wtk: tiling

Re: wtk: tiling

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2012, 10:23 am

pugboy wrote:they shouldn't mix too much thinset either, it sets fast so the common practice of adding water to the bucket to keep it smooth is wrong as it has already set with the concrete chemical reaction

Thank god I dont have to pay tile men yes, I get it done free. :oops:
What I see my uncle does is line up the pieces against the wall, mix a whole big bucket (or 2), spread it and lay multiple tiles.
Wrt the finishing pieces against the other edge of the wall, cut all prior to mixing the thinset. Spread thinset and lay one after the next.
I see they time it and have one or 2 men mixing thinset and cutting tiles. By the time the last few tiles being put down one man done start grouting and by the time tile done cut and being put down the next man starts grouting and clean up.
Brisk movements.

and yea, that tool is the shizznet. Some does use a big drill with a piece of metal weld up like them cake mixer thingy too.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 28th, 2012, 10:27 am

pugboy wrote:they shouldn't mix too much thinset either, it sets fast so the common practice of adding water to the bucket to keep it smooth is wrong as it has already set with the concrete chemical reaction

Thank god I dont have to pay tile men yes, I get it done free. :oops:
What I see my uncle does is line up the pieces against the wall, mix a whole big bucket (or 2), spread it and lay multiple tiles.
Wrt the finishing pieces against the other edge of the wall, cut all prior to mixing the thinset. Spread thinset and lay one after the next.
I see they time it and have one or 2 men mixing thinset and cutting tiles. By the time the last few tiles being put down one man done start grouting and by the time tile done cut and being put down the next man starts grouting and clean up.
Brisk movements.

and yea, that tool is the shizznet. Some does use a big drill with a piece of metal weld up like them cake mixer thingy too.

I ent no tile man but if there is an entrance/doorway you suppose start from there and go outwards to the walls.

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2012, 10:36 am

They leave an un-tiled 'walkway' from the doorway inwards or along the last wall to the doorway that is tiled last. Grout out where set leaving the last row bordering the un-tiled areathat is left to set.
With the rest of the room grouted out its easy to lay the last row of tiles and grout as fast as you lay. The last row that was laid can be grouted when you doing this final row (if your hands long) or grouted from the other side that you can walk on (set already). When you done, you done.
If you tile in the doorway first and that door is the main / only entrance you have to wait till that set before you can walk on it to access the rest of the room. You waste time by waiting for that to set or risk breaking one that not cured properly when walking on it.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 28th, 2012, 10:36 am

some of these "tile-men" are not strictly masons or tilemen but men who doing tilework as a sideline to supplement their income when their normal trade is slow , so some of them are general construction workers , carpenters , plumbers even welders etc ... doesnt necessarily mean they cant do a good tile work though - like said above go see some of their previous work & talk to d ppl who they worked for , dont just take ppl's word for it ...

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2012, 10:43 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:some of these "tile-men" are not strictly masons or tilemen but men who doing tilework as a sideline to supplement their income when their normal trade is slow , so some of them are general construction workers , carpenters , plumbers even welders etc ... doesnt necessarily mean they cant do a good tile work though - like said above go see some of their previous work & talk to d ppl who they worked for , dont just take ppl's word for it ...

My uncle son used to work with a contractor (dont want his son working for him to split the $$$) and they do work for digicel and quite a few wealthy people. Heard the contractors price real hot.
He working for a next dude now that recently did work for the PM, former PM and some other high profile people.

A lot of fly by night tile men pop up as its kinda diy but when time against you....lets put it this way:
even I can do tiling but the time I take to grout 1 & 1/2 tile on top a cupboard my cousin done the rest of the cupboard and provoking me.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 28th, 2012, 11:25 am

W2J wrote:
Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:
maj. tom wrote:6 to 7 dollars a square foot for labor alone. Thinset is about 48 dollars for a bag of 50 lbs. Big tiles take more thinset thickness and it depends on if the foundation is even.

$48 a bag of thinset??

thats robbery...most places are $39-$40 VI

where all of you coming up with those prices? Micro Milling white porcelain thin set is around $95.00 a bag. Labour price per sq ft is also off i.e if you want somebody good and your line straight.

