pete wrote:Does your cigarette lighter have power on it with the vehicle turned off?
lost to all wrote:previously had a turbo 2001 750 cranking amps got 2.75 years out of that one, so I bought another.
currently have turbo 2001 825 cranking amps
need that power to heat d glow plug and tumble crankshaft and ting.
I bought a solar panel trickle charger from pricesmart, I believe it is 2 watts, they say it keeps the battery topped up, just mount it on your dash and it plug it into your cigarette jack.
Any thoughts on this.
ruffnek wrote:geometron wrote:and your point is...? who d fack purchases those crap batts anyway
tuners, this voice sounding very immature, jus looking at his signature doesn't shock me of his comments....Mark! wrote:geometron wrote:and your point is...? who d fack purchases those crap batts anyway
man does only see optima dry cell battery advertising online and think dem is d only batteries that does work. yuh need to go out in the real world yes![]()
man probably using these for years....
powering his "ride"[
MonsterPower wrote:lost to all wrote:previously had a turbo 2001 750 cranking amps got 2.75 years out of that one, so I bought another.
I bought a solar panel trickle charger from pricesmart, I believe it is 2 watts, they say it keeps the battery topped up, just mount it on your dash and it plug it into your cigarette jack.
Any thoughts on this.
Dude that trickle charger solar panel does not work .. for it to fully work u need to get at least 10 hrs ideally a day .. read the fine print on the box it says max power output of 125mah at 1.8W max .. so that means u only get that in direct sunlight which is about 1-2 hrs a day .
trust me i have tried the 5W panel and bench tested them to be .5A max on a small setup i have at work .. takes days to charge a 13plate batt
pseudorandom wrote:MonsterPower wrote:lost to all wrote:previously had a turbo 2001 750 cranking amps got 2.75 years out of that one, so I bought another.
Any thoughts on this.
Dude that trickle charger solar panel does not work .. for it to fully work u need to get at least 10 hrs ideally a day .. read the fine print on the box it says max power output of 125mah at 1.8W max .. so that means u only get that in direct sunlight which is about 1-2 hrs a day .
trust me i have tried the 5W panel and bench tested them to be .5A max on a small setup i have at work .. takes days to charge a 13plate batt
I think the solar charger could be good. The point of the trickle charger is not to fully charge a battery, the alternator does that. The solar charger will ensure your battery is always topped up when your car is not running. This will help prevent sulphation from taking place and result in extended lifespan for the battery. I'm no expert, but just going on what I know - batteries go bad because of sulphation, and sulphation is caused when the battery is not fully charged and left to sit.
For the trickle charger to work on the cigarette lighter jack, you must ensure it is not disconnected from the battery when the car is off (i.e. you get power from the jack when the car is off), otherwise you need some rewiring to get it to work. I would personally mount it behind the back seat of the car to make it less noticeable and do some custom wiring. I now thinking of getting one. Based on the cost of new battery and the cost of a 1.8-watt solar charger, the extended battery life could be worth it.
20inchstrong wrote:I have a maintenance free Power Master for almost 2 years now...
khandman wrote:Watch d time u post this nah. 840am. Now reach to wuk and on tuner. Anytime i talk to you u under real pressure in wuk .Could lie... Link the rad for me nah mule.