Employment for Returning Expats

Re: Employment for Returning Expats

Postby SR » July 9th, 2012, 3:11 pm

thought u despise everything about this country
i dont think you will be able to adjust to this society and will be better off where you are at present

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2012, 3:16 pm

SR wrote:thought u despise everything about this country
i dont think you will be able to adjust to this society and will be better off where you are at present

:shock: :shock:

:popcorn:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 3:21 pm

If I despised evereything about Trinidad I won't be wasting my time posting on 3NE2UNER.

Where do you get your idea from? You think the AP circa 2006/2007 is the same AP of today, huh? Well here is the new memo: I am not. I grew up and experienced life. I actually adjusted just fine the year I lived there and adjusted even better with my subsequent visits.

I think I met you ONCE and we conversed ONCE and from that ONE time you continue with the judgment?

It's been 5 years, Shazad. People and their viewpoints do change, mine included.

Thanks for responding!

Postby rfari » July 9th, 2012, 3:52 pm

OP, what are ur salary and benefits expectations? I'm curious

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 3:58 pm

rfari wrote:OP, what are ur salary and benefits expectations? I'm curious

That only concerns future employers. Unless you intend to be a future employer then it really isn't any of your business. :mrgreen:

Postby Sky » July 9th, 2012, 3:58 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

If I despised evereything about Trinidad I won't be wasting my time posting on 3NE2UNER.

Where do you get your idea from? You think the AP circa 2006/2007 is the same AP of today, huh? Well here is the new memo: I am not. I grew up and experienced life. I actually adjusted just fine the year I lived there and adjusted even better with my subsequent visits.

I think I met you ONCE and we conversed ONCE and from that ONE time you continue with the judgment?

It's been 5 years, Shazad. People and their viewpoints do change, mine included.

Thanks for responding!

You know sht got serious when someone's real name's called :lol:

Postby S_2NR » July 9th, 2012, 4:01 pm

invest in a bullet proof vest

Postby rfari » July 9th, 2012, 4:08 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
rfari wrote:OP, what are ur salary and benefits expectations? I'm curious

That only concerns future employers. Unless you intend to be a future employer then it really isn't any of your business. :mrgreen:

Okden....best wishes in ur future endeavours nevertheless

Postby janfar » July 9th, 2012, 4:13 pm

My advice would be to stay out, band yuh belly and make money while investing in whatever business you want to kick off. That or come and build yourself as a self employed person... which will take some sacrifice... coming back home to work would never be a walk in the park unless your godfather is a multimillionaire with strings of steel...

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 4:17 pm

janfar wrote:My advice would be to stay out, band yuh belly and make money while investing in whatever business you want to kick off. That or come and build yourself as a self employed person... which will take some sacrifice... coming back home to work would never be a walk in the park unless your godfather is a multimillionaire with strings of steel...

Thanks, janfar. :( :( :(

Honestly wasn't expecting it to be a walk in the park, though, but I get what you're saying.

Postby Sky » July 9th, 2012, 4:26 pm

Note: You need to be working at the same company for atleast 2 years before being considered for a big loan by most institutions. That means rent and Foreign used vehicle for a while when you get here, no matter the salary (unless your employer says otherwise)
You should start to get in touch with local companies from now, see how the market looks.

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 4:28 pm

Wait, you mean you didn't maintain a bank account down here while away?
I hear Neal and massy have sale bye!

Postby Ted_v2 » July 9th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Stephon. wrote:Wait, you mean you didn't maintain a bank account down here while away?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 4:34 pm

Sky wrote:Note: You need to be working at the same company for atleast 2 years before being considered for a big loan by most institutions. That means rent and Foreign used vehicle for a while when you get here, no matter the salary (unless your employer says otherwise)
You should start to get in touch with local companies from now, see how the market looks.

Sky, I've already circulated my resume and I'm currently working with local recruitment agencies directly. Though, this is all relatively early given my intended date of departure if all goes as planned.

I'm also looking at some openings at some offshore islands. They have been far more responsive than TT. Not many opps for those with investment finance/wealth management/bank finance experience. Though it pays better in offshore banking, TT is still home.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 9th, 2012, 4:38 pm

sounds like AP seeing hardship outside trini and wanna come back to paradise hahahah. ive lived abroad in many different places. trinidad isnt perfect but its easier to live. one day trinidad will return to its former glory in terms of crime. the rest of the world isnt perfect also, scared to go certain places outside. anyways. good luck with ur move, i see this happening with alot of peeps on the outside, it will be rough when u get back but things will look up soon.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Stephon. wrote:Wait, you mean you didn't maintain a bank account down here while away?

I have no intentions of buying a shiny brand new vehicle as an inexperienced driver on TT roads. Yes, I am suggesting that I probably will get into a car accident or someone may bounce or scrape my exterior. Not wasting my money. More importantly, I want something large enough to help mitigate chances of impact in the event of a bad accident.

I understand my chances of getting into a vehicular accident in TT quadruples when compared to my chances here.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Death-Row wrote:sounds like AP seeing hardship outside trini and wanna come back to paradise hahahah.

Hardship? No. Realizing that the USA is not all milk and honey? Yes.

Cost of living is increasing, quality of life is decreasing, citizens are becoming more sickly and drugged on pharmaceutical medications, US' debt is ballooning and someone is going to have to pay for it (my generation), and now they're telling us that retirement benefits may not even be around by the time I retire (despite paying into the system and having to be taxed the ridiclous amount of 40%+ of my gross income, more if you make above a certain income bracket).

Oh, and lest we forget the debt one needs to take out for higher education (equivalent to 1.2 million TT dollars) and no guarantee of a decent paying job (half of which goes to the IRS when and if you find one).

