Car Reviews Anyone?

Re: Car Reviews Anyone?

Postby noshownogo » March 19th, 2012, 12:13 pm

teems1, tell us more. Likes and Dislikes? Is there enough power? How is the NVH with the engine/tranny combination for a diesel? What features you get in the car and what you wish it had?

Postby bushwakka » March 19th, 2012, 2:06 pm

yea...but of course de accent diesel expensive tho! how much? 180k?

arguably u will save a lot on fuel cost in the long run....but so much $ to spend on an econobox

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 19th, 2012, 2:21 pm

teems1 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:hyundai accent.......diesel, unless you're a crappy driver you won't need to be worrying about parts for a few years

i got me one of those. the 1.6 turbo diesel

talk about fuel efficient. $60 fills it up, and you can drive 650-700 kms off one tank!

sigh...i need a diesel..
my chevy optra $140.00 to fill and i get about 320km from that....can a gas tank be converted to diesel>?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 19th, 2012, 2:21 pm

teems1 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:hyundai accent.......diesel, unless you're a crappy driver you won't need to be worrying about parts for a few years

talk about fuel efficient. $60 fills it up, and you can drive 650-700 kms off one tank!

how much kms would u get from the 2nd tank?

Postby teems1 » March 19th, 2012, 4:13 pm

noshownogo wrote:teems1, tell us more. Likes and Dislikes? Is there enough power? How is the NVH with the engine/tranny combination for a diesel? What features you get in the car and what you wish it had?

erm, after a quick google, I'm gonna assume NVH is noise, vibration and harshness.

I am actually quite surprised how quiet it is. It is a common rail direct injected. It does have the distinct diesel sound when you're outside and hear it idling, but it's nowhere as loud or noisy as a van. When inside the car you don't hear it at all.

Vibration and harshness it feels just like a petrol car. It's only a few weeks old, so obviously it will be fine for now, how it will be in a few years, only time will tell.

As for engine/tranny combination, I won't be able to give exact specs or stats or anything, just that it drives like a petrol car... I compare it to my gf's tiida, and I prefer the accent. There is a fair amount of torque and horsepower and it's turbocharged, so you get a better burst of acceleration and power when it's needed.

I haven't driven that fast in it yet, still babying it i spose, new car and all. maybe took it up to 130-140 once, but it was quite smooth, everything felt in place, no vibrations or anything and i felt like i was in full control at all times.

Features wise I guess it came fairly standard, normal cd deck, fabric interior, bluetooth, ipod connector, tiptronic, rims kinda on the smaller size, 14" alloys.

The interior does have a slightly cheap plasticy feel to it, but that's expected for the class of car it is in. I would have liked it to come with speakers at the back, the speakers are only the front i think, also maybe slightly larger rims, the 14" do look small. It came with no fog lamps but I don't really use them. One thing is the size of the rear window, it's quite small, but that appears to be the trend. Also I had to put in my own alarm which I didn't mind.

acesinghit wrote:
teems1 wrote:

how much kms would u get from the 2nd tank?

eh? trick question? i expect a 650-700 off the second tank also...

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 8:35 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Bandit will take it from you CHART. 10 out of 10 being very likely that you will be more likely to be held up for the vehicle or you will more likely always have to worry about it being there still after parking and going away. As a parent, i think this is something you may want to consider..

Suzuki SX4 (sedan) - 1 out of 10
Kia Rio - 4 out of 10
Ford Fiesta - 2 out of 10
Nissan Tida (Sedan) - 7 out of 10

Nice...this gives me a better idea too..

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 8:37 pm

noshownogo wrote:You can take all the advice from us that you want, but I'd say test drive all, particularly in and around your route you traverse daily. Get a feel for the interior of the car as this is where you'll spend your time.

Generally as rule of thumb for me, I'd drive the car I am most interested in last and usually try to test drive all on the same day.

Don't be afraid to fight down the dealer price and interest rates from the bank as well.

Thanks! I plan to do that very soon @ test driving..My father suggested the same and I'm dragging him with me since me aint no squat bout car.

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 8:39 pm

aidan wrote:SX4 ftw. Reallll good on gas, powerful,very comfortable ride, lots of space in the trunk and lots of cabin space. Also ground clearance is great. Have one doing 80k kms and no problems. Parts are easy to get as well. And suzukis are very reliable.

