Increasing router range

Re: Increasing router range

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 15th, 2012, 9:26 pm

i used an apple airport express to extend my range in a part of the house...had some issues with the cisco range extender...

http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 15th, 2012, 9:50 pm

TP link routers.... tork done..

Postby ismithx » November 15th, 2012, 10:19 pm

dd-wrt, adjust the output strength - best solution

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2013, 9:19 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i used an apple airport express to extend my range in a part of the house...had some issues with the cisco range extender...

http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/

how exactly you did that with an airport express?...which router u have?

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » January 3rd, 2013, 1:26 am

I can do with some advice on this topic.

I have a Belkin N300 purchased from pricesmart which apparently needs to be restarted every week in order to work properly , the range is OK for short range internal house use, but I need to upgrade in order to get good access outside the house and to have a more reliable service. I am looking at 100 to 150 feet range through 5 standard concrete walls between the point of setting up the router/computer and the outdoor point where strong reception is needed, what is the recommendation ?

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2013, 1:44 am

using this very happily.
http://www.ampedwireless.com/products/sr10000.html

don't have the problem of your number of concrete walls.
also helps if you have it in area where you can connect to a lan port, though to date i have had no need. (up 3months or so).

I use it to extend signal from a WRT54GS running tomato.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 3rd, 2013, 1:50 am

^ get a Linksys router

a good Linksys router will need setup only once, even if you lose power/electricity, will hardly ever need resetting and will give you that range.

plus you can run DD-WRT on it with ease

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » January 9th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Hance Rampersad wrote:I can do with some advice on this topic.

I have a Belkin N300 purchased from pricesmart which apparently needs to be restarted every week in order to work properly , the range is OK for short range internal house use, but I need to upgrade in order to get good access outside the house and to have a more reliable service. I am looking at 100 to 150 feet range through 5 standard concrete walls between the point of setting up the router/computer and the outdoor point where strong reception is needed, what is the recommendation ?

tp-link.. check wizz computers..

Postby wagonrunner » January 9th, 2013, 12:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ get a Linksys router

a good Linksys router will need setup only once, even if you lose power/electricity, will hardly ever need resetting and will give you that range.

plus you can run DD-WRT on it with ease

uh the WRT54G is a linksys router, that does the DCHP etc.
The SR1000 far exceeds the linksys range. And the resetting would be required only because of where it's located. With that type of weatherproofing (patented eh :lol: ) required, i consider it inevitable.

Postby pioneer » January 9th, 2013, 1:52 pm

wagonrunner is you who put up da shed on de highway be el socorro?

Postby wagonrunner » January 9th, 2013, 2:05 pm

pioneer wrote:wagonrunner is you who put up da shed on de highway be el socorro?

why you hadda loud up my HQ hoss?

boods1234

Postby boods1234 » January 9th, 2013, 3:42 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Securifi-Almond-W ... roduct_top

Thinking bout buying this for my home, Just really hope it does what it claims..

Anyone have experience with this product?