THA Elections

Who do you believe will win the THA elections?

60%
PNM
40%

Total votes: 93

Re: THA Elections

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 8:05 pm

rspann wrote:Habit 7,I eh no racist,meh mudder is indian and meh fadder was african,ask any body who know meh.I have brothers who are various degrees of dougla.And I ent no forkin UNC.when people do sheit I does talk about it even tho is meh own party.Rowley is a gracist and that you can't deny,he trying to makeover to appear to like indians(why the need for a makeover),but when they on the microphone listen to the subliminal messages being sent out.They could do what they want but if you honestly listen to them,you would see what i talking about.

Give us examples nah

Postby UML » January 5th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:
rspann wrote:Rowley playing indian in Trinidad(wearing kurta,going nagar,cutting up mango in debe,going mastana etc)but telling Tobagonians (dey) indians go tek ovah Tobago.

I know that story goes over well at your weekly racist meetings, but can someone properly cite a PNM official making that statement? Besides, isn't any Trinidadian already free to acquire propety in Tobago?

rfari wrote:
rspann wrote:Habit 7,I eh no racist,meh mudder is indian and meh fadder was african,ask any body who know meh.I have brothers who are various degrees of dougla.And I ent no forkin UNC.when people do sheit I does talk about it even tho is meh own party.Rowley is a gracist and that you can't deny,he trying to makeover to appear to like indians(why the need for a makeover),but when they on the microphone listen to the subliminal messages being sent out.They could do what they want but if you honestly listen to them,you would see what i talking about.

Give us examples nah

Rowley wants Tobagonians to defend Tobago

Story Created: Oct 26, 2012 at 1:02 AM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 26, 2012 at 1:02 AM ECT

PNM Political Leader Dr Keith Rowley told Tobagonians on Sunday that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has lost the trust of the people. He said this was what Political Leader of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) Ashworth Jack has latched Tobago onto.

Speaking at a Tobago Council of the PNM public meeting at the Goodwood High School Rowley urged fellow Tobagonians to use the upcoming THA election to say to the PP Government that "enough is enough".

"You the people of Tobago have an opportunity, one that Trinidad wish they had, to tell the Government enough is enough," he added.

He urged his listeners at the over flowing Goodwood High School auditorium that when the election was called "you will have an opportunity to defend Tobago. This is your call."

Rowley warned Tobagonians that the Government would spend thousands of dollars in the election campaign and advised them to enjoy it but vote for Orville London and the PNM. "You know what you have but you don't know what you would get," he stressed.

"I place my faith, decency and morality in you the people of Tobago that you will do the descent thing."

Commenting on remarks by Deputy Political Leader (Tobago Affairs) Orville London that he should not support the Green Paper on self-government for Tobago, Rowley said: "As long as something comes to the Parliament that is in the best interest of Tobago I would support it."

The PNM leader said he has placed his faith and his political future in the decency, the integrity and the high moral values of the people of Tobago which meant victory for the PNM. "We have ambition, but we know that ambition means that you get there by standards and virtues and values that will make your parents proud. Any other route, we want no part of it.

Rowley said he was convinced that the PNM administration in Tobago will defend itself in the MILSHIRV issue.

He said the Government had shelved its plans to give each of the 41 parliamentarians $10 million to use on projects in their constituency because the two Tobago members could not spent the money on projects here without getting the approval of the THA.

He described the new Minister of Justice Christlyn Moore as the "handmaiden" of Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and she had collected thousands of dollars from the AG for legal briefs against him.
http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/Rowle ... 11401.html

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 5th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Sorry to say: the racial undertones are becoming more pronounced as this election nears... I have spoken with many, young and old; who are making their choice for what reason. But especially in the older heads, you just keep hearing a lot of racial comments back and forth between afros and indians on this political front.

It's sickening the way things are going... and it isn't "out there" but quietly in the homes and conversations of people, neighbors, patrons in shops and bars etc. Just an in everywhere else.

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 9:19 pm

UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
rspann wrote:Rowley playing indian in Trinidad(wearing kurta,going nagar,cutting up mango in debe,going mastana etc)but telling Tobagonians (dey) indians go tek ovah Tobago.