Premium thinset is much more expensive than regular thinset
Plus $95 is robbery too..premium at most should be $90/bag
and regular thinset at most is $40/bag..

labour price is on point...any good tile man will charge you about that..is only when u look for a so called "professional tile man" they will rob you blind.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 28th, 2012, 12:44 pm

W2J wrote:
maj. tom wrote:6 to 7 dollars a square foot for labor alone. Thinset is about 48 dollars for a bag of 50 lbs. Big tiles take more thinset thickness and it depends on if the foundation is even.

$48 a bag of thinset??

where all of you coming up with those prices? Micro Milling white porcelain thin set is around $95.00 a bag. Labour price per sq ft is also off i.e if you want somebody good and your line straight.

labour price is on point...any good tile man will charge you about that..is only when u look for a so called "professional tile man" they will rob you blind.

cheapest I got White Premium was $90 VI from Yee Kee Hardware but only made sense because I was buying (4) pallets and a whole lot of other material, the other (2) pallets I bought from Rafmon was $93.00 + vat each bag. Tiles I went with 18x18 were around $85.00each + vat x 900pcs.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 28th, 2012, 2:29 pm

W2J wrote:
W2J wrote:

$48 a bag of thinset??

cheapest I got White Premium was $90 VI from Yee Kee Hardware but only made sense because I was buying (4) pallets and a whole lot of other material, the other (2) pallets I bought from Rafmon was $93.00 + vat each bag. Tiles I went with 18x18 were around $85.00each + vat x 900pcs.

i think you should call the police...coz u just got ROBBED...
you paid $85+VAT for a 18x18?? madness...

W2J

Postby W2J » November 28th, 2012, 3:17 pm

Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:i think you should call the police...coz u just got ROBBED...

lol... WTF!! sorry I meant to say $35.00 it was a Indiana Porcelain Stone tile

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » November 28th, 2012, 6:14 pm

My experience with a few recommended tile guys is that bathrooms are done as a job work eg i had a bathroom area done 77" X 77" and 9 .5 feet high with a 28" doorway.

This was done for Labour TT$ 2500.00 and very nicely done no issue to date and work done over 1 year ago.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 28th, 2012, 8:49 pm

W2J wrote:
Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:i think you should call the police...coz u just got ROBBED...

lol... WTF!! sorry I meant to say $35.00 it was a Indiana Porcelain Stone tile

lol..cool...well den you came out good then...

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 28th, 2012, 8:52 pm

868newtrini wrote:My experience with a few recommended tile guys is that bathrooms are done as a job work eg i had a bathroom area done 77" X 77" and 9 .5 feet high with a 28" doorway.

This was done for Labour TT$ 2500.00 and very nicely done no issue to date and work done over 1 year ago.

correct..most tile men don't charge by the sq.ft for bathrooms..they charge by the job...

tiling a bathroom properly is alot harder than jus tiling a living room floor because sometimes of the amount of cutting, borders, walls etc.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 28th, 2012, 9:14 pm

tile expressions ... i have been looking for a tile bit to drill the tile for the side lock on my front doors. its the flush mount that goes into the door top and bottom . its about a 1 inch bit but the h/ware does not seem to have a tile bit that size and can a regular concrete bit work in this situation without damaging the tile?

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 28th, 2012, 9:32 pm

MonsterPower wrote:tile expressions ... i have been looking for a tile bit to drill the tile for the side lock on my front doors. its the flush mount that goes into the door top and bottom . its about a 1 inch bit but the h/ware does not seem to have a tile bit that size and can a regular concrete bit work in this situation without damaging the tile?

a regular concrete can be used but i wudn't advise because there is a great chance that you will either make a ugly hole or the tile will crack...

to drill a hole on the tile you need tungsten carbide or diamond tips on the bit...i think bhagwansingh's has them..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 9th, 2013, 6:39 pm

looking for someone to tile a driveway (located in central).

plz pm me names and contact numbers for anyone u may recommend.

thanks.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 9th, 2013, 7:16 pm

$48 a bag of thinset??

once the floor is level you will only need 10 bags of thinset & 2 bags of grout.
50lbs bag usually covers 40 sq.ft.
grout is 250 sq ft. for 25lbs bag..using an avg of 4mm spacing.

but correct on the price of the tileman..$5-$7 is the going price now..
anything less than $5..RUNNN! unless u know someone personally who can vouch for that tileman..jus stay far from anyone charging too cheap..

