HELP..Netbook connects to router but no internet.

Re: HELP..Netbook connects to router but no internet.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 22nd, 2012, 8:58 pm

didnt get a chance yet to troubleshoot but will update the thread when i do for those who may have this problem too....did a google search and a lot of folks have this problem.....still unsolved tooo!!

Postby cinco » April 22nd, 2012, 9:19 pm

lol real techies in here
brudda yuh just try unpluggin d router for 2 mins and pluggin it back in?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 22nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

cinco wrote:lol real techies in here

everything all other devices workin properly bro......

Postby Sky » April 22nd, 2012, 10:56 pm

AllTrac wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Im thinking its XP being the problem as all other laptops and devices home run other OS.....

dont let people tell you that pack of sheit.
Anyone who says that just not technically inclined and would rather have the os troubleshoot the problem because they cant, even tho the os troubling shooting the problem has as much luck solving it as a 5 year old.

I didnt read the entire thread but do you have dhcp turned on, on the router?
can you ping a web address?
when you do a ipconfig /all, what address do you have on your card?

When I need to reset the network adapter it's easier to troubleshoot, because that's what the OS does 1st. It's easier than reaching for the cable or soft resetting in cmd, so don't knock it :P.
Then it pings some dns, then blames your router when it's out of ideas (after 3 steps).
Another peculiar thing 7 does is when the reset fixes the problem, it's like "Problem? what problem? There's no problem, look, the internet's working"

Postby cinco » April 23rd, 2012, 8:14 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

everything all other devices workin properly bro......

and?
why people dont like to take a look at the easiest solution first

Postby Spitfir3 » April 23rd, 2012, 10:42 am

my fix for blink modem almost everyday 8-)

demogorgon15

Postby demogorgon15 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:34 pm

Another thing to check if your using DHCP is your network connect details this might sound weird but i've ran into this problem a couple times where device would lease ip addresses and not have anything set for the default gw. try manually setting it to the routers ip.

benko

Postby benko » April 23rd, 2012, 6:53 pm

since others seem to have covered the usual, check the network adapter advanced properties, look for similar options to these and filled with as follows:
set 'wireless bandwidth' to 'auto' (if it is set at 20mhz only)
set 'transmit power' to 'highest'
set 'wireless mode' to 'b/g'