lol @ robert riley.

trinidad jokey oui

Re: Wade Mark tipped to replace Max Richards as President

Postby teems1 » January 4th, 2013, 10:10 am

rfari wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Look at the amount of blunders Max has made as president, his track record speaks for itself under both administrations he oversaw. A President with a legal background would more than likely know his own roles and functions and should be better poised to understand legals issues and implications.

A President with a law degree will necessarily know those things? Really?

The President has legal advisors who are EXPERTS in their own fields of law. The President must be able to listen to advice OBJECTIVELY and make his/her decision based on the legal advice received. The President having a legal background MAY (note the use of the conditional tense) have a biased, and wrong, opinion on a matter because of his/her legal background and MAY not be OBJECTIVE when listening to the advice from the experts at his/her disposal.

And after all tht long talk, the president is still a ceremonial figurehead; do as the cabinet advises.

Someone who has the final signing off laws, or in cases of a general election tie has to choose a winning party is still a ceremonial figurehead?

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 4th, 2013, 10:16 am

Have a strange feeling D. Ghany go get the foward

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 4th, 2013, 10:18 am

rfari wrote:Jed. I like bas buh i wouldnt want him be president. That would be chaotic

Exactly why id want him, keep kpb and friends in check.

section34

Postby section34 » January 4th, 2013, 10:48 am

jus rem that the president basically selects the 'independent' senators...a pro govt president like mark would appoint independent senators aligned to the govt...thus in cases of a special majority needed in the upper house to pass a bill...well i eh need to read and spell the rest...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 4th, 2013, 11:10 am

i say put Dooks ...

Postby rfari » January 4th, 2013, 11:50 am

teems1 wrote:
rfari wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Look at the amount of blunders Max has made as president, his track record speaks for itself under both administrations he oversaw. A President with a legal background would more than likely know his own roles and functions and should be better poised to understand legals issues and implications.

A President with a law degree will necessarily know those things? Really?

The President has legal advisors who are EXPERTS in their own fields of law. The President must be able to listen to advice OBJECTIVELY and make his/her decision based on the legal advice received. The President having a legal background MAY (note the use of the conditional tense) have a biased, and wrong, opinion on a matter because of his/her legal background and MAY not be OBJECTIVE when listening to the advice from the experts at his/her disposal.

And after all tht long talk, the president is still a ceremonial figurehead; do as the cabinet advises.

Someone who has the final signing off laws, or in cases of a general election tie has to choose a winning party is still a ceremonial figurehead?

Final signoff is ceremonial.
General election tie occurred once and would never happen again with the current setup.
IMO, to become president of tnt is to cap off an illustrious career and service to the people. Time to rock back and breeze

Postby Chimera » January 4th, 2013, 12:09 pm

ian alleyne for president.

or rollingstock.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 4th, 2013, 12:11 pm

Team Loco wrote:Gillian Lucky. he is my choice

:D

Postby zoom rader » January 4th, 2013, 1:27 pm

section34 wrote:jus rem that the president basically selects the 'independent' senators...a pro govt president like mark would appoint independent senators aligned to the govt...thus in cases of a special majority needed in the upper house to pass a bill...well i eh need to read and spell the rest...

So where were you when PNM had selected pass presidents? Did you not see it fit to point this out at that time

Postby rfari » January 4th, 2013, 1:38 pm

Pnm=bad governance
Pp/unc=good governance

Thats why they were elected. Put it in practice

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 1:45 pm

I hear is Brigo

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 4th, 2013, 2:07 pm

Hamid Ghany seems like a great choice.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 4th, 2013, 2:08 pm

section34 wrote:jus rem that the president basically selects the 'independent' senators...a pro govt president like mark would appoint independent senators aligned to the govt...thus in cases of a special majority needed in the upper house to pass a bill...well i eh need to read and spell the rest...

So where were you when PNM had selected pass presidents? Did you not see it fit to point this out at that time

Well given his join date :|

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 4th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Former T&T Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, Therese Baptiste-Cornelis :D

Postby mero » January 4th, 2013, 6:23 pm

i hear is Rex West

section34

Postby section34 » January 5th, 2013, 12:44 am

my bad zoom gayder...i thought u wudda stop suckin the sac for the new year bro...i will be sure to point it out the next time the pnm selects a president ok...

Postby Hook » January 5th, 2013, 8:39 am

He only started posting his political opinions on here in March 2009 anyway.

Subject: VSEP for BIR/ Customs confirmed

zoom rader wrote:The PNM Plan to rid all UNC?indian people in Custom and Excise and Board of Inland Revenue .They master plan is to put PNM square pegs in round holes.

Prior to this post, everything else he posted on 2nr was related to fish, old TT currency and motorsport. It would seem something made the poor lad snap.
So don't get yourself worked up over it when he asks "where were you when...?", because he wasn't there either.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2013, 8:56 am

I heard PNM abroad said they rather dooks over mark, just saying.

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2013, 9:42 am

ZR selling out he family heirloom yes. Shame

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 5th, 2013, 10:18 am

fokhan_96 wrote:Former T&T Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, Therese Baptiste-Cornelis :D

My Personal friend and she wants NO part of this country.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2013, 10:18 am

Allyuh eh find in all honesty they should ah put Panday as President?

Considering he age and all what he has done etc.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2013, 10:20 am

snypaz wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Former T&T Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, Therese Baptiste-Cornelis :D

what were her exact words? she wants no part of this country, Trinidad & Atlantis?

Postby hydroep » January 5th, 2013, 10:21 am

Wade Mark?...:?...dem have to be crazy. He isn't polished enough to be President. It'd be like appointing Max for a third time...only worse.

Dooks...good from the UNC's perspective since they could make he dance like a puppet and dat go get them ballzless protesters in de COP to keep quiet. But with all the $#!^ they doing, they cyar afford a by-election right now because dey know they go lose Tunapuna, so fat-boy hadda chill.

Never hear 'bout this big wig from the oil company, so he better keep he arse where it is.

I wouldn't mind giving Hamid Ghanny a chance. He impresses me as an objective fella, and I'd like to see how his knowledge of the political landscape in this country help him navigate the Presidential role.

But I believe Timothy Hamil Smith is the best choice for the Government at this time. He's got the political experience and moreover "looks" the part. Not to mention, it'd be easy for the UNC to elevate another sycophant to the level of Senate President to ensure their power base is secure.

We go see.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2013, 10:30 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
snypaz wrote:

what were her exact words? she wants no part of this country, Trinidad & Atlantis?

:rofl: legit!

Postby r3iXmann » January 5th, 2013, 10:32 am

snypaz wrote:

The feeling is oh so mutual :|

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 5th, 2013, 10:32 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
snypaz wrote:

Figured something like that would've come up. But she is VERY intelligent. If you're basing your theory on her based on a lecture, Then go ahead. Were you ever appointed Minister of Health or Ambassador of anywhere except your house? No?

Postby Hook » January 5th, 2013, 10:35 am

Looks like snypaz was appointed Chief Defender in the Ministry of Tropical Bear Affairs.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2013, 10:39 am

snypaz wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
snypaz wrote:

Figured something like that would've come up. But she is VERY intelligent. If you're basing your theory on her based on a lecture, Then go ahead. Were you ever appointed Minister of Health or Ambassador of anywhere except your house? No?