Re: Republic Online

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2012, 12:02 am

ok just got on with FF :)

Goolie

Postby Goolie » January 23rd, 2013, 7:27 pm

anyone still having problems with this? i tried chrome, downloaded the new firefox, IE 9, installed all the latest plug-ins.. nothing is working.. i dunno what the heck republic bank did! smfh

used to get thru in the blink of an eye before...

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 24th, 2013, 8:51 am

chippy

Postby chippy » January 24th, 2013, 9:33 am

I always used firefox...no problems.
However with the newest version of Firefox...you need to manually activate the Java plugin for the browser...
Just click on the little red lego looking thing, Activate (wait a couple second till the hour glass goes) and then try to login...
For nothing I getting true in work (UWI) anymore though....only home... :?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 24th, 2013, 5:24 pm

And that's becoming annoying.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 24th, 2013, 6:15 pm

Chrome never works.

Firefox USED to work fine - no more.

So IE, yes, IE has a use once again. Moves through the site fast and completes transfers.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 24th, 2013, 6:24 pm

There's a reason why Firefox does that -

http://www.informationweek.com/security ... /240146717

Be careful when a site uses Java for such private information.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 25th, 2013, 6:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:working fine for me.
Ensure that your java version is up to date.
Try using a different browser - Chrome and FireFox working good for me.

can u do transactions over chrome? i cant :(

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » January 25th, 2013, 8:40 am

strangely enough it only works in IE for me... firefox just does not work, Chrome allows me to logon but not do transactions.... Republic should really move away from java...

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 25th, 2013, 9:35 am

has to be the dumbest website design ever... and no complaints are made to RBL abt this recurring issue. i am having the same fricken problem, now i hadda go in the bank n WAITTTTTT IN LONGGGG LINEEEE>......

wacko469

Postby wacko469 » January 25th, 2013, 1:07 pm

after trying all morning finally got through...
had to uninstall java old version that was still in the system
http://www.java.com/en/download/uninstall.jsp
and well remember to click activate as shown by chippy

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 25th, 2013, 2:58 pm

anybody got the banking to work on windows 8? i installed java on ie and it just brings me to the signon page and the login button isnt registering my click. have to jump on my lappy to do transactions :(

Goolie

Postby Goolie » January 25th, 2013, 9:16 pm

chippy wrote:Image

I always used firefox...no problems.
However with the newest version of Firefox...you need to manually activate the Java plugin for the browser...
Just click on the little red lego looking thing, Activate (wait a couple second till the hour glass goes) and then try to login...
For nothing I getting true in work (UWI) anymore though....only home... :?

if only this had worked

NOTHING seems to work. RBL, whatever system they put in place = FAIL :evil:

I have java 7 update 11. thats the only one i have plus i think its the latest out :S

Postby redmanjp » January 31st, 2013, 9:53 pm

got this email from them- they actually recommend Java 6 or lower :roll:

Dear valued RepublicOnline customer,

VULNERABILITY IN JAVA 7

Recently there have been reports of a security vulnerability in Java 7 that may allow for the installation of malicious software on systems with Java 7 installed. The vulnerability occurred as a consequence of a new functionality that was added in Java 7 and affects the Java plugin for the browser. If a user was to visit a malicious website, the malicious code can be transmitted to the user's system via the web browser without the user being made aware.

On January 13 2013, Oracle Corporation (software developers of the Java application) made available Java 7 Update 11 which when installed has an additional security feature asking for user's confirmation before allowing Java applets to be executed inside the web browser. The update is available at the following link and should be installed if you are using Java 7:

RepublicOnline requires Java Runtime Environment (minimum version 5) and recommends that Java version 6 or below be used to access Republic Online.

As an additional layer of protection, users are advised to ensure that the following standard security practices are adhered to:
1. Ensure your anti-virus software and its definition files are kept up to date.

2. Ensure "automatic updates" are enabled.

3. Ensure your firewall is turned on.

4. Do not open or click on links within unsolicited emails as this is a predominant tool used by fraudsters to deploy malware.
Should you have any questions or require further information, please feel free to contact our 24/7 Call Centre at 623-4RBL or email us at:

Yours Sincerely,
Marsha O'Neal
Marketing Manager Channel
Management
Group Marketing and Communications

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 31st, 2013, 10:10 pm

Still need to click the icon to activate it though :(

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 10:23 pm

not working at all with chrome...only IE

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » January 31st, 2013, 10:33 pm

...not even with Firefox for that matter

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 31st, 2013, 10:41 pm

saxman642 wrote:...not even with Firefox for that matter

Yeah i tried back fox today, phailure. IE for it yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 11:23 pm

got this email today:

31st January, 2013

Dear valued RepublicOnline customer,
VULNERABILITY IN JAVA 7

Recently there have been reports of a security vulnerability in Java 7 that may allow for the installation of malicious software on systems with Java 7 installed. The vulnerability occurred as a consequence of a new functionality that was added in Java 7 and affects the Java plugin for the browser. If a user was to visit a malicious website, the malicious code can be transmitted to the user's system via the web browser without the user being made aware.