Bought My Tile Here... This Guy Knows What He Saying... My Tileman Charged Me $5 Per Sq Foot... He Said He Usually Charges $6 But We Had ALOT Of Tiling To Do....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 9th, 2013, 8:27 pm

-Roach- wrote:Bought My Tile Here... This Guy Knows What He Saying... My Tileman Charged Me $5 Per Sq Foot... He Said He Usually Charges $6 But We Had ALOT Of Tiling To Do....

contact for tile man?

Postby rspann » July 9th, 2013, 8:55 pm

I buy all my stuff from Tile Expressions,right now he better than Classic,Tile It, and all the rest.This week I need 5000 12x12,going to check them for a bess price.The best tileman is a guy called Gregory or his son Richard,real neat work,good prices.

Postby gt4tified » July 12th, 2013, 12:13 pm

W2J wrote:

$48 a bag of thinset??

Regular thinset (micro milling) is $40 a bag, Premium thinset of same brand (for porcelain tiles) is $90 a bag.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 12th, 2013, 12:33 pm

Swisha wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Bought My Tile Here... This Guy Knows What He Saying... My Tileman Charged Me $5 Per Sq Foot... He Said He Usually Charges $6 But We Had ALOT Of Tiling To Do....

contact for tile man?

Ditto

Postby teems1 » July 12th, 2013, 12:50 pm

W2J wrote:

$48 a bag of thinset??

ceramic thin set is cheaper than porcelain thin set.

Postby gt4tified » July 12th, 2013, 1:04 pm

I have a tile man, but I doh give out his number so nah! :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 12th, 2013, 3:14 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:
TRIINI ppl does bawl oh gad so much $ to DO ANYTHING but them good TRADESmen deserve their wages ...

leondlln1

Postby leondlln1 » July 14th, 2013, 10:08 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373853856.429788.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373853891.284683.jpg

I'm ah tile man and these are jus some of the jobs I have done people don't be fooled tile work is no easy work eh!
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373854046.516931.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373854103.283189.jpg

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » July 15th, 2013, 5:59 pm

gt4tified wrote:
W2J wrote:

$48 a bag of thinset??

Regular thinset (micro milling) is $40 a bag, Premium thinset of same brand (for porcelain tiles) is $90 a bag.

currently we are selling thinset for $37.95 for Micromilling brand.

we are looking right now at reducing our premium thinset from $90 to $85.

leondlln1

Re: RE: Re: wtk: tiling

Postby leondlln1 » January 23rd, 2017, 8:45 pm

leondlln1 wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373853856.429788.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373853891.284683.jpg

I'm ah tile man and these are jus some of the jobs I have done people don't be fooled tile work is no easy work eh!
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373854046.516931.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1373854103.283189.jpg

ImageImageImage

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 11th, 2017, 11:04 pm

Bumping this thread.

I am looking for someone to install around 400 exterior grade tiles 20"x20" in size. Any references with contact telephone numbers?

Thanks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 12th, 2017, 12:10 am

leondlln1 wrote:Image

This is a tile?

Postby De Dragon » March 12th, 2017, 8:25 am

leondlln1 wrote:Image

This is a tile?

Yes, bigger tile places have them in curved or rectangular sections

Average

Postby Average » March 12th, 2017, 8:30 am

skylinechild wrote:
ADONI wrote:depends if the tile has pattern as well

what??? first time i heard that there's an additional charge to lay down patterned tiles.
i know theres an additional charge if the tile has to be installed on the tip- like a diamond due to additional cutting etc etc but WRT to tile pattern.....next thing man might charge more to install blue tiles than red ones.... :lol:

LOL That man sounds like he would have said, "it hah patterns? Oh gosh boy dat go take more time to puh dong.....iih guh cost more doh, ah go link it nice fuh yuh".