Lower requirements to be a police officer

Re: Lower requirements to be a police officer

Postby nemisis » July 8th, 2012, 9:33 am

the police service is already a dumping ground for the illiterate and under performers. This move would only increase the latter. Why should we settle for mediocrity in what supposed to be our protective services..........

RS what do police do with regards to known "blocs"??. it have one in my area police turning a blind eye too for over 15 years, if they saw gambling on the corner during one of their infrequent patrols they may scatter the players but for the drugs persons buy there i have seen nothing done.

Can i call when i see strange cars parked up there for popo to come and search them?, the majority of the times the cars belong to persons who have gone to acquire their stimulants...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2012, 9:47 am

Skanky wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Skanky wrote:I really don't see a problem here as long as training is available to bring them up to some sort of competent level.
Don't confuse knowledge with intelligence!
Some of the most knowledgeable but least intelligent people I know are doctors,engineers and lawyers who graduated top or close to the top of their departments.

A lot of officers can't even read and write properly, and they allegedly have 5 Os already, lowering requirements means scraping even further below the barrel. T&T is full of people with tertiary qualifications, why not make the service attractive to them instead, that way we have a more intelligent service which might lead to a better quality of officer

Being from the cream of the crop in school does not necessarily mean you're intelligent, it means you're knowledgeable.Knowledge can be taught,intelligence can't.Intelligence is something either you have it or you don't.
I'd much rather our police service full of people who are not the brightest bulbs out there but know how to use their intelligence to get the job done rather than the other way around.

Gotta disagree, someone with a little more intelligence might think twice before making a stupid decision and not an impulse move which may end up doing more harm than good. As nemesis said, we need to stop rewarding and accepting mediocrity, that is one of the reasons why wrongdoing is now an accepted norm in this country and it is embedded and hard to break now. If from inception lawlessness was nipped in the bud then we would not be knee deep in sheit right now. The TTPS has deteriorated into a hotbed of absolute failure and the few hardworking genuine ones are outnumbered by those just in it for the "I'z ah poleeeece dan" pips, those in it for a paycheck and those in it to conduct illicit activities

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » July 8th, 2012, 10:15 am

We have educated officers here on 2nr who do not even understand the importance of the uniform.
It's not about judging looks, it's about maintaining a certain code. If you start allowing certain breaches then what next? Female officers wearing large earrings? I am sure the officer in question (with the grill) performs his duties flawlessly but that is no excuse for not following what is the standard.

You think that lowering requirements will make much of a difference? Not good move, it may actually help some people who will work hard to EARN the honour of being a police officer, but unfortunately, as hustla said, many look at it as a brag thing.

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » July 8th, 2012, 10:24 am

I think the issue is that once you are in a professional position, a certain level of attire is required. We may all say dont judge a book by its cover...but how may of us actually do it?

Postby nemisis » July 8th, 2012, 10:35 am

The man with the grill seems to doing his job,as far as I concerned he could have earrings and tattoos it does not change the fact that he is doing his job with high competency and I doubt that if he was required to appear in a formal activity "function etc" he would come in something unbecoming...

On the other hand it have well kept officers that honoring the code that chasemeifyoucan seem to think most important, you can find them flirting with random women on library corner while there are illegal parking and dangerous driving occurring right in front of them. Have a few best dressed ones with Bollywood smiles that occasionally patrol my area and by patrol I mean speed thru.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 8th, 2012, 10:40 am

Skanky wrote:
Skanky wrote:I really don't see a problem here as long as training is available to bring them up to some sort of competent level.
Don't confuse knowledge with intelligence!
Some of the most knowledgeable but least intelligent people I know are doctors,engineers and lawyers who graduated top or close to the top of their departments.

A lot of officers can't even read and write properly, and they allegedly have 5 Os already, lowering requirements means scraping even further below the barrel. T&T is full of people with tertiary qualifications, why not make the service attractive to them instead, that way we have a more intelligent service which might lead to a better quality of officer

Being from the cream of the crop in school does not necessarily mean you're intelligent, it means you're knowledgeable.Knowledge can be taught,intelligence can't.Intelligence is something either you have it or you don't.
I'd much rather our police service full of people who are not the brightest bulbs out there but know how to use their intelligence to get the job done rather than the other way around.

