School girl knock down by truck !

Re: School girl knock down by truck !

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2012, 12:24 am

one thing I learned and will never forget from primary school....

NEVER CROSS BEHIND A CAR......

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » November 30th, 2012, 1:09 am

I really don't think the earphones & "the style" caused this... She may just be a person who doesn't pay much attention to her surroundings. I think it would have happened even if she didn't have the headphones on simply because she wasn't paying attention.

I drive with one earbud in for when I get a phone call. Maybe that's what you all seeing & think the driver listening to music (apart from the beats headphone guy). I also tend to play music loud when driving & I'm still the first vehicle to pull aside for ambulance/police/fire vehicles when they passing.
That said, I'm not telling other people they should do like me because they may not pay as much attention to what's going on around them as I do.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2012, 1:10 am

gt cruzer.....when my music is on in the car and glass is up....I could hardly ever here a siren behind me...

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » November 30th, 2012, 1:22 am

I understand most people are like that & I'm not trying to encourage that. I'm just saying, making general statements like those may not necessarily be what happened.

I probably just pay closer attention than others. Maybe there's something you do while driving that I may not because I may feel it will distract me. Ex. I read in the idiot driver thread someone was talking bout digging for a mint. That's something I won't do because I know I may lose my concentration of the surroundings & it may be like that for most other drivers. But I have seen people digging for something & still know what's going on around them.

Idk I'd you get my point.

Postby sharkman121 » November 30th, 2012, 5:10 am

pioneer wrote:I feel sorry for the truck driver actually, hope he gets some counselling and can move on and continue to support his family.

^this!!!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 30th, 2012, 6:08 am

Her being in that situation is 99% her parent(s) fault 1% hers.By little girl I am assuming under the age of 10.Correct me if I am wrong about her age.

Firstly, your child going to/coming from school not the mall....why did you allow your child to go to school with headphones?
Conversely if your child was going to school with the headphones without your knowledge or consent...why? Obviously the parents weren't paying close enough attention to their child or instilling the right values.

Of course the truck driver also has a lot of blame too and he should be charged(if possible) for dangerous driving,negligence or manslaughter.
This BS of not being able to stop in time I am willing to bet with 99% certainty is because the truck driver was speeding.
Firstly if you driving along at a reasonable speed how can you not notice a maxi has stopped? Secondly if you did notice or in fact care/was sensible enough to notice that a maxi had stopped you should have started slowing down and become more vigilant and observant for exactly this type of situation.Even if she did dash out into the road unexpectedly this is the same situation like when you driving along and you see a ball bounce into the road....you can expect a child right behind that ball.If you see a maxi stop you can expect some stupid trini pedestrianism like what occurred here.When you start slowing once you driving slow enough to in fact observe the situation just in case something like this happens you give yourself the best possible chance of coming to an abrupt stop.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 30th, 2012, 6:14 am

Skanky wrote:Of course the truck driver also has a lot of blame too and he should be charged(if possible) for dangerous driving,negligence or manslaughter.
This BS of not being able to stop in time I am willing to bet with 99% certainty is because the truck driver was speeding.
Firstly if you driving along at a reasonable speed how can you not notice a maxi has stopped? Secondly if you did notice or in fact care/was sensible enough to notice that a maxi had stopped you should have started slowing down and become more vigilant and observant for exactly this type of situation.Even if she did dash out into the road unexpectedly this is the same situation like when you driving along and you see a ball bounce into the road....you can expect a child right behind that ball.If you see a maxi stop you can expect some stupid trini pedestrianism like what occurred here.When you start slowing once you driving slow enough to in fact observe the situation just in case something like this happens you give yourself the best possible chance of coming to an abrupt stop.

Without knowing all the details, you have made a lot of ignorant statements in your post. 2NR CSI at its finest.

Postby pioneer » November 30th, 2012, 6:14 am

Well if parents dunno de right ting how chiren go learn?

Parents religiously drive like idiots on the roads, drive on the shoulder, break lights, cut in lanes, bumper people, argue with police etc etc etc all with their chiren in the backseat...who happen to have on a pair of headphones on the way to school...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 30th, 2012, 6:19 am

Skanky wrote:Her being in that situation is 99% her parent(s) fault 1% hers.By little girl I am assuming under the age of 10.Correct me if I am wrong about her age.

Firstly, your child going to/coming from school not the mall....why did you allow your child to go to school with headphones?
Conversely if your child was going to school with the headphones without your knowledge or consent...why? Obviously the parents weren't paying close enough attention to their child or instilling the right values.

