"Servicing at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary"

Re: "Servicing at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary"

Postby eliteauto » January 26th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i never really have much negatives to say....had a few small hiccups at nm but once sorted services were fine....

have no issues at ansa...they are actually very professional and great customer service....

maska, no complains either....

reminds me of champagne taste but mauby pocket

agreed fully, if allyuh cyah afford the bad service at stealerships, your life sucks.
cyah believe allyuh so cheap as to demand value for money and good service
*sips Voss Bleu*

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2012, 8:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:i never really have much negatives to say....had a few small hiccups at nm but once sorted services were fine....

have no issues at ansa...they are actually very professional and great customer service....

maska, no complains either....

reminds me of champagne taste but mauby pocket

agreed fully, if allyuh cyah afford the bad service at stealerships, your life sucks.
cyah believe allyuh so cheap as to demand value for money and good service
*sips Voss Bleu*

indeed.

Postby pete » January 26th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Sometimes the dealers aren't as expensive as you think. Last year I had to change my sway bar bushings, thought "nah, LSM gonna be too expensive lemme just check the guy out the road to do that for me" his price was $300. Called LSM after I made arrangements with him and found out it was $250 to change them. :( Only thing is I'd have to make an appointment and I wanted them done before a dex event so I just went to the guy. Since then I've decided to call them first to see how much to do work on the car if I can't do it myself.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Again I can't complain for the service I've received at the dealership. A lot of the outside mechanics are what we term "mango tree" mechanics who experiment on your car with the wrong tools and mess up a lot instead.

How many of these mechanics actually go thru the service manual??

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2012, 8:41 pm

When I had my Navara, nm changed any part that was recalled by Nissan at no cost, my civic the same was done by ansa...
Maska doesn't charge labour so I just pay for oil, filter etc and the prices are the same as the parts store.

Even so, any items I had issues with we're changed without problems or issues from either firms......

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2012, 8:43 pm

aaron,you ever serviced a car by TTTL or Diamond? if you did and saw the prices on some of the things, you'd be singing a different tune

classic isnt backward as well but they're kinda sometime-ish

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2012, 8:49 pm

diamond, ansa, ford.... fall under the same umbrella so their prices are more or less the same...hondas are under the "all in one" package so never had to pay for the service or parts...

rangers service avg 1200 depending on which....

hilux avg $800 for a basic service, ie. oil, oil filters, alignment etc

how many of these outside mechanics go for proper training to update their trade with changes in technology and new vehicles?? i'm sure it's less than 10%. some would say it's not rocket science to change oil but when you have to diagnose a problem, that's when all the experimenting begin

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2012, 8:55 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:diamond, ansa, ford.... fall under the same umbrella so their prices are more or less the same...hondas are under the "all in one" package so never had to pay for the service or parts...

rangers service avg 1200 depending on which....

hilux avg $800 for a basic service, ie. oil, oil filters, alignment etc

how many of these outside mechanics go for proper training to update their trade with changes in technology and new vehicles?? i'm sure it's less than 10%. some would say it's not rocket science to change oil but when you have to diagnose a problem, that's when all the experimenting begin

mango tree mechanics are a different topic :lol:

i cant agree with diamond having reasonable prices or quality service

and i know for a fact that performing a service by N&M vs. performing it at a N&M authorized repair center (MasterServ) is a huge difference in price

the point is that dealershits make a ridiculous killing off of services (after they already robbed you on the price of the car)

Postby Stephon. » January 26th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Didn't have much issues with LSM, only one time when my battery started giving problems. Anything with Southern Sales though? My current vehicle is with them and I'm looking to get another with them soon :/

Some of the stories in here are worrying me.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2012, 9:01 pm

^^ battery isn't a warranty item though eh lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 26th, 2012, 9:05 pm

r3iXmann wrote:aaron,you ever serviced a car by TTTL or Diamond? if you did and saw the prices on some of the things, you'd be singing a different tune

Indeed.

I tried purchasing some interior parts from tttl for a rav4, 2-door cards and 2 a-piller covers cost almost $10,000 landed and I had to wait 2weeks to a month. Thought it was a mistake but the guy on the phone was pretty sure.

Gonna need some suspention parts/steering rack soon, cant wait to hear the quotes :lol:

Anyone have experiences with sterling motors?

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Stephon. wrote:Anything with Southern Sales though? My current vehicle is with them and I'm looking to get another with them soon :/

Some of the stories in here are worrying me.

Haven't carried a vehicle to them in years.
Will not be changing that. but there's a good link in a forum member here, if he chooses to respond.

Quick question though. Anyone ever saw their vehicle being diagnosed at SSSL (at their garage)?
Last edited by wagonrunner on January 26th, 2012, 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 26th, 2012, 9:20 pm

bring in the parts youself...end of story

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 26th, 2012, 9:51 pm

r3iXmann wrote:...and i know for a fact that performing a service by N&M vs. performing it at a N&M authorized repair center (MasterServ) is a huge difference in price

Are you sure of that? I saw a posted price list of different types of service (5,000km, 10,000km and 20,000km) offered by MasterServ and saw something similar posted in N&M and they were basically similar.

MasterServ people are always at the N&M parts counter to get parts, so I can't really see how their labour prices would be significantly different.

I service my car at N&M and I don't find their prices abnormally high. Every fourth consecutive service, the labour is free.

Personally, I will always service my car by the dealer once it is still within the warranty period.

wagonrunner wrote:Quick question though. Anyone ever saw their vehicle being diagnosed at SSSL (at their garage)?

Of all the dealerships that I have had business with, I will rate SS&SL as the worst. Then DM (sorting out the transmission shifting issue with my CK Lancer was an effort in futility with the amount of excuses they gave me) and N&M (and I have had one major run in with N&M where they botched up a clutch repair and tried to make me pay for them having to import a new clutch/pp/bearing and install said items).
Last edited by Rory Phoulorie on January 26th, 2012, 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » January 26th, 2012, 9:57 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:aaron,you ever serviced a car by TTTL or Diamond? if you did and saw the prices on some of the things, you'd be singing a different tune

Indeed.

I tried purchasing some interior parts from tttl for a rav4, 2-door cards and 2 a-piller covers cost almost $10,000 landed and I had to wait 2weeks to a month. Thought it was a mistake but the guy on the phone was pretty sure.

Gonna need some suspention parts/steering rack soon, cant wait to hear the quotes :lol:

Sterling prices are hot but then if you own those rides you should be able to pay the price. $1,000.00 for wipers is a crime.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 26th, 2012, 10:00 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Indeed.

Can't you import the items out of the USA? Some items are not LHD/RHD specific such as interior trim. I use magauto.com to import my OEM stuff.

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:...and i know for a fact that performing a service by N&M vs. performing it at a N&M authorized repair center (MasterServ) is a huge difference in price

Are you sure of that? I saw a posted price list of different types of service (5,000km, 10,000km and 20,000km) offered by MasterServ and saw something similar posted in N&M and they were basically similar.

my former boss used to service @ N&M until he was advised that he could do services at masterserv

basic oil change etc was a couple hundred cheaper..like $5xx vs $8xx iirc

:rofl: @sterling..if y'all only knew what goes on behind the scenes there :?

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 10:20 pm

r3iXmann wrote::rofl: @sterling..if y'all only knew what goes on behind the scenes there :?

Ent. but the rouge bull terrier.............. *knocked out with Escort 1.3 block*

Postby X2 » January 26th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Dealer service prices can vary... they not always horrible when you get the proper professional service you paying for... but it's the STONE FACED theft that I can no longer take.

I have a vehicle through Ansa that I have detailed multiple instances of theft (undocumented replacement) of parts on one of my vehicles. Where the mech on duty decides that he partner needs your new shock more than you. Management does not intend to do anything about it so why should I want to ever buy a car from people that run business like that ?

I hope not all dealers are this way but you hear similar stories from others and it's gives you no hope.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 26th, 2012, 11:07 pm

I have no problem with Southern Sales and TTTL.
Been dealing with them over 10 years each with no problem.
Used to deal with N&M too, but I sold my Frontier about 3 years ago.

Don't think "service at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary", because they have the equipment and experience. To keep your warranty intact, you need to service only at the dealership, that's because other people can do $h!t and the dealership won't honour the warranty because the manufacturer won't accept any claims. Same thing with an air conditioning unit, you need to service it from the company you bought it from to keep the warranty.

