Re: WTK: Blink Super (10mbps)

Postby redmanjp » September 7th, 2012, 10:10 am

polarized wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
polarized wrote:If I have a UPS on the blink modem, router/switch , pc etc would I still get internet when power goes? I am asking because flow service goes once no power in the area, although I have a UPS for everything in my house.

normally u should get internet for 15 mins with the modem battery- more if it has a UPS.. if it goes out as soon as power goes it's probably the node in the area that doesn't have backup power- call Flow & tell them- they might have a faulty battery or something- I experienced that for a few months in Aranguez- b4 that I used to get Internet once the UPS still have juice :mrgreen:

the flow modem i have does not have a battery or phone jack. did flow change the battery and that resolve the problem?

I don't live Aranguez any more- when I moved they still had that issue.

Does your modem have a slot for the battery? If so it should have been installed by Flow- regardless it or a UPS wont work if Flow's own infrastructure needs fixing

regarding the Blink modem- that should work with a UPS- TSTT phone lines don't go down with power outages

Postby gastly369 » September 7th, 2012, 10:17 am

flow even doing any "upgrades" to widen there coverage of digital service to TT?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 7th, 2012, 10:28 am

Flows FTW....

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 10:29 am

stev wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
slickrick777 wrote:no flow in my area yet only blink...also a friend in penal now get flow and blink offering them $200 a month no contract for their 4mbps package while i paying the full $350 in my my area for the same package...

I think 15mbs by flow is 299, and 25mbs is 399. I stuck with blink 1mbs :(

fixed

Hoss you serious! Prices relll good! :o

polarized

Postby polarized » September 7th, 2012, 10:31 am

redmanjp wrote:
polarized wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
polarized wrote:If I have a UPS on the blink modem, router/switch , pc etc would I still get internet when power goes? I am asking because flow service goes once no power in the area, although I have a UPS for everything in my house.

normally u should get internet for 15 mins with the modem battery- more if it has a UPS.. if it goes out as soon as power goes it's probably the node in the area that doesn't have backup power- call Flow & tell them- they might have a faulty battery or something- I experienced that for a few months in Aranguez- b4 that I used to get Internet once the UPS still have juice :mrgreen:

the flow modem i have does not have a battery or phone jack. did flow change the battery and that resolve the problem?

Does your modem have a slot for the battery? If so it should have been installed by Flow- regardless it or a UPS wont work if Flow's own infrastructure needs fixing

regarding the Blink modem- that should work with a UPS- TSTT phone lines don't go down with power outages

can anybody else confirm the tstt setup?

polarized

Postby polarized » September 20th, 2012, 12:09 pm

anybody?

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2012, 1:06 pm

polarized wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
polarized wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

can anybody else confirm the tstt setup?

in my former job in an IT dept. when electricity went all LEDs on the blink modem were still blinking (no pun intended :D ) & i could still load websites till the UPS batteries went. and AFAIK tstt lines always worked for voice calls during outages

plus if u on a laptop and only using a UPS to power the modem & router u will get a much longer run time (>1hr) than if u had a desktop plugged into the UPS

polarized

Postby polarized » September 20th, 2012, 3:25 pm

thanks

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » September 21st, 2012, 8:35 am

*cough cough* 2977801

polarized

Postby polarized » September 21st, 2012, 8:45 am

who is that

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » September 21st, 2012, 9:49 am

redmanjp wrote:in my former job in an IT dept. when electricity went all LEDs on the blink modem were still blinking (no pun intended :D ) & i could still load websites till the UPS batteries went. and AFAIK tstt lines always worked for voice calls during outages

plus if u on a laptop and only using a UPS to power the modem & router u will get a much longer run time (>1hr) than if u had a desktop plugged into the UPS

a communications engineer once told me that the tstt and flow supply their respective networks with power in different ways. the tstt supply is central and the flow supply is distributed. this apparently means that tstt phone (and therefore blink) lines will only go down if the central hub (wherever that is) goes down.

i had exactly the same question you had, so i called flow and their technical support told me that flow has supply nodes and each of those have battery backups. sometimes these backups fail.

in my area, what seems to happen is that flow keeps working (i have a ups) if the electrical outage is local, but there was an occasion last week where there was some sort of large outage and my flow modem went down despite the ups.

and of course the larger the ups, the more time you have. a 1000VA ups will supply a modem and router only for >3 hours. if you need to keep the laptop powered then this most likely will go down to about 1 hour