WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home...

Re: WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home..

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 14th, 2012, 7:43 am

I ordered from Delta Glass in Aranguez. Significantly cheaper than Asgarali.

There were no ready-made aluminum casement at the time so had to get them made. Delta took 1 week. I installed myself.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 14th, 2012, 8:21 am

Rahtid wrote:QPSL,,

I will definitely recommend QPSL.... professionalism, timeliness and great workmanship...

They do metal casement & aluminum casement with the external glider systems... as in the pics on pg 1.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 14th, 2012, 5:38 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I ordered from Delta Glass in Aranguez. Significantly cheaper than Asgarali.

There were no ready-made aluminum casement at the time so had to get them made. Delta took 1 week. I installed myself.

will check delta to get a price quote.....
QPSL....Whos this?

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 14th, 2012, 7:03 pm

http://www.qps-int.com/AboutUs.asp

Right next door to Asgarali in Freeport incidentally.

They make some great looking stuff.

Strictly for wrought iron pieces though, Idrees Marketing is cheaper, also in Freeport.

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2012, 1:21 pm

what you guys think about the doors at Designer Doors ltd at cross crossing San Fernando?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2012, 7:15 pm

looks fugly

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2012, 9:52 pm

I won't comment but anyplace else has similar designs? Trying to assist someone here.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 9th, 2012, 11:39 pm

Going with windows from abel but still looking for a door....

Bhagwansingh doors arent nice. saw some nice ones opposite medford by door discount but they are from china,,,,

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 10th, 2012, 8:02 am

for those who stil lbelieve in burglar proofing over a good solid METAL, take a normal siscors car jack, place it between your currrent burglar proofing and turn the handle and tell me how safe you really are.

Quick advice, when looking at french type doors, check the spacing between the bars, i know several people who made the mistake of buying french doors, then realise they had to make ADditional Burglar proofed doors directly behind them .
Reason- the spaces may not look that big BUT once a childs head can fit though the bars, the rest of their body can and its quite easy for a bandit to use a child to slip through and then open the door fromt he inside.

Just a few thoughts for your safety.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 10th, 2012, 8:45 am

yep RBF I dont like the french doors for this reason.....but the french style aluminium windows is really one plain sheet of glass where strips are sticked onto the glass to get the french style look.....so its not individual glass panes.....unlike the french style steel windows

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 10th, 2012, 8:54 am

if you have and you not afraid to spend $$$
bagwansingh

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 10th, 2012, 8:55 am

matthewmazda wrote:if you have and you not afraid to spend $$$
bagwansingh

I went chaguanas branch and they didnt have anything nice at all.....

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 10th, 2012, 8:11 pm

Checked Ezee Lumber in Longdenville last week. They can do custom wooden doors but pine only.

A 36" 10 panel of my own design will cost $500.

May go with them for the remainder of my interior doors.

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 9:37 am

done by QPSL
burglar bars are welded onto the window frame, and the fire escape hinges are pretty heavy so bandits will have to spend some time getting through.........

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 9:38 am

btw the flats are 1.5" x 3/8" thick

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 12th, 2012, 10:11 am

strong but looks too "HEavy and JAILY " to be elegant enough to use in a house.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2012, 11:48 am

I'd put saftey above style anytime RBF.

MG, but someone can still bust the glass, open the window and come through those big squares.

There is a house up uwi side with the bars on the gate really close together, my hands see trouble to go through but I can still reach the door knob (gate have a door thingy). A window or door with a design where it has close bars near the knob will be nice. I looking for something like that.

With that said, i was advised to check abc distributers in san juan, anyone know anything or was it mentioned in this thread before? (kinda busy here).

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 12:01 pm

nerve, u can't get thru those squares unless u break open the fire escape, which will also have a solid bar across the whole window, bolted from inside, so even if you break the lock, you can't push it in......and where the bar is located, you won't be able to cut it.......
If you smash the glass, u can't remove the other bars, as they are welded solid to the window frame itself

Breadfruit, I was aiming for heavy and commercial....I hate french windows, and all that leafy ironwork sheit people seem to like

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 17th, 2012, 10:55 pm

that window reallys looks heavy and jail like...

