Re: WTG: good wood

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2012, 3:03 pm

if he goes with white pine he better be ready to spend approx 800-1000
its approx 110-120 for a piece of 1x12x10

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 22nd, 2012, 8:14 pm

^ this is exactly what i was thinking about.
$ is not really a problem. the mrs. dont mind once it is for the house. if is toys thats a totally diff ting :? . 800+ is the normal price for a store bought piece of crap so if i spend that on materials i dont mind.
i have built my own kithen island with 95% 3/4 ply. that came out really good but i hated having to move the table saw etc every day for about a week. looking to cut down my time also. 1x12 and a circular saw and i will be assembling in 30 mins. will be finished in less than a day if no hiccups. ent CBH :) white pine is normally very easy to work with. just wanted to know if there was anything else.
i also using this:

that and my cordless drill and i on.
used this on the island too. no glue! going strong so far.

the wet warped crap i had gotten was some treated pitch pine.
gonna check some local hardware this wk end and check a mill or two as recommended.
also heard about teak and purple heart etc. but i hear them thing real hard and even harder to work with.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2012, 8:18 pm

white pine is probably the worst when it comes to termites/woodlice

if you looking for higher end wood your best bet is really to find a joiner who sources his own rough wood and cuts, planes to get his own straight pieces.that is how most of the fellas building cabinets etc operate.

nobody else will just have straight finished wood available just like that

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 22nd, 2012, 8:27 pm

^ noted. it really is susceptible to those creatures.
someone told me he only uses teak.
he said check mill in freeport then order and collect in a couple days. thats the normal process?
is teak really so hard to work with? what are the common probs?

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2012, 8:34 pm

^ boy ent is ah bookshelf?
go buy 8 piece of wood, some wood glue, 1-3/4 dry wall screws and make it eh

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2012, 8:39 pm

yeah when people read into something too much it becomes obsessive

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 22nd, 2012, 8:41 pm

^ ok, ok. u right. stickin to original plan. but i wanted it to look good and last a lil while too.

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2012, 9:20 pm

i made mine in 2004 and its still standing today
out of 1x12x10 pine

would hav posted pics....but 2 shame on the paint job it got

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 22nd, 2012, 9:25 pm

pitch or white?
lemme see a pic nah. if u too shame pm me. how bad can it be?

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2012, 9:50 pm

white pine

5ft tall
5ft wide
you cant use the pine to screw the shelving, they were splitting, you'll need some other type of strip

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 23rd, 2012, 8:06 am

my dad did one just like that but his was 4' wide and he used a light stain.
will test the jig on a small piece of pine (straight edge) to see how the joint comes out.
looking to do a smaller 5x8 one like this:

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2012, 12:24 pm

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 12:31 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:my dad did one just like that but his was 4' wide and he used a light stain.
will test the jig on a small piece of pine (straight edge) to see how the joint comes out.
looking to do a smaller 5x8 one like this:

Good God! Im in love!!!!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 2:12 pm

op, you checked goodwood park for wood? ok, ok, I will gtfo :lol:

anyhow, thought you might like this paint job for your bookshelf:

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/enclosur ... y-can.html

:mrgreen:

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 23rd, 2012, 8:51 pm

X: that bess but way above my skill level.
wrecker: that looking like glass :shock: . you ever try that?

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 9:07 pm

nope, I still busy fitting & cutting here. My audio system is on hold as I have some house work doing. When I ready to paint I will try a sample first & see how it turns out.

meanwhile, you try it nah. :mrgreen: