Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 15th, 2012, 2:35 pm

went in to tears reading this .............. congrats to john and the team

Re: Powell will drive for Ford M-Sport at Rally Spain 20

Postby crazybalhead » October 15th, 2012, 2:49 pm

djaggs wrote:
rcadiz wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but isn't John Jamaican?

ahh the age old question. John is Jamaican born, but having lived the better part of the last 2 decades in Trinidad, he has chosen to call Trinidad home, and race under the Red, White and Black.

People have problem with where the man born?? Alyuh know Sparrow from Grenada ???

Aye, allyuh forget where my wife from orwhah???

:lol: :lol: :lol: :drinking:

Postby wagon r » October 15th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Congrats to the Boss himself.

...now....how to get to Spain...!!!!

Postby foss » October 15th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:went in to tears reading this .............. congrats to john and the team

my eyes fill up as well...pause raise and all reading this.

All the best to the team...

Postby crazybalhead » October 15th, 2012, 2:51 pm

Postby DVSTT » October 15th, 2012, 3:51 pm

John is an excellent driver! I'm sure he'll make us proud, show the world what the Caribbean has to offer. Maybe some more WRC cars would come for Rally Trinidad next year!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 15th, 2012, 4:39 pm

A once-in-a-lifetime opportunity... especially after reading this:
http://www.racer.com/ford-pulls-works-b ... le/263676/

Perhaps this will mean more drives will be available next year if John does well in this round...
Ahhhh... I'm happy to consider all the possibilities that can arise out of the fact that we will actually have a Caribbean racer competing in a WRC event!

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » October 15th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Congrats to my dear friend, on such an accomplishment, an opportunity like this is what we dream of, and it really could not have happen to anyone better. You've been a true sportsman from day one.
Hope you do well and, we will be there to lend support and to represent TnT and the Caribbean on a whole..

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 15th, 2012, 5:10 pm

F-ING EPIC!!!!!! PENTI GOING TO WAKE UP WRC!!!!

John Powell was interviewed about how he felt to be asked to drive a manufactured back WRC car, when asked by Malcolm Wilson, director of M-sport "john how do you fee?"

John's only reply was..................

Last edited by HondaHo de 1st on October 15th, 2012, 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » October 15th, 2012, 5:18 pm

WOW!!! I'm still shocked, this is really friggin amazing!!! Best of luck guys, you have already made us proud just to be chosen and I'm sure you will make the Caribbean very proud in Spain when you are behind the wheel.

So who wants to sponsor me to go wave the flag in Spain?

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2012, 5:28 pm

aye aye i done start the fund already.....

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 15th, 2012, 5:38 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:went in to tears reading this .............. congrats to john and the team

You weren't the only one....

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » October 15th, 2012, 6:32 pm

where in spain ppl!!!! i loking to book meh ticket

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » October 15th, 2012, 7:20 pm

hmm.. still in shock.. does this mean that rally trinidad guna be even better next year? .. i only hope so .. yuh never knw .. sum more international drivers would really make it even better than already great event it is ...sigh ah gettin goosebumps lemme shut up .

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 15th, 2012, 7:25 pm

geometron wrote:lol ikno that but he is jamaican inno :D ... trini gettin rep!

I dunno wat wrong wid allyuh nah.....Trinidad have de best Jamaican drivers in the Caribbean.

Postby sliderz1 » October 15th, 2012, 7:29 pm

brilliant

BRILLIANT

BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!111!1

allyuh know i inside already :!:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » October 15th, 2012, 7:43 pm

Well done Powell, it must be such an honour indeed

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » October 15th, 2012, 7:49 pm

Actually, Trevor "Micey" Manning was the first person from the English speaking Caribbean to be invited to represent a Brand at the WRC level. He was invited many years ago, but he declined due to personal commitments.

But still, Good job John!!

Kirk

pato

Postby pato » October 15th, 2012, 9:19 pm

djaggs wrote:I hope this achievement causes the govt to sit up and take note of motor sports now.
........Lets hope it does

Congrats John...make us proud

GSP

Postby GSP » October 15th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Great news for TnT & the Caribbean :lol:
This should be shown LIVE in Hasley Crawford 8-)
I would pay to be there :P

Well done John :D

sio

Postby sio » October 15th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Congrats John, Good luck guys.
Make us proud , The Caribbean has your back.

Postby gt4tified » October 16th, 2012, 12:36 am

Congratulations John and Mich on your ascension into the next level of Rally....we’re all extremely proud of you! Forward ever.....
Last edited by gt4tified on October 16th, 2012, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fq360

Postby fq360 » October 16th, 2012, 8:52 am

nothing short of superb...great news for the caribbean...well done john and michael...good luck :P

TREX

Postby TREX » October 16th, 2012, 9:06 am

Congrats John
Good Luck and God Speed

RDevil

Postby RDevil » October 16th, 2012, 10:10 am

Congrats to Powell!!!

Well deserved

ken mohammed

Postby ken mohammed » October 17th, 2012, 7:41 am

John holds a T&T Passport and is a citizen of Trinidad & Tobago.
he has been living in Trinidad since 1995.

all the best and good luck Mr. Powell i never doubted you from the firs day we meet

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » October 17th, 2012, 9:15 am

John Powell...im sure we be hearing allot more bout him in WRC in the future
well done man go strong!

Postby UML » October 18th, 2012, 7:39 pm

I swear I just saw John Powell watching TriniTuner on his pc when doing an interview with cnc3 sports :P

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » October 26th, 2012, 10:55 am

http://www.irallylive.com/ir_news.htm?00002271&11

Reigning Jamaica Rally Champion John Powell will compete for M-Sport at Rally Spain next month, co-driven in the Fiesta RS WRC by Michael Fennell.

M-Sport has issued this Q&A with the man from Trinidad and Tobago, who's currently in third place in the NACAM (North American, Central American and Mexican) Championship.

Q: What made you decide to tackle an event in the World Rally Championship?

A: “The World Rally Championship is undoubtedly the highest level of competition in rallying. It is every driver’s dream to compete in the WRC and against the world’s best. At the moment I am competing in the NACAM series as well as the Caribbean Championships, and have always had a keen interest in somehow finding a way to the WRC. When the opportunity arose for a seat with M-Sport at Rally de España, there was only one answer!”

Q: What made you chose M-Sport?

A: “M-Sport is one of the biggest names in the world when it comes to rallying and it is a real pleasure to be driving for them in Spain. They have an incredibly decorated history in the sport. It’s a fantastic team, and I am looking forward to an unforgettable experience on the event – and also the opportunity to race against the other M-Sport and Ford drivers.”

Q: What do you hope to learn from competing on the world stage?

A: “You learn something from every rally that you do, but I’m sure the experience at WRC level is going to be on a much larger scale. As I mentioned, this is the highest level of competition so if you are going to learn anything, this would be the place to do it!

“I think for the most part competing is going to show me first-hand what it takes to compete at the highest level. And then I’ll be able to apply what I have learnt when I get back to my Regional events in 2013 where I hope to be able to share this knowledge with my fellow local drivers.”

Q: What result will you be aiming for in Spain?

A: “Obviously our first aim is to go out there and finish strongly. We really want to be on the overall standings by the end of the event. I am anticipating a fast field though as there are a number of drivers who are still fighting for points and with this being the last event, they are going to be quick.

“The focus is a bit different for us as it’s our first time in the WRC, but we are eligible to score points for M-Sport so that is definitely a motivating factor to go as fast as we can.”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Powell's WRC participation featured in the Guardian CarTalk magazine

Click image to zoom