Gotta disagree, someone with a little more intelligence might think twice before making a stupid decision and not an impulse move which may end up doing more harm than good. As nemesis said, we need to stop rewarding and accepting mediocrity, that is one of the reasons why wrongdoing is now an accepted norm in this country and it is embedded and hard to break now. If from inception lawlessness was nipped in the bud then we would not be knee deep in sheit right now. The TTPS has deteriorated into a hotbed of absolute failure and the few hardworking genuine ones are outnumbered by those just in it for the "I'z ah poleeeece dan" pips, those in it for a paycheck and those in it to conduct illicit activities

I just don't see the problem with the suggestion.How knowledgeable do you have to be to be a street police officer?
How will having tertiary education or more than 5CXCs make you better able to identify an errant driver,hand out a ticket,capture a kidnapper,intercept a drug shipment,solve crime etc etc?
You do need to be able to read,write and communicate to a basic level but other than that why do you need more requirements to solve everyday crime?
Of course those with more qualifications should hold higher posts in the service for which a higher level of knowledge/intelligence is required but the everyday street policeman needs just basic schooling,some proper training by the service and send them out.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2012, 11:24 am

^^^The TTPS is very backward wrt technology and other aspects, wanna know why, the dinosaurs who entered the service when there were no requirements but being big and ugly rose up the ranks due to seniority didn't see it as a necessity, up to today we have senior officers who cannot use a computer, everyday we see the need for officers to have a proper education since some cannot even read and record a number plate correctly on a ticket or spell a street name with more than 4 letters.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 8th, 2012, 11:50 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:^^^The TTPS is very backward wrt technology and other aspects, wanna know why, the dinosaurs who entered the service when there were no requirements but being big and ugly rose up the ranks due to seniority didn't see it as a necessity, up to today we have senior officers who cannot use a computer, everyday we see the need for officers to have a proper education since some cannot even read and record a number plate correctly on a ticket or spell a street name with more than 4 letters.

At no time is having 5 CXCs or greater a requirement nor an advantage in your argument.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 12:01 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:^^^The TTPS is very backward wrt technology and other aspects, wanna know why, the dinosaurs who entered the service when there were no requirements but being big and ugly rose up the ranks due to seniority didn't see it as a necessity, up to today we have senior officers who cannot use a computer, everyday we see the need for officers to have a proper education since some cannot even read and record a number plate correctly on a ticket or spell a street name with more than 4 letters.

:lol: the old arrest on abercromby streets scenario where the guy was dragged to hart street. [/tsb]

wrt to the majority of illiterate officers, most of these officers didn't enter with 5 o'levels, they entered as SRP's where the qualifications are MUCH lower and they are then absorbed as regular police officers, and for the longest while it has been used as a way for Senior officers to get their family and friends into the work.

Postby eliteauto » July 8th, 2012, 12:14 pm

too much duncy police in this thread, cannot contribute

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 12:17 pm

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2012, 12:22 pm

we need to reward based on merit. the grille, tats, earings, wigs, has no bearing on merit.

u people who believe that a police must look clean, a fireman must have a mustache, a farmer have a straw hat.... lawd, what ever for.

we have seen many unscrupulous business men and politicians with clean faces, neat haircuts, sensible shirts, jackets, and trousers who lie, steal, cuss, berate, oppress, discriminate and victimize.
the 'look' lets them get away.

u may prefer bad treatment in a socially acceptable package, but i believe image is nothing, thirst is every thing.

Postby buzz » July 8th, 2012, 12:48 pm

The police service is a bureaucratic organisation. A uniform and standard is supposed to kept IMO in order to maintain and reflect a degree of discipline. No I'm not saying an officer with a mouth of gold cannot be the most committed to his job but I also believe if you wish to serve you serve within the parameters in which you are allowed, it's what you signed up for, simple.