Yup..ah LOVE the swift actually..but d prices! :( and didnt want to end up with two of d same car in one household LOL

BTW is this the Sx4 hatchback you talkin about or the sedan?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 20th, 2012, 6:23 am

foss wrote:given the choices go with the Tiida.

parts, service.. etc.

tiida gets my vote

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 20th, 2012, 7:41 am

if you buying tiida, might as well buy it RORO, half the price, you can customise without bothering about warranty or stealership prices for parts

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 20th, 2012, 8:08 am

my choice for price:
#1 Punto
#2 Tiida
#3 Fiesta
#4 Rio
#5 SX4

choices for security:
#1 Fiesta/Rio/Punto
#3 SX4
#4 Tiida

choices for safety:
#1 Fiesta/Punto
#3 SX4/Tiida/Rio

choices wrt resale value:
#1 Tiida
#2 SX4
#3 Rio
#4 Fiesta/Punto

choices wrt overall dealership experience:
#1 Tiida
#2 SX4
#3 Rio/Fiesta/Punto

overall rating based on the above:
#1 Punto
#2 Tiida/Fiesta
#4 Rio
#5 SX4

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2012, 8:12 am

What ever you do, dont buy a FORD from ANSA. The euro fords are a good buy but the after sales and service from ANSA is crap. If anything goes wroung under the warranty ANSA will quickly say that you are to blame for abusing the car. Just ask those who have had problems with ANSA.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 20th, 2012, 11:19 am

sooozoooki ftw.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 20th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Stephon. wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:Get a Corolla..........nothing else compares.

I agree, loving dem hubcaps.

They must not want to show off the rear disk brakes.

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 22nd, 2012, 11:06 am

Thanks guys! This info helped alot... :)
And thinking about roro too
This site bessssss!!! 8-)

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2012, 3:25 pm

Don't buy no facking Tiida.

1) Can use only premium gas... engine gets hot if you use super
2) 4-1/2 quarts of oil to change every oil chage.... WTF... my Qg18 in my SSS bluebird only had to use 3 quarts.
3) The electrical in that car is pure ghobar. I have replaced many expensive parts.... namely blower motor, clock spring, coil pack, power window motor.. all in the space of 150,000km.
4) It is not easy on gas
This was bought new from showroom.

This is bad value for money The bluebird sylphy is much better. My brother in law bought a corrola the same time I bought my Tiida and it is holding up much better.

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2012, 3:27 pm

Wait nah.. what is the price of that SX4 hatch?

Postby Stephon. » March 22nd, 2012, 3:33 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Wait nah.. what is the price of that SX4 hatch?

aidan

Postby aidan » March 22nd, 2012, 4:48 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Wait nah.. what is the price of that SX4 hatch?

you lookin for one orr? gonna have one for sale soon for half that.

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2012, 5:18 pm

If I am buying, I would be buying new thanks. My experience with insurance has taught me a few lessons about the real cost of a RORO/ older car when you are given wrong in an accident.

Postby UML » March 22nd, 2012, 5:37 pm

SSwifter wrote:I'm looking to buy my first car, and have been checking features of a few lower-end vehicles, but all the car lingo confuses me. :oops:
Cars I'm interested in so far:
Suzuki SX4 (sedan)
Kia Rio
Ford Fiesta
Nissan Tida (Sedan)

Not sure if any of the fellas can help me in assessing which one is the better car..As a parent, I'm looking for safety, reliability, etc.

(Open to car suggestions not listed :))

im also looking to buy a car

My options so far are:
Nissan Tida Hatchback
Nissan Bluebird Sylphy
Toyota Yaris
Toyota Corolla
Ford Focus

Honestly the Ford Focus has the best offer until month end....$167,000 5 years FREE insurance 5 years FREE parts and service.......i didnt take it because i prefer Nissan and Toyota.

More leaning toward the Toyota Corolla

Postby UML » March 22nd, 2012, 5:51 pm

zoom rader wrote:What ever you do, dont buy a FORD from ANSA. The euro fords are a good buy but the after sales and service from ANSA is crap. If anything goes wroung under the warranty ANSA will quickly say that you are to blame for abusing the car. Just ask those who have had problems with ANSA.

good ting i didnt buy it

8-)

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2012, 6:07 pm

UML wrote:Nissan Bluebird Sylphy
Toyota Corolla

Narrow down your search to these two from your original list buddy.

star scream

Postby star scream » March 22nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

yuh like ugly cars bro.

Postby UML » March 22nd, 2012, 9:22 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Toyota Corolla

yea i decided more or less on the corolla

dont like the sylphy because it has that ugly ass wood grain finish in it.....dat was the deal breaker.

then it had a stock hard codroid (sp) looking upholstery and it was a basic model.

so i rather pay a little more for the corolla

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 22nd, 2012, 9:33 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Toyota Corolla

About two years ago I had these two options. Spoke to a few mechanics and they recommended to go with Corolla, they even recommended the previous model Corolla which they say was better. Since I got the 18 month old local used car only ever had to do normal maintenance changing fluids and filters. Get about 535 km per tank of super. Sylphy is alot more comfortable and classy, be careful with the dash as FU one may form bubbles.