I know that story goes over well at your weekly racist meetings, but can someone properly cite a PNM official making that statement? Besides, isn't any Trinidadian already free to acquire propety in Tobago?

rfari wrote:

Give us examples nah

Rowley wants Tobagonians to defend Tobago

Story Created: Oct 26, 2012 at 1:02 AM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 26, 2012 at 1:02 AM ECT

PNM Political Leader Dr Keith Rowley told Tobagonians on Sunday that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has lost the trust of the people. He said this was what Political Leader of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) Ashworth Jack has latched Tobago onto.

Speaking at a Tobago Council of the PNM public meeting at the Goodwood High School Rowley urged fellow Tobagonians to use the upcoming THA election to say to the PP Government that "enough is enough".

"You the people of Tobago have an opportunity, one that Trinidad wish they had, to tell the Government enough is enough," he added.

He urged his listeners at the over flowing Goodwood High School auditorium that when the election was called "you will have an opportunity to defend Tobago. This is your call."

Rowley warned Tobagonians that the Government would spend thousands of dollars in the election campaign and advised them to enjoy it but vote for Orville London and the PNM. "You know what you have but you don't know what you would get," he stressed.

"I place my faith, decency and morality in you the people of Tobago that you will do the descent thing."

Commenting on remarks by Deputy Political Leader (Tobago Affairs) Orville London that he should not support the Green Paper on self-government for Tobago, Rowley said: "As long as something comes to the Parliament that is in the best interest of Tobago I would support it."

The PNM leader said he has placed his faith and his political future in the decency, the integrity and the high moral values of the people of Tobago which meant victory for the PNM. "We have ambition, but we know that ambition means that you get there by standards and virtues and values that will make your parents proud. Any other route, we want no part of it.

Rowley said he was convinced that the PNM administration in Tobago will defend itself in the MILSHIRV issue.

He said the Government had shelved its plans to give each of the 41 parliamentarians $10 million to use on projects in their constituency because the two Tobago members could not spent the money on projects here without getting the approval of the THA.

He described the new Minister of Justice Christlyn Moore as the "handmaiden" of Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and she had collected thousands of dollars from the AG for legal briefs against him.
http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/Rowle ... 11401.html

And by his comments u highlighted u determined that he is racist? How can u infer that?

Postby Habit7 » January 5th, 2013, 11:02 pm

Sorry if I offended you but what you are saying is racist. If a man is being invited to cultural and religious ceremonies as an official of the parliament (ceremonies he attend prior without the press coverage) it doesnt necessarily mean he is pandering. And if one sees him as pandering, nothing can be more of a makeover than Kamla who with a new accent, haircut, and the anointing of the men who formally cursed her, is now PM.

It is racist, to perceive someone as racist, when there is little to no evidence of this. Rowley saying stand in defence of Tobago is not the same as say don't allow Indo-Trinidadians to occupy Tobago. Anyone who chooses to believe that anyone can campaign on that nonsense doesnt understand our constitution which allows for freedom of movement within our country. Whether PNM or TOP ANYONE can live in Tobago.

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 12:05 am

London answers Warner’s allegations: Bring the evidence and I will resign

Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Published:
Sunday, January 6, 2013

Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Orville London is prepared to resign if National Security minister Jack Warner provides evidence that he is the owner of a gas station and several houses. London is also calling on the National Petroleum Marketing Company to clear the air on the issue.

However, Warner says he has nothing more to say. When contacted yesterday, he said, “I have nothing more to add. I have said what I had to say on Thursday.” At a Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) meeting on Thursday at Cyd Grey Stadium carpark in Roxborough, Warner told the crowd that London owned about seven properties which were rented in Tobago, and he had photographs of them.

Warner also claimed London had shares in a gas station. In a telephone interview yesterday, London said he would deal with the matter at today’s presentation of People’s National Movement candidates at Market Square in Roxborough. “I will deal with the ole talk and all the issues raised on the platform,” he said.

“Tobago must be told about the baseless allegations and be able to make an evaluation with respect to acceptability of individuals who are prepared to tell outrageous lies in public, and the acceptability of those who are willing to associate with them.” London said if Warner had information to support his case then he would resign as Chief Secretary and withdraw from the election.