Using this logic, I suppose it would be acceptable for a child that achieves very good academic results, impeccable attendance and punctuality and never gets into trouble to wear multicoloured sneakers and a graffiti styled shirt to school, right ?

Equally if you're the 'best employee' at your workplace, in an office environment with a dress code, you should be able to waltz een with a short pants, vest and rubber dogs ? (short of that dress wear be acceptable in aforementioned dress code :lol: )

:!:

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:00 pm

^ schools and work places has established dress codes, so too does the police service, gold teeth isn't against any regulations or the dress code of the police service.

What next no tattoos?

Postby nemisis » July 8th, 2012, 1:02 pm

Buzz pull up the clause about you referencing and share, want to know where in the fine print on how to dress and carry one self was there mention that he needs to go get his teeth done in ceramic and not gold.

Postby nervewrecker » July 8th, 2012, 1:04 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ schools and work places has established dress codes, so too does the police service, gold teeth isn't against any regulations or the dress code of the police service.

What next no tattoos?

They talking bout who I think they talking bout? :shock:
If they are, he is a cool solider, real cool fellow. Looks may be deceiving, nuh judge de man.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:11 pm

:lol: same person i believe.
no-mold-gold-teeth.jpg

Postby BrotherHood » July 8th, 2012, 1:12 pm

buzz wrote:The police service is a bureaucratic organisation. A uniform and standard is supposed to kept IMO in order to maintain and reflect a degree of discipline. No I'm not saying an officer with a mouth of gold cannot be the most committed to his job but I also believe if you wish to serve you serve within the parameters in which you are allowed, it's what you signed up for, simple.

What RS is saying that the grill isn't against any rule nor will it warrant any disciplinary action. Yes I agree but let's be realistic here. It reflects negatively upon himself and the TTPS. A police officer is supposed to be a respected post in this country. You have signed up for the job, it's what you chose and although certain things may be not be in breach of any rule there are sensible parameters and protocol that should follow.

If you RS and some others see it fit and okay for him to sport his grill as a police officer then the persons whom hold high offices and respected posts in this country should sport grills, ink up their necks like Vybz Kartel and the females should wear short skirts and huge gold earings shaped into lightning bolts.

It's not about hating or being judgemental. it's about this word.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Etiquette

Etiquette ( /ˈɛtɨkɛt/ or /ˈɛtɨkɪt/, French: [e.ti.kɛt]) is a code of behavior that delineates expectations for social behavior according to contemporary conventional norms within a society, social class, or group.

http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/Defi ... uette.html
Etiquette, one aspect of decorum, is a code that governs the expectations of social behavior, according to the contemporary conventional norm within a society, social class, or group. Usually unwritten, it may be codified in written form. Etiquette usually reflects formulas of conduct in which society or tradition have invested.
Last edited by BrotherHood on July 8th, 2012, 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 1:15 pm

I give up too many big words for my illiterate ass to unnerstan, parrotmeters and protox an ting.....

konartis

Postby konartis » July 8th, 2012, 1:18 pm

IMO, they have already lowered the standards for police when they decided to take in the SRP 1000 police with little or no qualifications, i knw they are some that have good skills, but the majority of them weren't ready for the position...they should raise the standards of the officers and increase the pay to go with the qualifications....all my intelligent friends from school never had a good handwriting and they struggled with english....didnt mean they were stupid...they were the brightest persons in the class an passed everything....

konartis

Postby konartis » July 8th, 2012, 1:22 pm

buzz wrote:The police service is a bureaucratic organisation. A uniform and standard is supposed to kept IMO in order to maintain and reflect a degree of discipline. No I'm not saying an officer with a mouth of gold cannot be the most committed to his job but I also believe if you wish to serve you serve within the parameters in which you are allowed, it's what you signed up for, simple.

Using this logic, I suppose it would be acceptable for a child that achieves very good academic results, impeccable attendance and punctuality and never gets into trouble to wear multicoloured sneakers and a graffiti styled shirt to school, right ?

