Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:32 pm

:lol: :lol: doesnt matter how they looked, they're perfect now :mrgreen:

Re: WTK How much ppl normally pay for braces

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
S_2NR wrote:idk.. i went for 3 years.
and i also estimated for dental work as well during that period since having a dentist while u have braces is a must.

some people skip the dentist when they go to a orthodontist.

trus meh is way less,becuz first person i checked was lue chee lip or waeva d fork she name is and she tell me 15k,I say fork she,went by harper and saved a lot..

my parents lied to me...

i always used to get sheit talk from them anytime they refuse to buy me something. about how my mouth cost them 20K. :roll:

thanks for the info :)

Postby shogun » May 10th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Dr. Elias in Chaguanas is also pretty good. One of the coolest people you will ever meet, also.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 10th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Quote I got was $20k, can't remember the payment plan.

Not for hell I can remember the orthodontist's name na.

Edit: shogun posted his name right above me :oops:
Last edited by Trini Hookah on May 10th, 2012, 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 10th, 2012, 2:39 pm

Hmmm. Harper is the one right next to the gas station that connects the bus route and main road right opposite UWI? The dental office that on the second floor of a small building?

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Jahleel wrote:Hmmm. Harper is the one right next to the gas station that connects the bus route and main road right opposite UWI? The dental office that on the second floor of a small building?

he in port of spain.

Postby dougla_boy » May 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm

fcuk braces.....learn to smile and speak wiht minimal showing of yuh dinner mint sized and shaped teef.......

Postby Trini Hookah » May 10th, 2012, 3:06 pm

OP:

Any grocery,

Little denture glue and,

Voila!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2012, 3:07 pm

Jahleel wrote:Hmmm. Harper is the one right next to the gas station that connects the bus route and main road right opposite UWI? The dental office that on the second floor of a small building?

harper is located upper henry street P.O.S around by TSTT,well that was the last I heard,idk if he moved though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2012, 3:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
S_2NR wrote:idk.. i went for 3 years.
and i also estimated for dental work as well during that period since having a dentist while u have braces is a must.

some people skip the dentist when they go to a orthodontist.

trus meh is way less,becuz first person i checked was lue chee lip or waeva d fork she name is and she tell me 15k,I say fork she,went by harper and saved a lot..

my parents lied to me...

i always used to get sheit talk from them anytime they refuse to buy me something. about how my mouth cost them 20K. :roll:

thanks for the info :)

:lol: any how you take it,if your parents were smart, no disrespect intended,they would have got back their money afterwards

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 10th, 2012, 3:26 pm

How exactly you getting back ur money after. I tried checking out health insurance with dental plans but they dont cover braces. And where I working you dont get any benifits or nothing

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2012, 3:31 pm

Jahleel wrote:How exactly you getting back ur money after. I tried checking out health insurance with dental plans but they dont cover braces. And where I working you dont get any benifits or nothing

well that sucks,it's exactly how my parents got it,my mom organised with her health insurance plan,didn't get back all at once though...consecutive monthly payments.

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 10th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Scene. but now I wondering about the price he tell me for root canals. He tell me it was $5000 which I find real expensive for that

Postby stev » May 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

root canals were always expensive...and painful

Postby shogun » May 10th, 2012, 4:52 pm

stev wrote:root canals were always expensive...and painful

NOTHING compared to wisdom tooth extraction...trust me.

Jahleel wrote:Scene. but now I wondering about the price he tell me for root canals. He tell me it was $5000 which I find real expensive for that

Sounds a lil much. Usually runs from $3500-$4000
Last edited by shogun on May 10th, 2012, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 10th, 2012, 5:10 pm

Other options....

there's porcelain veneers where u get a cap attached onto your original graded down teeth, it lasts about 40 yrs, it's done in 2-3 days to straighten & improve your smile.

there's another procedure where they remove your teeth & fit screw implants with teeth attached.
it costs about the same thing or less in Venezuela. Caracas is the place for cosmetic surgery/ cosmetic dental surgery. it's done in a week to straighten & improve your smile.

i was living with a girl who had bracers & saw the stress & tools she had to clean in the morning. & the amount of times per day.

there's an orthodontist doing this on anna st .. his office faces movietowne across the highway

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2012, 10:01 pm

shogun wrote:

Jahleel wrote:Scene. but now I wondering about the price he tell me for root canals. He tell me it was $5000 which I find real expensive for that

heard a lot bout this wisdom tooth extraction,dredding that so much eh :(

Postby AllTrac » May 10th, 2012, 10:43 pm

Damien wrote:I could get a wok for you to hoxs some coconut dong cedros to make up the paper by the time check meh

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 10th, 2012, 11:18 pm

ismithx wrote:umm about 24K, doing it with Dr Gwen Chin Lee (i think that is her name) in Woodbrook, excellent service......

WTF like you replacing all the teeth in your mouth a wah

sandfly

Postby sandfly » May 11th, 2012, 5:10 am

Did mines by Sastri Harnarayan back in 2003
his fee 5k
braces 10k
surgery 5k
other costs 5k
almost done. good service tho. and the girls even remember ur name!

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 11th, 2012, 5:55 am

shogun wrote:

Then you guys have been going to the wrong dentist. :lol: :lol: :lol: Neither root canals nor surgical extractions are painful procedures;unless your dentist doesn;t understand how to give proper anestheisa.