“I also challenge him that if he cannot provide the evidence that his allegations are true and that he has in fact deliberately lied to the public of Tobago, and in the most cynical manner slandered another public official, then he should resign,” London said. He said there was excitement among the supporters and the public and expected an impressive turnout.

Among some of the speakers expected to address the meeting which starts at 3 pm are London, PNM political leader Dr Keith Rowley and candidate for Black Rock, Whim/Spring Garden Claudia Groom-Duke. Speaking about some of the allegations and attacks by the People’s Partnership, London said his team was not about character assassination and mud-slinging.

“We are going to be focusing on informing Tobagonians with a type of information to enable them to make the wisest choice on election day. “We aren’t about character assassination and so on. We will focus on issues that are critical to this election,” he said. TOP Political Leader Ashworth Jack also criticised London at Thursday’s meeting. He claimed only one ambulance was serving the Tobago population and criticised London for neglecting healthcare for the last 12 years.

In response, London said new ambulances were purchased “not too long ago.” He said if there were any maintenance problems he wouldn’t know since that was a matter for the Tobago Regional Health Authority. “But they have been telling so many lies that I have to take what they say with a bag of salt,” London said.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-06 ... ers-warner’s-allegations-bring-evidence-and-i-will-resign

Only one ambulance in Tobago says Jack

Published:
Saturday, January 5, 2013

National Security Minister Jack Warner, left, warmly hugs former NAR Minister Pamela Nicholson just after walking onto the stage, during the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) presentation of candidates on Thursday Night at the Cid Gray Stadium Car Park in Roxborough. Photo courtesy by Javan Lewis

The Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) rolled into Roxborough on Thursday night with their political leader Ashworth Jack in a fiery mood. He condemned the PNM leader of the Tobago House of Assembly Orville London for neglecting the state of health care of the island for the past 12 years.

Jack informed the crowd of over 2,000 yellow-clad supporters, that currently Tobago only has one ambulance to service the entire island. “Are you aware, that in Tobago today, there is one working ambulance in the whole of Tobago,” Jack said. He advised the people of Tobago that “you better get sick in turns, because no two people can get sick here at the same time.”

Jack explained that the London inherited the Emergency Medicial Services, which was first set-up in Tobago over 12 years ago. “They have whittled it down to a state of nothingness where only one ambulance working, and them boys telling you they want four more years,” Jack said.

He went on to ask how the PNM could be running a campaign claiming that they are standing in defence of Tobago, with only one working ambulance. “I am glad that it is the PNM who said in defence of Tobago, because it is an indictment against the PNM, with this issue and all the others, it tells you that you must defend Tobago from the PNM and not for them.” Jack said.

He told the Roxborough crowd that within the next few weeks the new multi-million dollar gas station will be completed and that the people in this community can soon expect a new magistrate and administrative complex. Jack said the time has come for the east of Tobago to be developed so that they do not have to run to Scarborough for help.

The TOP leader was the final speaker at the party’s presentation of candidates for the upcoming Tobago House of Assembly elections, carded for January 21.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-05 ... -says-jack

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 12:13 am

SIS $$ FOR TOP
PM's contractor pumps millions into Tobago campaign
By Asha Javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 5, 2013 at 9:56 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jan 5, 2013 at 10:02 PM ECT )

One of the contractors behind Tobago Minority Leader Ashworth Jack's million-dollar mansion is investing heavily in the Tobago Organisation of the People's (TOP) campaign bid to claim control of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA).

The Sunday Express has learned from several sources that Couva-based Super Industrial Services (SIS) —the recipient of several contracts from the People's Partnership Government, including the $45 million Siparia Market and $70 million Couva/Preysal Interchange—is footing some of the TOP's bills for its electioneering process.

Asked yesterday if the SIS was financing the TOP's election bid, Jack responded: "What does it matter?"

In turn, Jack asked: "It is always interesting that questions are raised about who's financing the TOP. But who is funding the PNM (People's National Movement)?"

SIS's construction firm, Casa Contractors Ltd, was responsible for extension works at the Phillipine residence of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar last March.

