Is anyone here into film production?

Re: Is anyone here into film production?

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2012, 4:39 am

hey, i would not mind working off stage. but just like sinister, i would like to see the decision process for like, every thing. i am no photographer but even i recognize that there are fatal flaws in lighting and audio in small production movies, i just not sure what are the sources of the flaws and how to prevent and/or mitigate them. another thing i find disturbing in local films is the mixing of the audio, like the background music, they seem not suited to the scene, or too dramatic just all together too noticeable. in bigger productions, u don't notice the background music as it blends well with the timing, tone of the scene, volume or whatever. but locals the sound track sticks out like sore thumbs.

evening and weekends u have a gaffer/boom/grip/production assistant, once it not too far in the north regions,,, winter is coming and i cyar take on cold weather.

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » August 10th, 2012, 10:11 am

Good stuff Michael Knight...i've written a few short stories myself and it is a dream of mine to write, direct and produce a short film as well.

Keep us posted on your progress and best of luck to you bro.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » August 10th, 2012, 10:26 am

sMASH editing is always the key...whether video or audio...i got to say i read two of his stories so far the scripts are good...really good imo.. it has content that can grip someone in their seat..and it caters to both man and women.... but Micheal need support.....his works are a viable venture an i think i can be a great investment that can make it to the film festivals world over, but must have good actors and actresses who can pull it off and not have the cheezy type of overacting that we do down here....

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2012, 10:54 am

ifff!!!

two of the locals that i had liked were the pothound and this short about parenting with this clear skin woman as a single parent who was grounding her teenage son, and stuck to her guns even when he was threatening to go to his father. another in that series was with the grandmother who had a mentally challenged child and a postal worker was advising her to get professional help.

the shorts were good, but our way of speaking just doesn't lend itself well to serious talk and being understood by an international audience. is like, if they speaking clearly, they don't sound natural, and if they do sound natural, they don't speak clearly.
and my opinion is, that two of the best local orators who speak clearly, yet still sound trini are manning and panday. their lively rants could be studied on how to deliver a clear but natural trinbagonian

although i more interested in the technical aspects of production, the dialogue/delivery is not as smooth as could be.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 10th, 2012, 11:13 am

^^hey micheal i dont mind giving the script a read through also. I have family who is into video production, so i can also put you onto them if its anything. I'll pm you my email address.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 10th, 2012, 4:03 pm

Thanks for the support guys. I appreciate all the help I can get at this point. Really wanna make this happen. sMASH you brought up and interesting point there. What I've noticed is that some people think that if the film they're making is local, they have to implement only local musical instruments.

I remember watching a film with Errol Fabien as one of the stars and almost every scene had a steel pan playing in the background. No offence to our national instrument but I don't think it should be keyed into every local film scene.

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » August 10th, 2012, 6:46 pm

No but I am very interested in it. I vex now I didn't go and do A-Levels to try to get into UWI Film School. Didn't even know they had one.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 11th, 2012, 8:52 am

Okay, well so far I have gotten support from people that can provide cameras and other pieces of equipment which is awesome. Now all I have to do is smoothen out a few edges in the script with the assistance of those who have provided me with critiques.

Once that's done elements can come together to get this plane on the runaway and make it take off.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » August 11th, 2012, 11:32 am

I have a friend by the name of Sheldon Thomas who's into filmography. He directs and edits commercials among other things. He's not on tuner though. Check him on facebook for his advice.

Cobalt60

Postby Cobalt60 » August 11th, 2012, 12:46 pm

How long is your script? I could read it if it's short. I studied both film and literature at UWI. Also what you want is someone who has studied Film Studies (which I've done) and not necessarily film production.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 11th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Cobalt60 wrote:How long is your script? I could read it if it's short. I studied both film and literature at UWI. Also what you want is someone who has studied Film Studies (which I've done) and not necessarily film production.

Well it's about 113 pages.... :oops:

kevinknr wrote:I have a friend by the name of Sheldon Thomas who's into filmography. He directs and edits commercials among other things. He's not on tuner though. Check him on facebook for his advice.

I'll look him up. Thanks :)

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 15th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Ok, so I got some opinions well from very distinct professionals to which I thank you. Now what do I do to get things moving? I know the scenes, characters, and even have an idea as to the actors I want...what's next? Guidance is welcome here.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2012, 9:34 pm

story board. work out the scenes for props, timing, dialogue, sequence, angles, lighting...

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 15th, 2012, 10:55 pm

I.......I can't draw :(

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 16th, 2012, 2:18 am

With a script of 113 pages you'll need to write a screenplay.

Postby Les Bain » August 16th, 2012, 7:40 am

Michael Knight... wrote:I.......I can't draw :(

That's unnecessary. Don't let that hold you back.
1.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2012, 8:38 am

screen play and stick figure for time analysis and planning. u would know what equipment would need for what scenes, and if multiple scenes needed the same equipment, you shoot all those scenes back-to-back to and then ur done with that equipment.

after u get ur screen play, think about it as project management.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 16th, 2012, 9:04 am

So after that's done, who do I show it to?

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2012, 9:52 am

well, what i thinking:
-story
-screenplay
-storyboard(this involves planning for each scene for every thing that would be needed, from location to equipment, to people to timing
-actors
-equipment/operators
just talk to these people and get an idea of commitment for the future
-shooting plan. which scenes u gonna shoot and the necessary resources.from day one to post production completion.(microsoft project planner thingy might work out good to have every thing NOT totally in your head, but still available).
-when the schedule is down pat, get the people, equipment, tools, materials scheduled and confirmed as much as possible.

i suggest shooting a small scene with volunteers and not much equipment just to get a feel of how the work flow would be before u do any major thing. so if u know that it would take a day to get 20 mins of shooting done, with re-shoots and and different angles and what not. it might take some arranging the days before just to set up for that day.
with that experience, you would be able to work that into the schedule.

and one thing i know, is to allow extra time to sort out sumting not going according to the plan either unforeseen or delayed. like for instance, an actor needing to go to a doctor, or ur camera not able to come, or 5 assistants supposed to come, but only two reach, and they reach late.
-

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 18th, 2012, 11:13 am

Interesting. I'm actually in the process of working out those details. Got to get a camera for a sample shoot though.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 28th, 2012, 9:18 am

Ok I need help with drawing the slides. So far I've done fifteen pages but I need to move this along faster. Anyone interested in helping me with this?

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 29th, 2012, 8:42 am

Other than smash is there anyone else? I don't need detailed art work just stick figures to depict the scenes.....

Postby Les Bain » August 29th, 2012, 9:41 am

Would have loved to help you with the slides, but for the next 12 months my time tied up with studies. Maybe for your next project, maybe?

Press on; I hope your project is a success.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 30th, 2012, 4:30 pm

Thanks anyway, I'll just draw em out.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 31st, 2012, 4:25 pm

Well can anyone provide me with some sort of assistance with regards to actors? I'd like to profile some people in the meantime. Or is that moving too fast?

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 4th, 2012, 11:26 pm

Still drawing & gathering people.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 25th, 2012, 11:13 pm

Ok so I want to shoot a sample of one of the scenes and I need a female to play the role of one of the lead characters.

If you know anyone pm me and I'll fill you in on the details.

P.S There's no money involved so I'm asking for your support on this one.

Thanks people.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » December 12th, 2012, 7:35 pm

Well production has begun as of November gone. Here's some stills from what we've done so far.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 12th, 2012, 7:41 pm

Nice work so far man!

Very cool to see you stick by you work and witness it from the start to the end here on tuna

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » December 12th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Thanks, there's still a lot to be done though. :)