Bar Owners To Be Held Liable For Drunken Drivers!

Re: Bar Owners To Be Held Liable For Drunken Drivers!

Postby sliderz1 » April 28th, 2012, 11:40 am

pioneer wrote:I say stop serving alcohol from a certain time...like 1am

Like it's done in developed countries.

Anyone found serving alcohol in public after those times....heavy stinkin fine.

Who's with me?

No

Why is it some trini's only abide by the law when there's authority around.? When these said people go in foreign countries, majority of them dont do sheit like they do here. I would like to see better enforcement of laws even if it means a policeman/woman with a breatherlyser test waiting outside a bar. People should know their limit and withdraw themselves frm lawlessness and endangering lives and property.

but that makes no sense .........so carry on :drinking:

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 11:43 am

why do our proposed laws seek to embarrass this country even more.
Makes Trinidadians seems like a bunch of irresponsible idiots with the brain of a 5 yr old.
It's not about finding an alternative, it's about fixing the root problem.

First it was banning glass bottles on the beach, now this. You don't ban ADULTS from carrying glass bottles to the beach. You provide proper disposal and officers along with that to enforce the law of NOT LITTERING. Enforce that <<, don't introduce alternative laws cuz the citizens are disobeying those existing. That's just stupid.

Enforce the law against drunk driving. Make use of the breathalyzer etc and let officers do what they're being paid to do. Backward country this

Postby hydroep » April 28th, 2012, 11:47 am

Such a system would be too difficult to manage. To begin with, everyone has a different alcohol threshold....some men could hold a cool nine beers while another could only handle only two. Secondly such establishments have limited staff.

The authorities cannot reasonably expect the owners of such to keep an eye on everyone and evaluate their state of "drunkenness".

The Minister must know this is a stupid idea. It's probably just another distraction for the masses.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 11:54 am

Bizzare wrote:why do our proposed laws seek to embarrass this country even more.
Makes Trinidadians seems like a bunch of irresponsible idiots with the brain of a 5 yr old.
It's not about finding an alternative, it's about fixing the root problem.

First it was banning glass bottles on the beach, now this. You don't ban ADULTS from carrying glass bottles to the beach. You provide proper disposal and officers along with that to enforce the law of NOT LITTERING. Enforce that <<, don't introduce alternative laws cuz the citizens are disobeying those existing. That's just stupid.

Enforce the law against drunk driving. Make use of the breathalyzer etc and let officers do what they're being paid to do. Backward country this

Because trinis ARE a bunch of irresponsible idiots with the brains of a 5 yr old.

Guess you never been to a beach on a foreign country (tobago doesn't count), glass bottles are banned in those countries too, some even ban alcohol.

Get with it.

Having roadblocks miles away from where an offence is committed is stupid and pointless, it prevents and stops nothing.

They still allow people to drive drunk and that's the fact.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 12:06 pm

pioneer wrote:Guess you never been to a beach on a foreign country (tobago doesn't count), glass bottles are banned in those countries too, some even ban alcohol.

So the people in those countries are irresponsible idiots with the brains of 5-year-olds too?

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 12:08 pm

Bizzare wrote:First it was banning glass bottles on the beach, now this. You don't ban ADULTS from carrying glass bottles to the beach. You provide proper disposal and officers along with that to enforce the law of NOT LITTERING. Enforce that <<, don't introduce alternative laws cuz the citizens are disobeying those existing. That's just stupid.

That's all. Just enforce the current laws. Police presence and police action. That's all that's necessary.

src1983

Bar Owners To Be Held Liable For Drunken Drivers!

Postby src1983 » April 28th, 2012, 12:09 pm

This won't work....

I've been to where these policies exist..ppl just consume alcohol at a faster rate...therefore getting drunk earlier...

And trust me any where in the world there's alcohol being served whether it be Trinidad, US or UK....the outcome the same there will be drunks and drunken driving

What they need in addition to a lock (2am) of is some serious enforcement....

Don't know what ppl get out of getting drunk though :?

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:10 pm

pioneer, you approve of anything once it's done in developed foreign countries. There's no fault in the American system especially 4 u.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Humes wrote:
Bizzare wrote:First it was banning glass bottles on the beach, now this. You don't ban ADULTS from carrying glass bottles to the beach. You provide proper disposal and officers along with that to enforce the law of NOT LITTERING. Enforce that <<, don't introduce alternative laws cuz the citizens are disobeying those existing. That's just stupid.

That's all. Just enforce the current laws. Police presence and police action. That's all that's necessary.

Enforce it how and where...miles away where a drunk driver is already behind the wheel?

That's like knowing a murder gonna take place in a locale...but instead of trying to prevent it...they wait for the act to be committed then setup a roadblock somewhere else to catch the suspect.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Bizzare wrote:pioneer, you approve of anything once it's done in developed foreign countries. There's no fault in the American system especially 4 u.