Of course the truck driver also has a lot of blame too and he should be charged(if possible) for dangerous driving,negligence or manslaughter.

tuner need an emoticon of a jackarse braying.

Common sense dictates you don't just stroll out behind a maxi, worse yet when you wearing headphones. These school children cross with a "bounce meh nah" attitude and when you blow your horn at them they quick to curse you or walk slower. I walk around with my headphones on but anytime I crossing I pause music and pull them out, heck I don't even turn em back on until I reach where I'm going most of the times.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 30th, 2012, 6:49 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Skanky wrote:Of course the truck driver also has a lot of blame too and he should be charged(if possible) for dangerous driving,negligence or manslaughter.

Without knowing all the details, you have made a lot of ignorant statements in your post. 2NR CSI at its finest.

You don't need all of the details, to practice common sense.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 30th, 2012, 7:01 am

one stupid mistake and she lost her life. RIP

sadly people still have the 'bounce meh nah' mentality when crossing the road.

Centric

Postby Centric » November 30th, 2012, 7:19 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:one thing I learned and will never forget from primary school....

NEVER CROSS BEHIND A CAR......

This.

RIP :(

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » November 30th, 2012, 7:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:Vashti parvati bahadur, stupid way to go but r.i.p. to her still.

the taxi man said it was a horrifying sight, the truck lifted up in d air when it drove over her and everybody stopped their vehicle to see what they can do, some women were screaming an as they got closer she looked like she was sound asleep peacefully but then that was quickly interruppted by blood gushing from her mouth and nose, sad way to go and this would really make any parents lose it......... RIP Vashti parvati bahadur, my prayers are with yur parents.......

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 30th, 2012, 7:34 am

Skanky wrote:Her being in that situation is 99% her parent(s) fault 1% hers.By little girl I am assuming under the age of 10.Correct me if I am wrong about her age.

One question, how would the truck driver know the girl is behind the maxi crossing?

Postby RBphoto » November 30th, 2012, 8:04 am

If the truck screeched to a stop a few inches before her....I wonder if she would have learnt a lesson or flip the driver the bird? I wil never know...so gonna take the high road on this one... so just RIP lil girl... gone too soon.

WetR

Postby WetR » November 30th, 2012, 8:09 am

people always cross behind vehicles. in fact once i driving past parked vehicles i have the sense to slow the #$$# down. there is nothing like alerting pedestrian by using the vehicle horn. save that for alerting other drivers/vehicles. in fact the horn may cause a pedestrian to panic/slip/fall/trip/deer in headlight scenario etc.

there is no way for the driver to move on from this. can only repent by driving with requisite caution from now on.

RIP

Postby nemisis » November 30th, 2012, 8:25 am

Won't be surprised if someone calls for justice...

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 30th, 2012, 8:29 am

src1983 wrote:One question, how would the truck driver know the girl is behind the maxi crossing?

You don't know.You never know.You have to use your prior knowledge and experience to think and anticipate.
That's where driving defensively comes into play.Driving is about gathering data about your surroundings and acting accordingly.The slower you drive the more data you can assimilate,the faster you can spot a danger situation,more time to make a sensible decision etc. Obviously the faster you drive the opposite is true.

When driving if you're going a reasonable speed you would notice a maxi stopped or stopping.Maxis stop to drop off and take up people...truck driver would know this unless he's a foreigner.Once you notice the maxi you immediately slow down to such a speed that if somebody darts out from around the maxi you would be travelling at such a speed that should allow you to come to a stop safely.

Same goes for when you see animals and children on the roadside.Slow down, think and anticipate as best you can cause one day or another one will run into the path of your vehicle.

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 30th, 2012, 8:45 am

Skanky wrote:
src1983 wrote:One question, how would the truck driver know the girl is behind the maxi crossing?

You don't know.You never know.You have to use your prior knowledge and experience to think and anticipate.
That's where driving defensively comes into play.Driving is about gathering data about your surroundings and acting accordingly.The slower you drive the more data you can assimilate,the faster you can spot a danger situation,more time to make a sensible decision etc. Obviously the faster you drive the opposite is true.

When driving if you're going a reasonable speed you would notice a maxi stopped or stopping.Maxis stop to drop off and take up people...truck driver would know this unless he's a foreigner.Once you notice the maxi you immediately slow down to such a speed that if somebody darts out from around the maxi you would be travelling at such a speed that should allow you to come to a stop safely.

Same goes for when you see animals and children on the roadside.Slow down, think and anticipate as best you can cause one day or another one will run into the path of your vehicle.

