alarmist language to serve their purpose.
Also, there is a need for better record and reporting of what was caught for the season. How many permits are returned as NIL but that is far from the truth.
Last edited by Gem_in_i on January 29th, 2013, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » January 29th, 2013, 4:35 pm

meccalli wrote:
Razkal wrote:i would fully support a full 5 year ban on hunting AND fishing in trinidad and tobago for sport or recreation. and place seasonal restraints on the fishing of certain species during their spawning periods for commercial fishermen.

x2 , I actually suggested the Florida catch/seasonal limit to one the managers undertaking the reserve for conch and cascadura on the East coast,,but this is Trinidad. Guilty as charged for juvenile fish tho.. :oops: But its usually about 5 lane snappers for the 3 times a year I actually get to go fish lol.
On the actual wild meat note, I've eaten it before but don't pursue it. If I get some from friends/ family, I'll eat it. Usually manicou or deer once a year. Idk how people does eat iguanas or even rabbit for that case lol. 2cute

i hear what you saying and i've done the same myself, but its worth the effort at least i figure. i love fishing and it would be shite if in the future there was nothing to fish for.

i offered the same suggestion to some wardens in caroni also and well they conduct fishing tours also. so, plan buss. i used to talk with a few lecturers who were involved in local fisheries projects and ema about the idea and they already had the same ideas, some with refinements for local industry etc. the politics involved in actually implementing something like that was apparently too much of a put off :|

netsket

Postby netsket » January 29th, 2013, 5:19 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Razkal wrote:

we have alot that comes in our backyard, when they eat & scatter all the fallen fruit all over, isnt that pest behaviour? scavenging? feeding on it before it rots and causes a stink?

burrowing hole under the fence to get in, isnt that pest behaviour? build a proper fence

but i gues its ok to tolerate this bcuz being a tree huggin bulla is d "in ting"

oh tr1ad u still have that man crush on me huh?

:idea:

Gem_in_i wrote:Someone should ask the Minister when last a wildlife survey was done. They throw around words like dwindling and extinction etc but have no facts to back it up. I am not saying it is truth or not but they use alarmist language to serve their purpose.
Also, there is a need for better record and reporting of what was caught for the season. How many permits are returned as NIL but that is far from the truth.

the opposite could be said about not having one. do you have facts to back up your point? what we know for a fact that wildlife is being killed at a faster rate than it can reproduce. how could you even make that comment and then say you not saying if it true or not :shock: :? :|

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2013, 5:22 pm

when last anyone see an ocelot in the wild?