No Thanks!

Postby X2 » July 9th, 2012, 4:53 pm

We have brain drain issue for the last 2 decades... but my advice to you is to stay away... don't come back here nah... . The last thing Trinidad needs is more high and mighty snobs insulting our people.... with your attitude, you won't last long working anywhere in the caribbean anyways.

$0.02 is free

Ex-pat

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 4:56 pm

X2 wrote:We have brain drain issue for the last 2 decades... but my advice to you is to stay away... don't come back here nah... . The last thing Trinidad needs is more high and mighty snobs insulting our people.... with your attitude, you won't last long working anywhere in the caribbean anyways.

$0.02 is free

Ex-pat

Postby S_2NR » July 9th, 2012, 4:57 pm

X2 wrote:We have brain drain issue for the last 2 decades... but my advice to you is to stay away... don't come back here nah... . The last thing Trinidad needs is more high and mighty snobs insulting our people.... with your attitude, you won't last long working anywhere in the caribbean anyways.

$0.02 is free

Ex-pat

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2012, 5:32 pm

lefthand drive is no biggie
in jamaica half of all cars are lefthand
and the other half righthand

AbstractPoetic wrote:
pugboy wrote:It might be wiser costwise to bring back a car on the returning resident racket.....

Left-hand drive, though?

Do you know if one can get used Japanese vehicles shipped in from Asia?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » July 9th, 2012, 6:09 pm

$0.02 is free

Ex-pat

Didnt realise the connection of VTEC was so strong as to foster such similar thoughts in the Honda camp :mrgreen:

AP if you "adjusted just fine the year I lived there" then why the need for the questions? Surely someone of your intellectual stature couldve gleaned all these answers in that year no?

slightpepper

Postby slightpepper » July 9th, 2012, 6:12 pm

if you have citizenship in america or green card whatever and educated there, why you considering coming back to trini?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 9th, 2012, 6:19 pm

Dirty Face wrote:AP if you "adjusted just fine the year I lived there" then why the need for the questions? Surely someone of your intellectual stature couldve gleaned all these answers in that year no?

I returned as a student then. Was not seeking employment.

Postby SR » July 9th, 2012, 6:55 pm

whats the difference
its the still the same society you have to live with and every single post you have ever made on this website had a complaint about one thing or the other about trinidad and you chose to attempt to rub into peoples faces that the grass was greener on the other side

i make my statements based on actual experience with my own brother

coming back as a student and coming back to work is totally different
tried it for 5 years and could not adjust to trinidad work ethics or lifestyle
been back to the states for more than 15 years now yes its catch ass but he makes it work and managed to get married and raise his family with sacrifices

so please stop patronising us lowly people on trinituner

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » July 9th, 2012, 7:36 pm

I am presently employed by a US based company that has its call centre in Montego Bay Jamaica. I have been here for the past 4 years and I continue to look for ways to return home and if possible, have the same career advancement I do in this present company. I am a Creative Manager (Senior Art Director) with this company, and i have forward momentum career wise. I find it very difficult to get in at this level in advertising agencies at this level in Trinidad and my experience in this company has really opened my eyes professionally, I am no longer designing, but run a design team.

I do miss home alot, my family moved to Jamaica but they found it hard to adjust, so they moved back home, so that in itself makes it hard. I know that there is only so much of this I can take, and if i don't find the ideal job, I will have to bite the bullet and just return home.

The reason this US company is based in Jamaica is that Jamaica has Tax Free Zones to attract foreign companies to employ locals. They don't get tax on equipment shipped in, in return they must employ locals.

What is frustrating is although i am making this sacrifice, I am still struggling to buy a home back in Trinidad. Real estate is that crazy.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2012, 8:14 pm

the reality is you cannot compare life here with life there on any level
prices and salaries are different
working hours different
it is a tossup of what you can live with

one thing though is a smart educated hard working person can make it much further in north america than elsewhere

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 9th, 2012, 9:03 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Anyway, would love to hear more on how young professional expats such as myself navigated the tides of the local job market!

yuh realise than once you RETURN home you will no longer have the title or status as an EXPAT, you will be back to a LOCAL gyal.

good luck and enjoy the LOCAL attitudes, worse for you if you come back thinking that you can talk down to people.
You will quickly be reminded where your place is.

Postby Sky » July 9th, 2012, 9:10 pm

crazybalhead wrote:We have:

Plus 24deg C weather all year round.
Too many holidays to count.
Some of the best doctors in the world, very good medical and dental care, especially if you have good insurance and a decent job.
A thriving economy, don't let people fool you and say otherwise
Affordable food
An abundance of goods and fuel
A decent enough water supply
A very good electricity supply
Manageable traffic
Spectacular natural beauty. ( I almost stopped the car just to look last week as the sun rose over the northern range)
Technologically literate society
Great education system
English speaking society

That's from MY experience and off the top of my head.

Having worked with a bunch of ex pats, I realised how we live in a paradise.
Seeing what they treasure.
Sitting in the lawn in the blazing sun to each lunch and we're like wtf. Nope, they're from England. While we complain about the sun, they treasure it.
Coming here and eating ONLY local food.
When we get bad weather and can't get to work, they don't agree, because according to them, we have great weather.
None of them so far are concerned with our crime, it's "bad apples" to them and not a big issue. Because where they come from it's worse.
After some time, some realized that our pipe borne water can be swallowed.

They have two gripes. The general Trini one today one tomorrow work ethic, and potholes.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2012, 9:18 pm

lol@dirtyface and X2 posting,coming out the woodwork!