On January 13 2013, Oracle Corporation (software developers of the Java application) made available Java 7 Update 11 which when installed has an additional security feature asking for user's confirmation before allowing Java applets to be executed inside the web browser. The update is available at the following link and should be installed if you are using Java 7:

RepublicOnline requires Java Runtime Environment (minimum version 5) and recommends that Java version 6 or below be used to access Republic Online.

As an additional layer of protection, users are advised to ensure that the following standard security practices are adhered to:
Ensure your anti-virus software and its definition files are kept up to date.

Ensure "automatic updates" are enabled.

Ensure your firewall is turned on.

Do not open or click on links within unsolicited emails as this is a predominant tool used by fraudsters to deploy malware.
Should you have any questions or require further information, please feel free to contact our 24/7 Call Centre at 623-4RBL or email us at:

Yours Sincerely,

Marsha O'Neal
Marketing Manager Channel
Management
Group Marketing and Communications

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » March 29th, 2013, 1:59 pm

cannot log into Republic bank online since last weekend, never was able to with firefox, only with explorer, now even explorer does not work, anyone found a workaround?, I see they recommend java 6.0 or lower, i uninstalled 7.0, reinstalled 6.0 but when i went back on to Republic bank online site , it did not recognise that i had java installed (yes it was enabled) and was prompting me to get 6.0, this is some serious inconvenience, sooo is it that we have to wait until the bugs in 7.0 are sorted out before republic will allow this version?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » March 29th, 2013, 7:12 pm

nuh wuk fuh me either...

Postby pioneer » March 29th, 2013, 7:16 pm

works fine here on IE

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » March 29th, 2013, 8:56 pm

pioneer wrote:works fine here on IE

what OS and Java pios?

Postby pioneer » March 29th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Windows 7 64bit

Java 1.6.0_27

according to java.com Version 6 Update 27

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 30th, 2013, 10:35 am

Latest versions of IE and Java work.
IE 64-bit users will need to disable "Enhanced Protection Mode" - this puts IE in 32-bit mode
NB: The message box is displayed for just a few seconds then it disappears, so be quick.
EPM.png
Enhanced Protection Mode

Java may also prompt a security warning when you start entering your login credentials
Click on Run, and complete the login.
NB: The Java message may come up again when putting through a transaction.
Java.png
Java security warning

Lastly running IE in compatibility mode should resolve any other issues.
(Screen shots from Win8 64-bit, IE 10, Java 7 Update 17)

Postby Bizzare » March 30th, 2013, 2:04 pm

There's a pop up box that asks "Do you want to run this application" as seen in 2WNBoost's post above. Sometimes this pop up window hides in the background behind all other open windows and it doesn't even appear in the taskbar so you have no idea it's there waiting for your input. The Java app doesn't respond until you click run. Minimize all the current windows you have open, and you'll see the popup box there waiting for you to click run.

2WNBoost wrote:IE 64-bit users will need to disable "Enhanced Protection Mode" - this puts IE in 32-bit mode
NB: The message box is displayed for just a few seconds then it disappears, so be quick.

The pop up box doesn't disappear really, it just goes into the background behind all other open windows so you have to minimize your browser etc. The reason why disabling "Enhanced Protection Mode" works is because that disables the popup box which is a security feature and the app runs without you having to click "run" to allow it.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 30th, 2013, 2:18 pm

works fine now on IE 8 and Opera...sometimish on chrome and firefox

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 29th, 2013, 6:57 pm

will have to launch a serious complaint,, I have tried everything I was told.. nothing.. just came off the phone with a representative but they still cant help.. Republic bank FAIL with this one big time...gonna look for an alternative bank that can actually work for me yes.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2013, 7:06 pm

I having real issues with republic on my home PC

wont work on chrome,explorer or firefox

in chrome and explorer, from the beginning it wont even go past login screen,
will say java disabled or not move after clicking

in firefox, it lets me log in, choose accounts, start a transaction but when i type in the transfer password and click ok, it will say "java disabled in browser"

i can only really use republic online from my office computers now

tried everything including uninstalling java completely and reinstalling.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 29th, 2013, 7:15 pm

This is total rubbish. For a financial indtitution such as RBL.. 1disappointed