The firm also worked on Jack's home in Hillsborough, Mt St George, Tobago.

In a Sunday Express exclusive on December 23, Jack had denied the construction of his home was a "gift" from a local contractor, saying he was not "hand-to-mouth" and was solely responsible for building his family a "nice" home.

He claimed to have paid for his home by working four jobs, including from funds accrued from the sale of cucumbers and pumpkins from his garden and was being paid a $35,000-a-month salary as project manager with a firm in Trinidad.

The TOP leader, who last week said he turned down a Cabinet position in the hope of being Tobago's next Chief Secretary, told the Sunday Express yesterday the TOP has been raising funds for years in the hope of wresting power away from the PNM.

Jack said the TOP has hosted many fund-raising dinners.

Asked again about SIS and financing, Jack answered: "I have already answered. What more do you want me to say?"

SIS owner Krishna Lalla did not respond to calls to his cellphone yesterday.

A number of attempts to reach company officials for comment last week also went unanswered.

Meantime, the TOP has steered away from the People's Partnership's go-to advertising executive for its election and party media blitz, Ernie Ross.

Asked why he was not working with Ross in this instance, given the Partnership was keen on a THA victory, Jack told the Sunday Express that while he has respect for Ross' work, the TOP chose who it wanted to work with this time around.

"This is the TOP. We run our campaign," he said.

But he didn't offer any details on how the TOP was handling its campaigning.

"I do not want to talk about that," was all he would say.

The Sunday Express confirmed from Dennis Ramdeen, founder of Pepper Advertising, that his company was only handling the placement of advertisements.

The Sunday Express learned the TOP's spending on newspaper advertisements has been small compared to the PNM's spending, pegging it at close to $1 million to date.

The TOP, the Sunday Express was told, has been focused on spending money on its ground campaign.

On the other hand, the PNM has spent millions on radio and print advertisements in the country's daily newspapers.

Jack told the Sunday Express he'll be campaigning every night for the next two weeks.

Asked about arriving at a political meeting last Thursday in a National Security helicopter, Jack said he was simply accepting a "lift".

He told the Sunday Express he was in Trinidad for a meeting with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and National Security Minister Jack Warner.

He explained that Warner, chairman of the United National Congress (UNC), was going to Tobago to appear on a TOP platform in Roxborough and offered him a lift back, which he accepted.

He dismissed any suggestion there was an abuse of State resources for election campaigning.

In a bid to fulfil a campaign promise, the Government will debate a bill to repeal and replace the Tobago House of Assembly act in the coming weeks to grant Tobago greater autonomy.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SIS ... 66381.html

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2013, 9:23 am

Just wondering, who financing pnm freal?

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 9:24 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Just wondering, who financing pnm freal?

Dem syrians ah hear

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 6th, 2013, 9:56 am

rfari wrote:

Dem syrians ah hear

Syrians.... From what I realise they support PIP... Party in Power...

I believe the PEE N M.. Get alot of funding from outside....

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2013, 10:18 am

kaylex wrote:
rfari wrote:

Dem syrians ah hear

How come that asha gyal from express didn't state who funding the rowley&friends show? Ill never understand these one sided reports yuhno.

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 10:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
kaylex wrote:
rfari wrote:

Dem syrians ah hear

How come that asha gyal from express didn't state who funding the rowley&friends show? Ill never understand these one sided reports yuhno.

Because who funds pp is a hotter topic and pp party officials dont waste time in adding fuel to the speculations by the way they duck and weave whenever certain questions are asked. Situations like this are simple, once ur party funding is above board

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 6th, 2013, 10:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
kaylex wrote:
rfari wrote:

Dem syrians ah hear

You could never write wha you cyah prove.. you and I know that>>>

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2013, 10:29 am

I'm just pointing this out eh but look at the depth they dug to write that story concerning the TOP funding, acquiring numerous personal phone numbers, finding "several sources", etc etc to print an unconfirmed report that SIS spending $$ (which is basically printing what they COULDN'T prove) but throw in a line or two about the other party. Why so one sided?