It creates compliance, those who don't comply end up in jail and taken away from progressive society.

Simple.

Postby sharkman121 » April 28th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Humes wrote:

Enforce it how and where...miles away where a drunk driver is already behind the wheel?

That's like knowing a murder gonna take place in a locale...but instead of trying to prevent it...they wait for the act to be committed then setup a roadblock somewhere else to catch the suspect.

No its not like that scenario at all.... i agree with Bizzare's statement.

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Humes wrote:

In case you don't know, getting drunk is not the crime. Therefore, you won't catch the law breakers in the bar. :wink:

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Humes wrote:

In case you don't know, getting drunk is not the crime. Therefore, you won't catch the law breakers in the bar. :wink:

So you saying it's OK to allow drunk drivers to get behind the wheel and potentially cause serious carnage, for the sake of "charging" people? :lol:

Guess if someone you know was killed by a drunk driver I hope you sing the same tune.

Ignorant trinis again...can't see the bigger picture.

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Humes wrote:

So you saying it's OK to allow drunk drivers to get behind the wheel and potentially cause serious carnage, for the sake of "charging" people? :lol:

Guess if someone you know was killed by a drunk driver I hope you sing the same tune.

Ignorant trinis again...can't see the bigger picture.

Dude, in a bar can you tell who is gonna get into the driver seat and who is not?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Oh lawd allyuh really don't get out much ent :lol:

In the US, they observe you outside...they stop n ask people if they driving tonight...or who's driving...

Ah well, guess allyuh big night out is on ariapita avenue

brb nevermind

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:25 pm

There a law that prohibits drunk driving. If you wanna get bar owners involved in the prevention of drunk driving, this proposed law IS NOT THE METHOD. IT WILL NOT WORK AND DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

If they said bar owners would be licensed to carry out breathalyzer tests on drivers leaving their compound, that's a start and something I can live with.

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2012, 12:26 pm

make the government for motor vehicles importation!
no motor vehicles no drunk driving!

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:28 pm

pioneer wrote:In the US, they observe you outside...they stop n ask people if they driving tonight...or who's driving...

Hey look, I didn't even know this and this is what I mentioned above. THIS MAKES SENSE. Not this crappy proposal some agreeing with and defending here.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:32 pm

I never agreed with making bar owners liable either, that's plain stupid.

There are other ways to prevent this nonsense.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » April 28th, 2012, 12:37 pm

There is a law already for driving drunk, what we need is Enforcement by the relevant authority. A whole carnival season pass by, with a million all inclusive and how many people charged??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2012, 12:41 pm

Bizzare wrote:pioneer, you approve of anything once it's done in developed foreign countries. There's no fault in the American system especially 4 u.

well said.things that work in another country would not always work for your own..

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Why not enforce the law by preventing drunk people from driving even before it happens?

How many roadblocks were setup in close proximity of a bar/event/party/club?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:43 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

well said.things that work in another country would not always work for your own..

because trinis oppose change

re: irresponsible idiots

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 12:45 pm

well that's what I've been saying. setting up roadblock near popular events, bars etc... enforcing the current law

Not creating a poor alternative - blaming a man for another man's decision :?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2012, 12:46 pm

still trying to figure out why you still living in Trinidad,see that you crave this "1st" world status so much. :? hoss you have to wake up and smell the roses,we would never reach that status no time soon.the views of one man(you),ranting on tuner would never change what is...live with it..

Postby DVSTT » April 28th, 2012, 1:16 pm

The problem with drunk drivers is most of the time when the crash is into some innocent person and depending how bad the accident the person maybe killed. Its ok if they were crashing and just killing themselves.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 1:24 pm

DVSTT wrote:The problem with drunk drivers is most of the time when the crash is into some innocent person and depending how bad the accident the person maybe killed. Its ok if they were crashing and just killing themselves.

brb telling drunk drivers kill themselves, only.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 1:25 pm

pioneer wrote:Oh lawd allyuh really don't get out much ent :lol:

In the US, they observe you outside...they stop n ask people if they driving tonight...or who's driving...

Ah well, guess allyuh big night out is on ariapita avenue

brb nevermind

First page.

Humes wrote:I could understand if they probably wait right outside bars to see who leaves and drives off, but they could do that right now with breathalysers with the same results.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 1:28 pm

But that's not what they doing, I also saying they should do that.

They allow people to drive for miles which creates a potential risk.

So what they really trying to do here? Slap charges n hope for promotion?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 1:31 pm

still trying to figure out why you still living in Trinidad,see that you crave this "1st" world status so much. :? hoss you have to wake up and smell the roses,we would never reach that status no time soon.the views of one man(you),ranting on tuner would never change what is...live with it..

Clearly I can tell you don't have a US Visa.

That sucks.