Re: 2ner's beware when buying used vehicles

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 9:36 am

dammit....I reach late.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 23rd, 2012, 9:57 am

Rainman wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:Just to let you 2ner's know ,went to view a vehicle recently ,very good price ,watched, test drive and mechanic gave me the thumbs up ,when asked about who's name the car on and recent certify copy ,was given a story its another car and "the person down south" ,his wife,being to see a sweet deal i asked him were is the closest bank atm, we hoped in my car which i came with ,while driving i asked the seller to called his wife and asked to call out the owner's name , he started to dial and began to speak , he gave me a name and to my surprise hearing a man voice ''wife'' in the back ground ,the place was silent in the car, din't know if he was gay or something.He gave a name and then i asked him since you don't have a copy of the cc let me see the valid insurance,when we return,he went for the insurance watched it first and called me over ,to my surprise it was a different name what his so called wife stated.

Well being in that situation,dialed a police friend of mine and explained to him , he replied
"leave that car right there ,a seller name must be on a recent cc and if any bobol you see the place with all them cars stored next to the central market,it will end up there, alot of con men selling people used cars,and can't transfer, chassis number changed,RIDE OUT FROM THERE "

Told the seller "not interested anymore" and walked off , all he said is that the cc will be here by 8 pm but he want nobody in his yard that time.

well certain things got to me.

The wife he was talking wile going to the atm was his same guy with him back at the same location were the car was.

He advertise certain features in the car when there was none.

we went to a location ,he said its his home but he is frighten of the dogs on his own property.

after speaking to my police friend on speaker in front him his mood complete changed.

No valid recent Certify Copy with his name

asked him so you have a car and don't know the previous owner and never transfer it to your name and insurance on another person different to the cc.

on the driver side door there was a small sign ,lic for 4 passengers but was painted over meaning it was a taxi before.

watching to see if the fire wall was tamped with he asked me what i looking for.

if you know you selling a car have all paper work in order not in next car down south.

to tell you the truth was going to buy this car to sell over for a lil profit but don't want no headache to transfer,2ners it's your wright to asked for a valid recent Certify Copy with the sellers name , correct chassis number to many people getting con BEWARE.

Real crime here: Murder
Victim: The English Language

FULLY AGREED.

Postby S_2NR » April 23rd, 2012, 10:00 am

i read till the second line then got exhausted trying to translate.

Postby crazybalhead » April 23rd, 2012, 10:00 am

Anyone care to summarise what was said in the first post? I found it difficult to follow.

Postby foss » April 23rd, 2012, 10:02 am

beware when buying used vehicles.

Postby Damien » April 23rd, 2012, 10:04 am

Postby dougla_boy » April 23rd, 2012, 10:08 am

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:and if someone doesnt want you to test drive their car, check that sheit out.........

this is double edge. Im a bit wary about someone presumably intent on buying my vehicle, driving it. Ive seen others while "testing" vehicle, actually damage it and walked away from the owner with "well if it sort out gimme a call, ill consider it"
What protection does the owner have if someone damages his vehicle?
All the diesel vehicles ive owned i have never revved it over 3k. Its just me, I dont think diesels were meant to be revved besides all the torque is low down, there is nutting much on top. If you want a high revver get a honda. This weekend someone came to check my pick up and the I gave the guy a chance to drive it as i pick and choose who I hand over my keys to to test drive, saw the guy revving my diesel engine all kindda 4-4.5K and sheit. We exchanged some words and I got back my keys, I think he is no longer interested :lol: :lol:

thats true, but was a civic i was checking out, i jump eeen th passenger seat and he say he doh let nobody drive he car and do a burnout and run down d highway and come back......so in that case, i would say the man on sheit....i

gundelero

Postby gundelero » April 23rd, 2012, 10:18 am

why is it so hard to give fellow tuners a heads-up of the tuner who posted the sale of the car, and the car make, model, and # plate?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 23rd, 2012, 10:21 am

boi..u had a strange man in ur car driving around to an ATM?? I sure u get de man jittery when u call de police friend...u lucky he eh pull out a blade and guts u out by de ATM hoss..

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 10:25 am

ok, I read some.

Sounds to me like one of them smartmen who does get a sale for your car at a mark up which is them own.
Difference is that most have a place where they keep the cars unlike this guy who took you to see the car at the owners place (thats why the dogs dont know him and he dont know much about the car).
I like to hear these guys talk, I entertain 2 of them already (wanted to buy my car, one try to chain me up to trade for an altezza with a 1jz and pay the difference :lol:)

Postby dougla_boy » April 23rd, 2012, 10:52 am

have a brethren who put his LX corolla for sale, the latest, reg PCS.....ah man call him and say how it have a newer model and the car old, so he hadda drop his price....lol.....mind u the car is about a yr old.....doing around 14, 000kms.....

point is both sides of the fence does fcuk up

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 10:55 am

I have a guyanese aunt like that. high series = brand new, low series is ole cayr, she eh riding in no ole cyar

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » April 23rd, 2012, 11:01 am

too many con-men around.. they're getting away with it that's why :? ...
i had a guy try to buy my car once, we reached licensing office & about to transfer with the officer when he says, oh i have cheque by the way ... the officer said ok go deposit it I'm here as witness, comeback & u get the transfer & the keys... the guy went with me & said he has to visit his banker.. then he said they cancelled the chq... crazy ppl :roll:

Postby Hook » April 23rd, 2012, 11:05 am

was the thread (where you got the information about the car and seller) reported?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 23rd, 2012, 11:07 am

pressure yes, i selling my vic hatch currently, i hope i doh bounce up no smart men

Postby sliderz1 » April 23rd, 2012, 11:21 am

2 pages to state the obvious?

did your police padna decide to investigate the said vehicle?

Postby dougla_boy » April 23rd, 2012, 11:31 am

i cant stress again, do a search on the car!!!! spend $ 400 now, for a peace of mind later........

Yeo

Postby Yeo » April 23rd, 2012, 11:39 am

MadCrix wrote:pressure yes, i selling my vic hatch currently, i hope i doh bounce up no smart men

I see what you did there... :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 23rd, 2012, 6:12 pm

:):):):) hey at least i eh link the thread :)

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 23rd, 2012, 10:35 pm

dougla_boy wrote:i cant stress again, do a search on the car!!!! spend $ 400 now, for a peace of mind later........

Where can a search be done beside the search that is done at Licensing Office when a vehicle is being transferred?