In this instance the pedestrian would be wrong. The pedestrian just like a car at an intersection must ensure that the way is clear then cross. Primary school teaches. Look right, left right then cross

The reason I bring this up, is that years ago this happened a school maxi stopped and kids came out an darted across the road a kiss truck already on the side of the maxi hit one of the girls. Luckily she didn't die. But how could the truck be wrong, he was driving with due care and attention

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 30th, 2012, 9:10 am

src1983 wrote:In this instance the pedestrian would be wrong. The pedestrian just like a car at an intersection must ensure that the way is clear then cross. Primary school teaches. Look right, left right then cross

The reason I bring this up, is that years ago this happened a school maxi stopped and kids came out an darted across the road a kiss truck already on the side of the maxi hit one of the girls. Luckily she didn't die. But how could the truck be wrong, he was driving with due care and attention

In Trinidad 99% of what qualifies as accidents are not accidents but plain ole jackarse driving,most famous of which is the 'I lost control of the vehicle' story.That being said, accidents do happen but for the most part are avoidable.

People in Trinidad get an A+ when it comes to trying.They try their utmost to have collisions or cause death or injury but somehow or the other always seem surprised when it does indeed happen to them.Go figure.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 9:21 am

RIP little girl. Lesson for all

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 30th, 2012, 9:23 am

Roads to congested to speed now....

So I sit back put on some Eagles and cruise....

RIP little one....

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 30th, 2012, 9:42 am

By Susan Mohammed susan.mohammed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Nov 30, 2012 at 1:09 AM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 30, 2012 at 6:18 AM ECT

A 13-year-old girl on her way home from school, was struck and killed by a truck in Balmain, Couva yesterday.
Vasutee Bahadur, a pupil of the ASJA Girls College, Charlieville, was killed four years after her brother, Adesh Bahadur, died in a car crash.
Police were told that at around 2.30 p.m Bahadur, a third form pupil, stepped out of a maxi-taxi along Main Road, Balmain, a village near the Couva Interchange.
She was attempting to cross the road, near her home at Otis Lane, Balmain, when she was hit by the truck.
The teenager died at the scene.
Police said the girl was wearing headphones but it is uncertain whether it was a factor in how the incident happened.
At the family's home, Bahadur's mother Ameeran Mohammed told the Express: "I am just living my son's accident all over again."
Mohammed said she was at the Couva Health Centre when she received a phone call with the news.
"I just started to bawl when I heard my child died on the road," she said.
Member of Parliament for Couva North Rudranath Indarsingh visited the family yesterday afternoon and said social workers would provide counselling and other services to the family.
Relatives said the girl's brother, Adesh Bahadur, was killed instantly in a car crash four years ago along the Solomon Hochoy Highway.
Bahadur was headed north along the highway when his vehicle crashed into a culvert. Couva police

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sch ... 84291.html

how could it not be?

Postby Bizzare » November 30th, 2012, 9:56 am

Does it really matter whether she crossed in front of or behind the maxi?

Either way she would have had to ensure that it was safe to cross before attempting to do so. Know how many times I see people almost get knocked down while crossing in front of the maxi they came out from cuz they failed to look out for vehicles coming from behind the maxi. I see this often on the Bus Route. It's the same thing as crossing behind the vehicle and failing to look for oncoming vehicles heading in the opposite direction.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » November 30th, 2012, 9:56 am

Skanky, are you trying to point blame on the driver alone?
The girl had no right to be crossing the way she did & the only time a driver is supposed to (by law) allow a person to cross a roadway, is on a zebra crossing. However, there are clearly not nearly enough of those in Trinidad (but that issue is probably for a separate thread).

If you want to play CSI & point fingers at the driver, first determine what point on the truck initially hit the girl: right-side, she literally stepped in front his path OR left-side, he may have had time to slow down.

Postby Bizzare » November 30th, 2012, 9:58 am

Also, whether she was wearing headphones or not, the main reason for this accident is the fact that she failed to look both ways before crossing.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 30th, 2012, 10:02 am

Bounce meh nah mentality !

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2012, 10:07 am

nemisis wrote:Won't be surprised if someone calls for justice...

They gonna sue apple.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 30th, 2012, 10:13 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Bounce meh nah mentality !

exactly, nowadays they see you coming and screw up their face and walk faster ensuring that u have to stop.

Postby Bizzare » November 30th, 2012, 10:19 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Bounce meh nah mentality !

I wasn't there but i'm sure this wasn't the issue. Its a 13 year old who made a stupid mistake that cost her her life.