nervewrecker wrote:Delay it a bit, it have some more roads to pave and potholes to fill.
After that I am all for him as min of nat sec.
Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?
kual wrote:Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?
I want to know myself. All the roads still bad even though we have a pitch lake.
kual wrote:Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?
I want to know myself. All the roads still bad even though we have a pitch lake.
Habit7 wrote:kual wrote:Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?
I am fed up of hearing ppl say this as if the pitch lake is a magic fountain of good roads.
We pave roads with asphalt cement, which consists of bitumen from a refinery and aggregate from a quarry. The product derived from the pitch lake is a non-essential additive that improve the properties of the asphalt cement. Having Trinidad Lake Asphalt (TLA) in your asphalt cement, mostly improves skid resistance and lower maintenance, we still need to maintain the road.
IMHO Jack Warner is doing no different than his predecessor, just that when they build a box drain, fix a pothole or if the Minister takes a stroll in public, the press is called in and it is made a big spectacle where most questions asked are things not pertaining to works and infrastructure but some scandal or bacchanal he is involved in.
nervewrecker wrote:Do you know what it is like to be fulling water side the road by a pipe stand for 2 decades? Of course not.
Habit7 wrote:I am a north man but I have to know most of T&T because my job has something to do with rocks...
I cant picture that area in Gasparillo but I have worked in Mayo and I will agree with you that the roads there are historically bad.
Recently some of my other colleagues who deal up in rocks were baffled by the attempts at Sando Tech. As far as we know that is a classic case of a fault system, the road needs to be abandoned and re-routed like what was done. Reconstructing it will result with the same problem that existed because the ground is not stable.
............The Opposition didn’t care about the $115,000 that First Citizens Bank spent on a Scrabble tournament, the $857,000 on horseracing, or even $989,000 on cocktails in North, South and Tobago.
Instead, Mr Mark and his colleague Robin Montano zeroed in on the amount the National Lotteries Control Board had spent on advertising on two radio stations, I92.5 and its successor, I95.5: $72,613.86 and $545,847.69 respectively. The closest any other station came to making this much money from the NLCB was 103, which was paid $395,499.50.
Mr Mark asked Mr Enill to explain this disproportionate amount, bearing in mind that the chairman of the NLCB is also the chairman of I95. (Mr Mark didn’t name him, but the big cheese in question is Louis Lee Sing.) Had a declaration of interest been entered, he wanted to know.
A plainly embarrassed Mr Enill said he had had cause to look at the matter. The chairman and board of the NLCB approved the general project, but “the advertising and public relations officer responsible is, I think,” he muttered, as he dropped his bombshell, “somebody called Devant Maharaj.
“I have difficulty when I see results like this,” he added hastily. “I did investigate.”
Mr Enill had good reason to look abashed, and it was no wonder his claim was greeted with incredulous laughter.
“You believe that?” asked Mr Mark.
Mr Enill said he was just there to answer the question.
“Just to get this comedy in perspective,” asked Mr Montano, “is the minister asking us to believe the chairman of NLCB had absolutely nothing to do with $800,000 (sic) going to his company—he just closed his eyes and let Devant Maharaj do it?”
No further light
“I’m not asking anyone to believe anything,” Mr Enill said sheepishly. “I’m just providing the information.”
Now whereas Mr Lee Sing is well known as a friend of the Government, Mr Maharaj came to prominence last year when he took the Government to court, and won, over the Prime Minister’s veto of his promotion at the NLCB. Since then he has had even less reason to be kindly disposed to Mr Lee Sing or the PNM, as he has been refused leave of absence from the NLCB to take up a job in the office of the leader of the Opposition.
To sum up, then, Mr Maharaj is the last person on the planet who would be inclined to funnel revenue in the direction of Mr Lee Sing’s radio station.
But no further light was shed on this mystery, as question time ended before Mr Montano got to ask the supplemental questions he was bursting to put to Mr Enill.............
Habit7 wrote:Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
nervewrecker wrote:Habit7 wrote:kual wrote:Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?
I am fed up of hearing ppl say this as if the pitch lake is a magic fountain of good roads.
We pave roads with asphalt cement, which consists of bitumen from a refinery and aggregate from a quarry. The product derived from the pitch lake is a non-essential additive that improve the properties of the asphalt cement. Having Trinidad Lake Asphalt (TLA) in your asphalt cement, mostly improves skid resistance and lower maintenance, we still need to maintain the road.
IMHO Jack Warner is doing no different than his predecessor, just that when they build a box drain, fix a pothole or if the Minister takes a stroll in public, the press is called in and it is made a big spectacle where most questions asked are things not pertaining to works and infrastructure but some scandal or bacchanal he is involved in.
donno when last I see news on tv.
where you live Habit7?
Not to start a 'pnm eh do this and pp do it' argument / comparison but when PNM was in power I never see a pot hole fixed. You familiar with the strectch by Maculay there, after gasparillo by the trunoff to go in reform and the road by Sando tech? The right hand side was plagued with potholes that were getting worst with time, by refom turnoff was like a roller coaster ride and by Sando tech...well we get a road at least.
The back roads by me paved, some side roads and a lot of pot holes filled from sando to fyzo. I donno bout you, but I see change and I real happy with it. Its not much but its something.
nervewrecker wrote:Oh and we get running water home too. They make dem lazy wasa muthafcukers get off their lazy muddacnuts and go from house to house asking if people does get water, how often and if it does come clean, dirty, with good pressure and for how long.
Do you know what it is like to be fulling water side the road by a pipe stand for 2 decades? Of course not.
nervewrecker wrote:Habit7 wrote:I am a north man but I have to know most of T&T because my job has something to do with rocks...
I cant picture that area in Gasparillo but I have worked in Mayo and I will agree with you that the roads there are historically bad.
Recently some of my other colleagues who deal up in rocks were baffled by the attempts at Sando Tech. As far as we know that is a classic case of a fault system, the road needs to be abandoned and re-routed like what was done. Reconstructing it will result with the same problem that existed because the ground is not stable.
T'was after the flyover on the stretch by the stadium there. I think its reform turnoff its called (southbound lane). It was near the edge of the road and was like a less severe version of what they have by sando tech there. It get a little patch up to mammaguy us a little but I can live with it.
WRT the piece by sando tech there, I find the re-route working fine so far. I say leave it cuz I agree, they will fix that other piece and by the end of this year....same rodeo ride style through it.
Conrad wrote:
TL:DR Tantie Kamla them take care of they own down South and Central, hic.
adriano7910 wrote:crime in TnT is soley because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.
kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Yea if you tke that road yuh coming out taruba (sp) have a guest-house as you buss that corner there...
shotta 20 wrote:OP, this from a good source or just speculation?
Bizzare wrote:Lol, dunno why the debate. It's not like things could get any worse.
adriano7910 wrote:crime in TnT is soley because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.
K74T wrote:adriano7910 wrote:crime in TnT is soley because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.