I just email her so I hope she responds and addresses my questions.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 6th, 2013, 10:32 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:I'm just pointing this out eh but look at the depth they dug to write that story concerning the TOP funding, acquiring numerous personal phone numbers, finding "several sources", etc etc to print an unconfirmed report that SIS spending $$ (which is basically printing what they COULDN'T prove) but throw in a line or two about the other party. Why so one sided?

Lol.. you really have time to email them people??.. KURPS... u a cool one buh like you full of it... ... when Johnson, Saacha and them others was pelting ninjastars at the former gov... you question why the attack was on one side... U ent realise the game yet or wha..

everybody have they bastions in the media...

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2013, 10:37 am

kaylex wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:I'm just pointing this out eh but look at the depth they dug to write that story concerning the TOP funding, acquiring numerous personal phone numbers, finding "several sources", etc etc to print an unconfirmed report that SIS spending $$ (which is basically printing what they COULDN'T prove) but throw in a line or two about the other party. Why so one sided?

Lol.. you really have time to email them people??.. KURPS... u a cool one buh like you full of it... ... when Johnson, Saacha and them others was pelting ninjastars at the former gov... you question why the attack was on one side... U ent realise the game yet or wha..

I was younger and care free in those days :lol:

I not looking at it as an attack, I'm just saying why publish an unconfirmed report but mumble the other guys business. That is BS reporting by this asha, I read that story and felt like I was in a rum shop. :|

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 10:51 am

Cyar geh emo over dem ting kurps. What is the purpose to throw stone at mango tree that eh bearing fruit?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2013, 11:16 am

rfari wrote:Cyar geh emo over dem ting kurps. What is the purpose to throw stone at mango tree that eh bearing fruit?

Yea but that quality of reporting should be recycled and used to wipe my sheit with.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 6th, 2013, 11:19 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
kaylex wrote:

I was younger and care free in those days :lol:

I not looking at it as an attack, I'm just saying why publish an unconfirmed report but mumble the other guys business. That is BS reporting by this asha, I read that story and felt like I was in a rum shop. :|

kurs yuh too damn liard,,, you vote last elections......you know exactly wha you was doing back den

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 11:43 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
rfari wrote:Cyar geh emo over dem ting kurps. What is the purpose to throw stone at mango tree that eh bearing fruit?

Yea but that quality of reporting should be recycled and used to wipe my sheit with.

no need for us to get upset kurps. Side note. What u think about camini maharaj and her stories?

Postby UML » January 6th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Councillor prevented from entering complex
TOP flags on vehicle...
By Elizabeth Williams Tobago Bureau

Story Created: Jan 5, 2013 at 9:55 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 6, 2013 at 12:47 PM ECT

A vehicle driven by Councillor Yvette Parks-Caruth was prevented from entering the Victor E Bruce Financial Complex in Scarborough, Tobago, last Friday, because a number of Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) flags were on her vehicle.

Parks-Caruth told the Sunday Express she was in the process of driving into the yard to deliver an application form on behalf of her 94-year-old uncle who is visually impaired, but was stopped at the gate of the complex by security officials.

She said she was told she could not enter, since her vehicle was adorned with political flags.

"The security said even if I let you in with that you have to take off the flags. I say 'what is wrong with the flags, you cannot enter with these flags'? This is a democratic place," Parks-Caruth said.

She said there was no law governing the use of political paraphernalia in the country, only on election day.

She is calling the incident an infringement of her constitutional rights.

"Is this what we have become, Is this Germany under Adolf Hitler? Is this where we are heading that they will tell you don't come in with that, and tomorrow don't wear that," Parks-Caruth said.

Kamaria London, an employee at the Division of Finance, said she was also not permitted to enter the compound if PNM flags are on her vehicle.

"When I come here with my vehicle and I have PNM flags I cannot enter the compound, although I am working here. I either have to take them off or park elsewhere," London said.

London said the matter had nothing to do with political victimisation.

"So it's not like we don't want TOP people coming into the building. No, it's not like that, it's the policy," London said.

Elections and Boundaries Commission officials said last week that not allowing vehicles with political flags entry into the compound was not an enshrined policy.

Finance Secretary Dr Anslem London said this was a policy of the division, and he would not tolerate any political displays on the compound of the complex.

