I need some advice here fellas

iM@st@1

Re: I need some advice here fellas

Postby iM@st@1 » January 24th, 2012, 11:22 am

In a similar position, i've experience in the Sales/IT/Business field all my life, but I've come to realise I kinda get bored doing one thing after a while so I've begun my pursuit of becoming an engnr (mainly for monetary purposes tho)...doing MEEET at the moment & will follow up after in UWI/UTT. Never did A levels, wish I had. Is a long road ahead though, you definitely at a disadvantage when you've had no experience. I do ok but I want alot more in terms of salary & position. Good luck with your mission bro

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Oh and nervewrecker, we know you did physics :roll:

I did business studies in high school, Biology was the only mandatory science subject. :roll:

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 24th, 2012, 12:46 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:In a similar position, i've experience in the Sales/IT/Business field all my life, but I've come to realise I kinda get bored doing one thing after a while so I've begun my pursuit of becoming an engnr (mainly for monetary purposes tho)...doing MEEET at the moment & will follow up after in UWI/UTT. Never did A levels, wish I had. Is a long road ahead though, you definitely at a disadvantage when you've had no experience. I do ok but I want alot more in terms of salary & position. Good luck with your mission bro

Thanks a lot man. Best of luck to you too!

starlinejobs

Postby starlinejobs » January 24th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Paullct wrote:I'm very much interested in pursuing an engineering degree. Now I have studied business since high school and have all my O Level passes etc but no Science subjects, and no A Levels. What can i do from here?

What is the best way for me to turn this around? Where should i start? I'm willing to start from scratch and work my way up. Do universities offer pre-courses for these things? I don't mind doing a full 3-year pre-course or what have you just to get into the degree course.

Any help or relevant information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again guys.

iM@st@1 wrote:In a similar position, i've experience in the Sales/IT/Business field all my life, but I've come to realise I kinda get bored doing one thing after a while so I've begun my pursuit of becoming an engnr (mainly for monetary purposes tho)...doing MEEET at the moment & will follow up after in UWI/UTT. Never did A levels, wish I had. Is a long road ahead though, you definitely at a disadvantage when you've had no experience. I do ok but I want alot more in terms of salary & position. Good luck with your mission bro

From my experience, moving from to a whole new field of work/ studies (especially for monetary purposes) is going to be one of the most difficult and frustrating transitions you 'll ever make in your life unless it is your passion. If you studied business all your life and you excelled in it.. then don't be a fool and stick with it, master it and get rich.

If you really really want to get into engineering I will pm you a trick and you'll probably pound your head on the desk for not figuring it out on your on. If you have any questions I can try my best to ans.

btw.. iM@st@1 NEVER regret not doing A levels... our HR specialist don't even notice it and top universities also .. I can elaborate if you want.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 24th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Elaborate na man. I'm sure it will be helpful to a lot of people.

If this helps, "all my life" isn't that long, I'm only 19, turning 20 in March (March 2nd for those who wa make a ched :D ) I'm a commercial diver / ROV Pilot and Technician. I'm going to Aberdeen in April as I was offered a job as a ROV Pilot / Tech with a prominent firm. So perhaps this is part of the reason why I wanted to get into engineering. The company already said they will handle everything for me but I was just checking my options as I won't go there expecting them to do all the work and research etc.

So it's really not about the money for me. I have a well paying job, I would just like to have an engineering degree and I'm willing to work as hard as necessary for it. Plain and simple.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 24th, 2012, 7:08 pm

You made it sound like you were in you late 20's bro :lol:

You have lots of time, there are people over 30 now doing their first degrees in UWI.

Postby sliderz1 » January 24th, 2012, 7:43 pm

good luck in that new venture Paul

Postby rfari » January 24th, 2012, 8:23 pm

OP that's a bess deal there homie. make the most of it.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 25th, 2012, 12:13 am

sliderz1 wrote:good luck in that new venture Paul

rfari wrote:OP that's a bess deal there homie. make the most of it.

Thanks a lot guys. I plan to make the most of it. Thanks a lot for the positive feedback.

Ah just fraid the cold!! I've never experienced anything like it yet so I'm bracing myself.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 25th, 2012, 7:36 am

crossdrilled wrote: Also, if you enjoy working with your hands, be aware that Engineering is a conduit to management. I currently won't get any subtantial increase in pay unless I make the jump to management, which I hate. Engineering is not a status symbol.. do law, accounting, or medicine for instant respect (fack, primary school teachers are more respected than Engineers)

Chest-burn is strong with this one.

Operator perhaps?

Postby crazybalhead » January 25th, 2012, 7:42 am

Paullct wrote:Elaborate na man. I'm sure it will be helpful to a lot of people.

If this helps, "all my life" isn't that long, I'm only 19, turning 20 in March (March 2nd for those who wa make a ched :D ) I'm a commercial diver / ROV Pilot and Technician. I'm going to Aberdeen in April as I was offered a job as a ROV Pilot / Tech with a prominent firm. So perhaps this is part of the reason why I wanted to get into engineering. The company already said they will handle everything for me but I was just checking my options as I won't go there expecting them to do all the work and research etc.

So it's really not about the money for me. I have a well paying job, I would just like to have an engineering degree and I'm willing to work as hard as necessary for it. Plain and simple.

Yuh good to geowmeng. Aberdeen is a cool city to hang out in, but yes it does get real friggin cold. Theres only a few days for the year it gets over 20 deg C. A lot of people think it's grey and dull. I think it's a lovely place.

improvednewbie

Postby improvednewbie » January 25th, 2012, 9:58 am

Last edited by improvednewbie on February 14th, 2012, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » January 25th, 2012, 10:04 am

here is my important question:

why de fack yuh need cxc physics after you reach so far?

I am asking because I found myself having to write it too.

Postby dougla_boy » January 25th, 2012, 2:48 pm

i myself thinking about changing also....i was studying psychology at first but now i am thinking about doing MEEET and MEET.....