Facebook Parenting: For the troubled teen.

Re: Facebook Parenting: For the troubled teen.

Postby wagonrunner » February 13th, 2012, 10:38 pm

teepikal.
t seems that, once the first million people enjoyed his laptop-blasting exploits, the police and child-protective services operatives paid him a visit.
They may have wondered whether his 15-year-old daughter, Hannah-- she who believes she is a "slave" and ought to be paid for doing household chores-- is safe and happy.
The Daily offered, from a perusal of Jordan's Facebook page, that all now seemed calm at Casa Jordan.

For Jordan posted on Facebook (of all places): "The police by the way said 'Kudos, sir'. How's about those apples? Didn't expect THAT when you called the cops did you?"
How about those apples? I wonder if Child Protection Services also mentioned the fruits of his labors when they paid him a visit, which they reportedly did.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » February 19th, 2012, 8:28 pm

more developments in Facebook Parenting :)

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » February 19th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Sorry, but I can't really see the point of this whole thing; basically in my head it just works out to the parent fighting 'fire with fire' as it were, a grown man sinking to a 16 year olds level(you post something on facebook, i post back). I'm sure the parents have sat down to talk with here before the well documented events that followed, but was it really necessary to shoot your child's laptop and post it on youtube/facebook for ALL the world to see? What kind of example do you think YOU are setting? An eye for an eye basically.

Just look at the following consequences; police/ child protective services visit after, as well as national attention. I'm sure that some members of the public would deem this man a danger to the child, and have her taken away - quick to use a gun for everything. Would genuinely be interesting to see where this child is in a few years.

Just my 2 cents.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » February 20th, 2012, 12:05 am

Kudos, this guy deserves an award.

For the people saying he was wrong, as yourself this.-

What did my parents do when I screwed up?

and

What was the outcome in the long run of my life?

If she was in Trinidad, well god help her, the amount of licks.Children need this kind of discipline in their lives.Anyone else notice since they took away corporal punishment in schools , school related violence has sky rocketed, teachers being abused, no more respect for adults etc?

Talk your talk, but I know I used to get the crap beaten out of me, and it worked.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 20th, 2012, 12:26 am

TEAM ADT wrote:since they took away corporal punishment in schools , school related violence has sky rocketed, teachers being abused, no more respect for adults etc?

quoted for the whole truth an nothing but the truth

Postby bluefete » February 20th, 2012, 6:17 am

TEAM ADT wrote:Kudos, this guy deserves an award.

For the people saying he was wrong, as yourself this.-

What did my parents do when I screwed up?

and

What was the outcome in the long run of my life?

If she was in Trinidad, well god help her, the amount of licks.Children need this kind of discipline in their lives.Anyone else notice since they took away corporal punishment in schools , school related violence has sky rocketed, teachers being abused, no more respect for adults etc?

Talk your talk, but I know I used to get the crap beaten out of me, and it worked.

Someone please embed.

http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/v ... 908V0Xak1x

Nuff said.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » February 20th, 2012, 1:26 pm

TEAM ADT wrote:.Children need this kind of discipline in their lives.Anyone else notice since they took away corporal punishment in schools , school related violence has sky rocketed, teachers being abused, no more respect for adults etc?

taking away corporal punishment in schools is good in principle.

the problem is that trini classrooms (and probably trini society) have traditionally been controlled by fear and not reason. removing corporal punishment without putting some sort of enforcement/support for teachers left a vacuum that is perhaps causing our current bacchanal.

the students who are violent at school are perhaps the ones who live in an environment of fear and violence at home (this is how they are controlled by their parents). compounding the problem would be that other students come from stable nonviolent homes. so reason will work with some but not others.

imo, the idea of taking away corporal punishment is to break the cycle of violence.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 21st, 2012, 8:44 pm

Victory_Specification wrote:Sorry, but I can't really see the point of this whole thing; basically in my head it just works out to the parent fighting 'fire with fire' as it were, a grown man sinking to a 16 year olds level(you post something on facebook, i post back). I'm sure the parents have sat down to talk with here before the well documented events that followed, but was it really necessary to shoot your child's laptop and post it on youtube/facebook for ALL the world to see? What kind of example do you think YOU are setting? An eye for an eye basically.

Just look at the following consequences; police/ child protective services visit after, as well as national attention. I'm sure that some members of the public would deem this man a danger to the child, and have her taken away - quick to use a gun for everything. Would genuinely be interesting to see where this child is in a few years.

Just my 2 cents.

Wellsaid. "Parent' made himself the equivalent of his teen in essence. And the attention will perhaps encourage further rebellion by said child.

While the facebook retort was a novel idea (and could have been a good response)....shooting the laptop was crude IMHO.

Licks - yes (but then corporal punishment regulations?)

Youtube response - yeah probably. NOthing quite like that dirty-laundry-in-public-thing.

Shooting laptop - errr probably not.

On another note:

Still, he declares himself to be a Ron Paul supporter.

Read more: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17852_3-57376 ... z1n4EUMvUj

No surprise really.