Anyway root canals can vary between 1500 and 5000 depending on the tooth, and the materials/equipment your dentist has invested in. Some dentists use old cheap techniques, and other faster more reliable ones.

Anyway;for the topic poster.
Expect braces to run you anywhere from $15,000 to $25,000 per arch. It;s largely depending on how bad things are, the movement needed and the appliance/appliances needed. Never look for the cheapest option. The more expensive orthodontists (at least in my experience) generally charge high because they seem to know what they are about and less likely to jam you more $$ if treatment takes longer.
Most will give you a payment plan, some will ask for lumpsums every few months.

Add in at least $2000 per year for regular dental checkups/cleanings and any other preliminary work you would need to do prior to starting the braces(fillings, extractions etc). Prelim work can run into 10,000+ depending.

Two Orthos I can personally recommend.
1) Trudee Ann Hoyte (POS)

2) Ashvin Sharma (CHAG)
Both are excellent.

In short; dont look for the cheapest orthodontist; all the budget ortho cases I've seen needed to be redone either due to relapse, or poor treatment planning to begin with. Patients are usually too exhausted after 2-4 years of braces to even get back into it and just settle.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 11th, 2012, 5:58 am

Peanut Punch wrote:Other options....

there's porcelain veneers where u get a cap attached onto your original graded down teeth, it lasts about 40 yrs, it's done in 2-3 days to straighten & improve your smile.

there's another procedure where they remove your teeth & fit screw implants with teeth attached.
it costs about the same thing or less in Venezuela. Caracas is the place for cosmetic surgery/ cosmetic dental surgery. it's done in a week to straighten & improve your smile.

i was living with a girl who had bracers & saw the stress & tools she had to clean in the morning. & the amount of times per day.

there's an orthodontist doing this on anna st .. his office faces movietowne across the highway

Veneers dont last 40 years.

Postby shogun » May 11th, 2012, 6:37 am

crazychinee wrote:
shogun wrote:

Then you guys have been going to the wrong dentist. :lol: :lol: :lol: Neither root canals nor surgical extractions are painful procedures;unless your dentist doesn;t understand how to give proper anestheisa.

Not during the procedure, of course. And i only had local anesthetic eh!....but pain didn't start kicking in until a few hours after procedure....even with the recommended aftercare pain medication. To this day i respect that pain. :lol:

crazychinee wrote:Anyway root canals can vary between 1500 and 5000 depending on the tooth, and the materials/equipment your dentist has invested in. Some dentists use old cheap techniques, and other faster more reliable ones.

Anyway;for the topic poster.
Expect braces to run you anywhere from $15,000 to $25,000 per arch. It;s largely depending on how bad things are, the movement needed and the appliance/appliances needed. Never look for the cheapest option. The more expensive orthodontists (at least in my experience) generally charge high because they seem to know what they are about and less likely to jam you more $$ if treatment takes longer.
Most will give you a payment plan, some will ask for lumpsums every few months.

Add in at least $2000 per year for regular dental checkups/cleanings and any other preliminary work you would need to do prior to starting the braces(fillings, extractions etc). Prelim work can run into 10,000+ depending.

$1500 ? :shock:

That's the "brick string and/or 3-line" procedure? :lol:

Agreed @ everything else though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2012, 8:00 am

the worse part about this braces thing,is when your mouth badly off and you have the use the stinking head gear in the beginning stages before you actually put on the braces.I believe that's where the extra cost would come een.

Jahleel

Postby Jahleel » May 11th, 2012, 8:29 am

Aite well good thing my mouth not that bad. that headgear thing is real stress I hear

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2012, 9:10 am

crazychinee wrote:
Peanut Punch wrote:Other options....

Veneers dont last 40 years.

And it is braces, not bracers. I'm sure you would think someone isa dummy for saying "fishnin", same principle. Dr. Harinarayan is the orthodontist on Ana St., he did mine many years ago when he just started practicing. Implants and veneers are very expensive. Implants especially should be a last resort. Take care of the teeth AND GUMS you have.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 11th, 2012, 9:26 am

bushwakka wrote:12k? bai.....u cud pay a girl to overlook ur fawkup teet for da price

:lol: :lol: this is something I woulda say..

I really didn't know braces where so expensive..

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2012, 9:41 am

In the 90's they were 10k. If they are 12k now, I would consider that a bargain.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 11th, 2012, 10:19 am

crazybalhead wrote:In the 90's they were 10k. If they are 12k now, I would consider that a bargain.

the cost of dentistry has risen over the past decade. Why??? all other forms of medicine has gotten lower.. I remembered in the 90's to do a a full biopsy for cancerous cells was 10k usd.. now it's 100us in the Mayo Clinic..

Why d fcuk braces still so expensive. ... I could very well argue the point that it has nothing to do with demand and supply..

drop ho

Postby drop ho » May 11th, 2012, 10:26 am

Had to surgically remove a tooth that broke this week. (Had a root canal done years ago on it)
My options are implant or a bridge to fill the gap.
Dentist told me 18-20K for an implant and 8-10K for a bridge.

Anyone had experience doing this?
Any reviews of Dr Maharaj in Island Mall in Chaguanas?