THA Chief Secretary Orville London said last Friday it was a policy across the board.

But the Sunday Express has learned that this is not the same at other divisions.

At the Education Division, PNM supporters have been displaying their party handbands on the compound of the division.

TOP Leader Ashworth Jack said it was nothing short of political madness and an infringement of TOP supporters' constitutional rights.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cou ... 66261.html

of course a PNM member would say they are subject to the same situation for it to appear across the board.....fisherman doh say dey fish rotten :roll:

Postby Habit7 » January 6th, 2013, 7:19 pm

I have agree with UWL... whoa got light-headed there, that is a stupid rule whether or not it is applied across the board.

But Tobagoians are much more overboard with political paraphernalia on their cars than Trinidadians. I have seen some cars deck out with flags, wing mirror covers, stickers, etc I am sure all that reduces the fuel efficiency tremedously.

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 7:26 pm

Dais ur big issue? UDFR pal.

Postby UML » January 6th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:I have agree with UWL... whoa got light-headed there, that is a stupid rule whether or not it is applied across the board.

But Tobagoians are much more overboard with political paraphernalia on their cars than Trinidadians. I have seen some cars deck out with flags, wing mirror covers, stickers, etc I am sure all that reduces the fuel efficiency tremedously.

whose vehicle is it? who bought it? how does that affect you? how does that affect the price of bodi? what business is it of you? are you the jamaican observer? mine yuh damn business....das why tobagonians dont like trinis!!!

Postby brams112 » January 6th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Tobagonians hate trinis because when they visit bago most of them feel they bigger than them.A certain fellah real posting in here boi.

Postby Habit7 » January 6th, 2013, 7:44 pm

UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I have agree with UWL... whoa got light-headed there, that is a stupid rule whether or not it is applied across the board.

whose vehicle is it? who bought it? how does that affect you? how does that affect the price of bodi? what business is it of you? are you the jamaican observer? mine yuh damn business....das why tobagonians dont like trinis!!!

Last time I will publicly agree with you.

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 7:46 pm

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 6th, 2013, 8:05 pm

Weeeeeey man agree wit UML and get pwnt by him yes *tears*

Postby rfari » January 6th, 2013, 11:25 pm

On a srs note, TOP hadda sweep dis elections else tnt would become less governable than it is now.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 7th, 2013, 12:04 am

If there is truth to this then these ppl are utterly disgusting

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___ ... 21931.html
...TOP accuses opponents of waging race war

Story Created: Jan 6, 2013 at 9:56 PM ECT (Story Updated: Jan 6, 2013 at 9:57 PM ECT )

THE Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) has accused the People's National Movement (PNM) of waging a "race war" under the guise of their In Defence of Tobago campaign slogan for the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election, set for January 21.

To substantiate its claim, TOP has produced an audio tape which it claims is a recording of Hilton Sandy, PNM representative for Roxborough/Delaford and Deputy Chief Secretary and Secretary of Infrastructure and Public Utilities, addressing constituents at a public meeting on Friday December 4 in which he suggested that if they (his constituents) did not vote for the PNM, East Indians will move to Tobago and take over.

In the audio tape, the voice, allegedly of Sandy, states:

"Be strong, do not let anyone distract you, you are focused, you are on a good ship, because as I told another crew down the road there is a ship at Calcutta waiting to sail to Tobago. That ship is waiting to sail to Tobago; they are waiting to get the results of this election, if you bring the wrong results, Calcutta ship is coming down for you! You must stop that ship! We must not allow that ship to sail and if you don't want the ship to sail what you have to do? Vote the candidate Hilton!"

TOP, in a release issued yesterday, said Sandy "proudly made these pronouncements in the presence of the PNM's Political Leader Dr Keith Rowley, Chief Secretary Orville London and other members of the rank and file of the party".

TOP added: "As Sandy concluded his statements Rowley and London cheered on and applauded in full agreement, welcoming him back to his seat with a standing ovation and warm embrace.

"Having no policy for the future of Tobago or record to run their campaign on after spending $22 billion in 12 years, the PNM has focused their campaign on maligning the name of Tobago Organisation of the People candidates and making injurious statements about the invasion of East Indians into Tobago," the release said.