Star Wars: Episode VIII - Dec. 15th 2017

Re: Star Wars: Episode 7 (2015)

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2012, 10:44 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:think Pirates of the Caribbean....in space!

I might be alone on this, but i hated the P.O.T.C. franchise.

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Image

:?

I still hope they do a good job though.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » October 31st, 2012, 11:02 am

I think it would be like what did they with Marvel, buy the rights but still let marvel studios produce the movies, iron mon avengers etc. might be the same with lucas

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 31st, 2012, 11:02 am

I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened.

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2012, 11:13 am

^lol.

Dunno why, but same here. Just not seeing the fit between SW and the Disney brand.

I'm afraid the movies are going to completely lose any edge....just become more safe, gutless, Disney drivel.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2012, 11:24 am

One of my greatest joys in growing up was seeing Star Wars Episodes 4,5 and 6.
Don't think that can ever be replicated again. But for a new generation this might be a good move by Disney.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 31st, 2012, 11:52 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened.

hahahaha

Dizzy I believe you're right. This is unique to our generation I think , with all the remakes for people that weren't around for the originals. Hollywood is about the money and reject it all we want, it helps them make other stuff we like at the cost of bastardizing some great originals.
Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on October 31st, 2012, 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 31st, 2012, 11:58 am

really hope the 3 additional movies do not take the DISNEY "teeny" movie approach

Postby dougla_boy » October 31st, 2012, 12:08 pm

shogun wrote:

why hoss? just curious.......

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2012, 12:55 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
shogun wrote:

why hoss? just curious.......

The first was alright, i guess. The sequels were unnecessary and the plots were lacking, IMO.

But you can't blame the studio, for milking a profitable product.

Postby stev » October 31st, 2012, 1:45 pm

i actually looking forward to it....hope they dont mess up the story though.

Postby maj. tom » October 31st, 2012, 1:57 pm

Well it should be about Luke rebuilding the Jedi Order, Han and Leia having kids with midi-chlorians to control the Force, dismantling the Empire and somewhere there is going to be a Sith Lord popping up from somewhere now and again to mess up the scene. Maybe exploration into the origins of midi-chlorians.

If they really plan to release an episode every 2-3 years, I think it will focus a lot on the adventures of the kids with R2D2, but that seems more suitable for a Disney kids serial show. Lots of Star Wars novels out there to help with ideas.

Postby MG Man » October 31st, 2012, 2:13 pm

didn't lucas publish the stories for eps 7,8 and 9 many years ago?
Basically at the end, the story turned out to be about the adventures of the droids

Postby sMASH » October 31st, 2012, 6:40 pm

^^ that makes sense, because from epi 4 u see r2d2 and he is involved with the bacchanal. then when epi 1 comes out, u realize that he was in the middle of some big things.
is like star wars was ' there and back again, a droid's tale'.

but get this, i like the concept of star wars, but the only movie i could watch was new hope, i get tired during the others.

for some reason, i find the epi's 1, 2, and 3 did not sit too well as movies. it was like lmn movies, but for teenage geeks.

i think if disney makes it realistic like riddick and matrix, they could make the franchise solidify with new audience, like what nolan did to batman.

Postby maj. tom » October 31st, 2012, 6:48 pm

^ or they could set it 50 years in the future after Return of the Jedi, with totally new characters. Harrison Ford could make a nice cameo as an old Han Solo grandfather.

Postby sMASH » October 31st, 2012, 9:01 pm

^^ i was thinking about moving away from the original people and settings myself, to develop for the new crowd. but the fact that they calling it episodes, i think that they have it as the continuation of the long story.

btw, that solo grand pa idea really cool.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 2nd, 2012, 10:12 pm

Postby pete » November 2nd, 2012, 10:38 pm

Star tours had been an attraction at Disney for a long time..

JJ Abrams to direct Next Star Wars Movie.

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2013, 6:47 pm

Star Trek director JJ Abrams is to direct the next instalment of the sci-fi franchise, with Disney's Star Wars Episode VII set to launch in cinemas in 2015

Star Trek director JJ Abrams has been hired to direct the latest instalment of another space-opera franchise, Star Wars Episode VII, according to Deadline.com.

The Lost creator's appointment ends months of speculation about who would take the job after the sale of George Lucas's multi-billion sci-fi franchise to Disney in October last year. The list of directors previously linked to the project includes Matthew Vaughn (Kick Ass), Brad Bird (Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol), Guillermo del Toro and even Argo director Ben Affleck.

Abrams, a life-long fan of Star Wars, had originally suggested he was not up for the job, but never totally ruled himself out. "I am looking forward more than anyone to the next iterations of Star Wars, but I believe I will be going as a paying moviegoer!", he told the Hollywood Life website last year. His appointment will see the 46-year-old in the singular position of helming two of the biggest sci-fi series of all time. His take on Star Trek garnered critical and commercial success on its release in 2009. A sequel – Star Trek Into Darkness – will be released later this year.

Star Wars Episode VII is set to be in cinemas in 2015. Disney has said that it plans to release a new Star Wars film every two to three years after that. It has been suggested that the plot of the film, which could feature cameos from franchise stalwarts Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford, could centre on Luke Skywalker's attempts to found a Jedi academy on the planet Yavin 4. Episode VII is being scripted by Michael Arndt, the Oscar-winning writer of Little Miss Sunshine and Toy Story 3.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2013/jan ... -jj-abrams

Heard it's gonna pick up where Return Of The Jedi, left off. Lets hope with no Ewoks though. I found them fcuking annoying.
Last edited by shogun on January 25th, 2013, 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: JJ Abrams to direct Next Star Wars Movie.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 25th, 2013, 6:51 pm

shogun wrote:. . . .Lets hope with no Ewoks though. I found them annoying. lol.

:| Ewoks > The Force

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2013, 6:55 pm

Nah Rory. You hadda be joking?

All that cutesy stuff, just fcuks up the flow of the movie. Jar Jar, is another fine example. Even though that movie sucked anyways. Just made it unbearable.

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2013, 7:50 pm

This look cutesy to you?

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2013, 7:51 pm

Wonder how many nerds gonna kill themselves because the star treck director gonna direct star wars...

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2013, 8:06 pm

Weren't there books or comics detailing eps one thru nine, Nine finally revealing the story really was about the droids?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 25th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Seeing what he did for the dead in the water Star Trek franchise he's the best choice by far.

And given that there is going to be a Disney logo at the head, fans should be rejoicing that he's directing it. A darker, grittier Star Wars is exactly what's needed. Not a "Disney" Star Wars, with Jar Jar Binks and Wicket going in search of the golden light saber.

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2013, 9:03 pm

MG Man wrote:Weren't there books or comics detailing eps one thru nine, Nine finally revealing the story really was about the droids?

Yup. Read them online a couple years ago. 7-9 were stale, and I have a feeling that's why Lucas stop at 6. Hope they change it up for the movies.

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2013, 9:08 pm

Sky wrote:This look cutesy to you?

Anything could be made to look menacing with that caption. Observe...

:lol: See!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Great news!!!

MG Man wrote:Weren't there books or comics detailing eps one thru nine, Nine finally revealing the story really was about the droids?
well R2-D2 and C-3P0 are the only characters in Star Wars to be in every movie episode so far.

Postby MG Man » February 6th, 2013, 10:26 am

yup
everybody else dies...........

Postby crazybalhead » February 6th, 2013, 10:32 am

R2-D2 is de real worl boss.

Postby MG Man » February 6th, 2013, 10:38 am

yup
he could probably make an excellent droid jedi