Equally if you're the 'best employee' at your workplace, in an office environment with a dress code, you should be able to waltz een with a short pants, vest and rubber dogs ? (short of that dress wear be acceptable in aforementioned dress code :lol: )

:!:

if you getting robbed...you will glad to see that same gold teeth officer running to your assistance, i knw him really well...he is one of the good officers...

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2012, 1:35 pm

i disagree with iron clad uniformity. i am for individualism. we are not machines.

good to know that many good potential police would be left out of the police force, because of their wanting to be a human, and the waste of timers who cut their hair, shave their faces and keep the uniform better than their honesty, intelligence, and integrity gonna make up the majority of the force. why, because a set of people believe that conformity is paramount. the battery workforce of capitalism

Dragular

Postby Dragular » July 8th, 2012, 2:16 pm

more illiterate criminals who refuse to work hard will definitely want to be police officers

Postby buzz » July 8th, 2012, 2:19 pm

BrotherHood wrote:

What RS is saying that the grill isn't against any rule nor will it warrant any disciplinary action. Yes I agree but let's be realistic here. It reflects negatively upon himself and the TTPS. A police officer is supposed to be a respected post in this country. You have signed up for the job, it's what you chose and although certain things may be not be in breach of any rule there are sensible parameters and protocol that should follow.

If you RS and some others see it fit and okay for him to sport his grill as a police officer then the persons whom hold high offices and respected posts in this country should sport grills, ink up their necks like Vybz Kartel and the females should wear short skirts and huge gold earings shaped into lightning bolts.

It's not about hating or being judgemental. it's about this word.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Etiquette

Etiquette ( /ˈɛtɨkɛt/ or /ˈɛtɨkɪt/, French: [e.ti.kɛt]) is a code of behavior that delineates expectations for social behavior according to contemporary conventional norms within a society, social class, or group.

http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/Defi ... uette.html
Etiquette, one aspect of decorum, is a code that governs the expectations of social behavior, according to the contemporary conventional norm within a society, social class, or group. Usually unwritten, it may be codified in written form. Etiquette usually reflects formulas of conduct in which society or tradition have invested.

Thank you, and agreed.

If indeed it isn't in hard print, well that's just sad especially in a bureaucratic setting (again IMO)

Now I'm not one for 'following the norms of society just to fit in' but you mentioned two valuable terms, Etiquette and Decorum.

To the tuner who said I'll be glad to see this officer in the event that I'm being robbed, by all means I probably would, I never condemned the man however it would not change the fact that I find his appearance unfit for a police officer.

star scream

Postby star scream » July 8th, 2012, 2:30 pm

my personal view is that there are too many srp's in the service, they are not trained properly, and to qualify to become an srp ... no requirements, i've worked with many officers who are highly qualified, sad thing is after they get qualified they leave the service.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » July 8th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Jack also said about allowing officers to take home police cars and firearms since officers in other countries have such allowances granted. From experience when I was in an accident it took 1.5 hours for them to arrive (where the station was 5 mins. away) and while I was at the station they could not find the keys to the other car.

Postby rollingstock » July 8th, 2012, 9:28 pm

^ Bad idea if i ever heard one.

Police in Trinidad aren't mature or capable enough for that level of responsibility.

I shudder at the day when any and every police officer is allowed to carry a firearm when off duty. Some aren't even fit to carry one whilst on duty.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 8th, 2012, 9:40 pm

Ah whole settah dotish security guards will be joining the service now!....

fack man jack!

Postby nervewrecker » July 8th, 2012, 10:05 pm

While I agree to an extent with what you guys saying, supposed gold grill occifer had his mouth like that before he joined the force? Or supposed is a certain appearance he hadda maintain to not look like a popo with what he does?

Anyways, rs, dem damn police wanna loose one ah them pretty new cars? I will hijack dem eh, serious talk. This is not a liming spot or show off spot.

Postby redmanjp » July 8th, 2012, 10:19 pm

there would have to be a comprehensive training program if they doing this- but it can't be that they letting in ppl who cah even read or write