Fight over GATE funds at SBCS

Humes

Re: Fight over GATE funds at SBCS

Postby Humes » February 12th, 2012, 4:56 pm

SBCS and a few other institutions were warning the government about this from the start. The system put in place to determine distribution of GATE funds overlooked the format of many of these courses. Certain programmes, for example, don't require the level of attendance stipulated by GATE. There are cases of students graduating from programmes with great grades, and being asked to repay for entire semesters because they were absent half the time.

To make matters worse (and I think this is the crux of the matter), plenty students approached education like a free-for-all, dropping out of courses and starting others at other schools without paying back, dropping out without officially withdrawing, repeating the first year for three years, reaching an hour late every class and not being marked present etc.

This resulted in a lot of money being sent to SBCS and other schools that didn't need to be sent. And for years, the government was lax about it. When the extent of the waste became apparent, they got hyper, started doing audits and calling ridiculous figures for what was owed. Even in the article you can see how the figure dropped from 40 mil to 20 mil. SBCS is the one in the news because they're the biggest of those schools.

Either way, the writing is on the wall for GATE. And all things considered, it's probably for the best. Too many people treating this tertiary education thing like a joke. Tryin a ting without having any idea of the commitment needed, or even the scope of the subjects they've chosen to study.

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2012, 5:03 pm

I find for all institutions they should let the student pay half the fees, then be refunded after the first semester.

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » February 12th, 2012, 5:44 pm

MadCrix wrote:all they had to do was tie it to sucessful graduation or passign of subjects like canada

pay to write subject, if you pass u get back half... plain and simple

but nooo yuh had to make it with bobol in mind steupse

true

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » February 12th, 2012, 10:10 pm

From the beginning, the government should not depend on the institutions to manage GATE. Let the students who want the money, go to the schools, ensure they meet the entry requirements, enroll, then take that information to the Ministry to get the money themselves, they would then take the finds back to the schools. Also, they should require that the student report back every semester with test results, before more funding is dispersed.

This way the ministry has much more control.

The schools would continue to do business as usual and it will place more onus on the student to get the finds, discouraging some "free for all" types.

Postby nervewrecker » February 12th, 2012, 10:13 pm

pioneer wrote:I find for all institutions they should let the student pay half the fees, then be refunded after the first year.

fixed

Postby BrotherHood » February 12th, 2012, 10:40 pm

Wonder if ah cud get to do another programme now bai??

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 13th, 2012, 6:14 am

pioneer wrote:I find for all institutions they should let the student pay half the fees, then be refunded after the first semester.

Or maybe after they graduate?

Call it a loan; unless you graduate . I.e., ifyou fail out, 5% a year on what you got. If you passed, free ftw.

Postby redmanjp » February 13th, 2012, 9:21 am

crazychinee wrote:
pioneer wrote:I find for all institutions they should let the student pay half the fees, then be refunded after the first semester.

Or maybe after they graduate?

Call it a loan; unless you graduate . I.e., ifyou fail out, 5% a year on what you got. If you passed, free ftw.

that's kinda like how it is now, if u fail u will have to pay it back as a loan, right?

Jees, ah hadda start studying now

Re: SBCS 20 Million GATE Fraud

Postby bushwakka » February 13th, 2012, 9:27 am

S_2NR wrote:They should audit ALL businesses in this country
Ppl would be amazed

they should audit the govt :lol: