Tiny $35 Raspberry Pi computer

Re: Tiny $35 Raspberry Pi computer

Postby r3iXmann » February 27th, 2013, 6:49 pm

I wanna build a little server farm with these.

I wanna start with about 3

* - NAS server (thinking freenas)
* - intellihome server....thinking solaris or a derivative

and the third, im not sure what yet :|

Postby stev » February 27th, 2013, 10:30 pm

i think there was a competition goin on...saw it on the website...wud have won a ton of great stuff.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 28th, 2013, 8:58 pm

In keeping with the low cost computing theme, does anyone have an old lcd monitor with a digital video input that they can let go cheap? (Or donate?? :D)

Trying to set up a little Pi workstation without tying up my home pc.

Postby stev » February 28th, 2013, 10:15 pm

misc. section in the classifieds....jus do a search.

there are a lot of people selling monitors...i was looking and got one a couple of weeks ago.

Postby r3iXmann » February 28th, 2013, 10:25 pm

have a HP 19 inch widescreen for 800 nego.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 28th, 2013, 10:26 pm

How does this stack up to say android powered mini pc's?

Would be an awesome setup to connect to my Bravia, which unfortunately was the last series before they introduced the WiFi models :(

phreak

Postby phreak » March 1st, 2013, 3:21 am

Cool will check them out..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 1st, 2013, 5:54 am

corollaman you can also check supertech,they have some AOC 18.5" LCD's going for $630.Their not half bad either.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2013, 8:47 am

how much did it cost you with the case? i neeeeeeeeeeeddd one of these in my life yes

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » March 1st, 2013, 9:21 am

Pi was 45.00 USD and the case was 9.99 USD.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 1st, 2013, 12:40 pm

http://lifehacker.com/5987729/this-rasp ... tro-titles

dayum son :shock:

-----------
the makers of the pi say it needs 700mA at 5V to run, a normal phone battery is 1200mA or so

bess yuh make a tablet with a touch screen and a couple phone batteries yes

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » March 1st, 2013, 2:51 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:http://lifehacker.com/5987729/this-raspberry-pi%20powered-diy-gaming-briefcase-plays-all-your-favorite-retro-titles

-----------
the makers of the pi say it needs 700mA at 5V to run, a normal phone battery is 1200mA or so

Nice! I saw some people build MAME cabinets that ran older games well.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 1st, 2013, 2:57 pm

Corollaman wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:http://lifehacker.com/5987729/this-raspberry-pi%20powered-diy-gaming-briefcase-plays-all-your-favorite-retro-titles

-----------

Nice! I saw some people build MAME cabinets that ran older games well.

true,but it doesnt work with hyperspin,which sucks balls,might work with mamewah or Maximus arcade.It also doesnt run SSF2,Raiden and a bunch of others,and runs SF2 super slow.

Postby stev » March 1st, 2013, 3:05 pm

how to build a Raspberry Pi DSLR Camera

http://davidhunt.ie/?p=2641

tuner361

Postby tuner361 » March 1st, 2013, 3:42 pm

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » March 1st, 2013, 10:46 pm

Well I solved the extra monitor problem. Followed some tutorials and managed to create a virtual network connection between the Pi and the machines on my home network.

So now I have full Pi functionality from windows! 8-)

Guess the next step will be to control it from the internet!

I am such a newb at this networking thing :(

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 1st, 2013, 11:09 pm

$59.95 for the PCduino

I doh mind paying a lil extra for 1GHz cpu, 1GB ram and ubuntu support

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » March 3rd, 2013, 2:07 pm

That is sum to make me feel like a sir

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 3rd, 2013, 7:16 pm

http://cubieboard.org/

more boards Lol

tuner361

Postby tuner361 » March 4th, 2013, 10:11 pm

supercomputer from 64 Raspberry Pi computers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby stev » March 6th, 2013, 2:26 pm

r3iXmann wrote:I wanna build a little server farm with these.

I wanna start with about 3

* - NAS server (thinking freenas)
* - intellihome server....thinking solaris or a derivative

and the third, im not sure what yet :|

found this online...seems really cool.

How to turn a Raspberry Pi into a low power NAS:

http://www.howtogeek.com/139433/how-to- ... ge-device/

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » March 16th, 2013, 1:54 am

Since my last post, I've been doing a bit of experimentation with the I/O ports on the Pi.
Got it to communicate with a 20x4 LCD! The LCD is powered from the Pi, but I don't think I can put much more load on it. Next step is to try and send a command to the LCD from over the internet.

This is fun though! 8-)

My entire circuit

Closeup of the LCD Display (Sorry for the quality, took the photo with a potato)

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 11:22 pm

Raspberry Pi has some great accessories.

Camera add on :shock:

http://www.element14.com/community/grou ... TRATION-TW

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 29th, 2013, 7:27 pm

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 247&type=3

FOOOOOOOOOOOOCK

$375 is a good price?

Postby r3iXmann » July 29th, 2013, 7:32 pm

LOL@price.

for that price, you can get one with an sd card and a case if you order

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2014, 7:32 pm

stev wrote:Raspberry Pi has some great accessories.

Camera add on :shock:

http://www.element14.com/community/grou ... TRATION-TW

u cud make a CCTV DVR system with this?

Postby 16 cycles » December 1st, 2014, 8:56 pm

Check out bannan pi...

Not same company but same concept..

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2015, 7:22 pm

new Raspberry Pi 2 Model B

http://www.zdnet.com/article/the-new-raspberry-pi-2-now-with-windows-10-support/

The humble Raspberry Pi, the board that has taught countless people (adults and children alike) to program and which powers innumerable homebrew hacks and project, has received a hardware upgrade that makes it ready to run a custom version of Windows 10.
One of the keys to making Windows 10 run on the Raspberry Pi platform is better hardware. The new Raspberry Pi 2 Model B has at its heart a quad-core ARMv7 processor that is said to be six times more powerful than the old Model B+ version.

Raspberry Pi 2 spec:

A 900MHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A7 BCM2836 CPU (up from a single-core 700Mhz part)
1GB LPDDR2 SDRAM (up from 512MB)
Complete compatibility with Raspberry Pi 1 (software will need to be recompiled to take advantage of the new multi-core processor)
Identical form factor to the existing Raspberry Pi, which means it can fit into existing enclosures
10/100 Ethernet port
40-pin extended GPIO
4 x USB 2.0 ports
4 pole Stereo output and Composite video port
Full size HDMI
CSI camera port for connecting the Raspberry Pi camera
DSI display port for connecting the Raspberry Pi touch screen display
Micro SD slot
Micro USB power source
Price: $35

Microsoft has announced that it is developing a custom version of the Windows 10 operating system and that this will be released free of charge to the Maker community through the Windows Developer Program for IoT.

Microsoft will share more details about this Windows 10 version "in the coming months."

If you're interested, head over to the Microsoft IoT dev page to sign up.

An interesting side effect of this announcement by Microsoft is that Windows on ARM is far from dead.

The Raspberry Pi 2 will continue to run NOOBS and Raspbian in addition to Windows 10, as well as full range of ARM GNU/Linux distributions.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 7th, 2015, 6:19 pm

shouldnt they call it the Raspberry Tau?

since tau is 2 pi

*badumtss*

Postby dougla_boy » October 16th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Any update with anybody doing any projects with this?