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2012, 11:06 pm

ABC distributors or something was mentioned, a place in San Juan. Anyone visited there yet?

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 12:03 pm

I checked their doors a couple years back..........nothing of interest for me

these are the aluminium windows that asholegarali finally installed yesterday, amid quite a bit of banging and cutting to fit, not to mentioin they scratched up most of my security film which I spent 7k on, bent some of the frame, had to use spray paint to hide the damage done in transport..........a 3 week job that took about 4 months :evil:

of course now they running me down for the balance of the payment......

I went with security film rather than more burglar proofing just for the aesthetic...........it may not be 100% invasion-proof, but with the 11mil gauge, they will have to beat the hell out of that glass and make a helluva racket before they can get in
aDSCF0687.jpg
aDSCF0686.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2012, 12:16 pm

$7k on security film? Damn, I should get into that business yes.

The glasses secured to the frame with the normal putty stuff most windows use? If so then no need to bust the glass, dig out the putty :lol:

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 12:36 pm

nope, u don't use putty on aluminium. It's in a metal channel and then has a layer of sealant which is pretty hard.........either way it will take quite a bit of doing, by which time the vibration sensors on the glass will trip of the alarm ;p
I don't expect any of this to make it impossible for a bandit to overcome........it's just a matter of making it more difficult, because in any event, they just have to stick a gun to my head when I pull up at the gate, which seems to be the preferred method nowadays

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2012, 12:44 pm

damn, those windows sound good. I see most people investing on burglar proof, style and security film (which I never know cost so much) but the glasses installed with putty and some frames held in place with wall plugs and screws, tears I tell yuh. :lol:

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 12:52 pm

these windows are secured by a series of long screws and silicone, but they so freaking big and heavy that if someone succeeds in prying them off the wall and getting in, heck they can take whatever they want! (just as long as I not home)
nerve, another dumb thing people do is install security film AFTER they install the glass! The glass in my windows extend about an inch inside each frame, and the film was put on first..........otherwise it really doesn't make any sense
My back porch burglar bars are anchored in six points, and extend a good 12 - 14 inches into the walls, which I then filed with mortar, using a makeshift 2" syringe to force mortar all the way in, rather than do the usual 'pack mortar on broken brick chips and push een'
No scissor jack rippin that off

Postby Team Loco » July 18th, 2012, 1:49 pm

mg man, it looks good from far, but i guess it far from nice

Postby r3iXmann » July 18th, 2012, 1:58 pm

noob question here..why go through all that to secure windows that dont have easy physical access to them? bandits use ladders?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 18th, 2012, 2:33 pm

r3iXmann wrote:noob question here..why go through all that to secure windows that dont have easy physical access to them? bandits use ladders?

u doubt the ablities of a central crack head? :?

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2012, 2:41 pm

r3iXmann wrote:noob question here..why go through all that to secure windows that dont have easy physical access to them? bandits use ladders?

what make you think they need a ladder?
They can scale the front post if they wanted to.........heck some years ago they scaled the neighbour's PVC toilet pipe and entered thru their bathroom vent window and got in

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2012, 12:03 pm

latest update.........the eastern-facing windows have leaks in about 8 places each
Arsegrelly sent their guys today to try and silicone them properly. Also, the screws that keep the gliders in place are now corroded
So............after a 6 month job that was quoted as a 3 week job, I have leaky windows with rusty fittings..........needless to say, they want to know when I plan on laying off the balance owed
The owner, who hides in his office and tells his staff to lie and say he's not there, sent a message asking about payment....obviously I not gonna pay off everything until I am sure the windows are sealing properly....their 'service' to date leaves me skeptical that they will handle problems after they get their money

I asked the guy if withholding payment is the only way to get a call from the bossman.........he said 'nah, if yuh take to long, dey go send people tuh pull out yuh windows and send back yuh money'