If you want to buy a vehicle from the dealership and service on the outside, nothing's wrong... But if you develop engine or transmission problem, you're on your own.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2012, 11:40 pm

i would just like to add in..firetruck diamond...

got a sportero christmas eve and took it home just before they closed at lunchtime.

everything was a rush rush to get it before they closed.

on the way going home..rain falling hard..wipers rubbing like if they have sand paper on them

when i reach home..realize remote entry eh working (and it had batteries in the remotes)

so..that was christmas eve(a saturday), them issues couldnt deal with until tuesday 27th when they opened back.

they changed the wipers, fixed the remote entry (had to program it i believe)

besides that, the sales rep had told us that a first service would cost around $600

now at around 800 km..wipers still screeching, van smoking plenty imho but I dunno bout that as the manager claim that it only does that when it warms up

another important issue to me was the cheap pioneer deck they installed would not go to 87.7 , so cannot listen to tv6 news.

got them to change the deck to a sony deck so that was remedied last week.

they changed the wipers 3 times in San fernando with no difference,polished the glass all kinda sheit

When I took the vehicle to port of spain diamond motors, one of the service reps even went as far as to claim that I park the vehicle somewhere and someone throw something on the glass and thats why the wipers working so

they eventually sent it to a company in pos to do sum kinda buffing/polishing on the glass that fixed it (not sure, all i know is problem fix a few days ago)

oh yeah..the first service that suppose to cost $600..was $1700.

now...from christmas eve to today...the driver mats in the van crumbling apart, dunno wtf kinda cheap mc thing that is.

they say they would replace the mats when they get a new set

diamond could hull dey mudda BUGWAAANAAA yes
not me and them again.

Also have a civic under classics "in one package" the 3 free services are done tho, I think I will be buying my parts and having a trusted mechanic change them for me

original disc pads in classic- $850 plus labour

original disc pads imported - $400 tt plus labour.

Postby Bizzare » January 26th, 2012, 11:49 pm

I think that post gonna end this thread. I was anticipating the lock for a while now :lol:
But I wouldn't see it as bashing though... I've become a bit more "aware" by the info in here.
Last edited by Bizzare on January 26th, 2012, 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2012, 11:51 pm

i think my biggest mistake was paying cash for the vehicle.

should have took it on one of their plans and tell them take back they freaking vehicle when dey giving me all that stress.

or burn it down for insurance.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2012, 11:55 pm

btw so far i've convinced 6 friends who were set on buying the sportero, not to buy it.

diamond cud hdmc

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 27th, 2012, 12:34 am

ABA you sure that was a new sportero?
Anyways I hope this thread doesn't get locked. Some of the info is enlightening.
Sterling isn't as expensive as some think. If you buy a benz from them you obviously gonna pay more for parts than say a Skoda and so far the skodas I've seen and toyed with that were serviced there have been maintained well and not at exorbitant costs.

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2012, 8:49 am

...only bad experience i ever had was when I now got the Ranger (2nd hand but still under warr.), marked the parts, carried it in, got the bill and then realised that 2 items paid for, weren't changed.

..but, i realised this IN their service dept...! when i went to pick it up, i pull out my front mat, grab my flashlight, and went over the van to see what was done. the service manager wasn't too happy and other owners couldn't believe what they were seeing....but when the issue was raised, parts were then changed.

about 2 days later, a nice lady called to ask about the service, when i told her what happened and that i will never come back, election promises were given out....but now i only go there to buy OEM parts. nothing else.

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2012, 8:56 am

lol wagon that would be your only bad experience because you never went back.

if it wasn't for the warranty i wouldnt go back either.

Postby SR » January 27th, 2012, 9:01 am

tttl charges almost twice the price for sparkplugs for my corolla compared to the same plug available by many parts shops

most dealerships hardly have parts in stock for vehicles over 3 years

from simple things as panel clips
which can be bought cheaper on the outside by some upholstery shops

and doh get me started on insurance companies wanting to add a depreciated value on new parts for replacment under a full comp policy

Postby RBphoto » January 27th, 2012, 9:51 am

SR wrote:and doh get me started on insurance companies wanting to add a depreciated value on new parts for replacment under a full comp policy

This is normal. For about $800.00 more on your full comp. insurance, you can have that waived, and recieve new replacement parts without being charged the depreciation. Not many insurance copmpanuies advertise this. Saved me nearly 30,000.00 in the two near writeoff I had (one was not me driving.. ah not that bad lucky).

I always renew this clause.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 27th, 2012, 9:58 am

I bought a Lancer from DM last April and the rubber mats crumbled by August
just as ABA said. Hmmm..guess its some cheap (not even rubber) mats they buying.

Have 1 issue with the idle in the car that they can't fix up to now.