CNG kits -increase by 90%

Re: CNG kits -increase by 90%

Postby AllTrac » September 18th, 2012, 10:02 am

TRAE wrote:CNG is a waste a flapping time jed... imagine going maracas and hadda tell everyone to come out to climb the hill

dan so couldnt switch across to gas? :?

Postby TRAE » September 18th, 2012, 10:11 am

AllTrac wrote:
TRAE wrote:CNG is a waste a flapping time jed... imagine going maracas and hadda tell everyone to come out to climb the hill

that messing with meh manhood g... i would like to cruise the highway at a speed i could feel breeze at

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » September 18th, 2012, 11:11 am

TRAE wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

that messing with meh manhood g... i would like to cruise the highway at a speed i could feel breeze at

nah man.... I think people who talk about drastic power loss on CNG either had shiddy tuning or were driving cars that didn't have any power to begin with.

Had an A32 on CNG which would easily run up to 160km/h with AC on while being far more economical than my diesel C33.

Plus apparently ppl don't realize that you could flick a switch to go back to gasoline anytime, even while driving.

Postby sliderz1 » September 18th, 2012, 3:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:WTB: Nissan Frontier.

i eh selling..hard luck fadda

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Quicksilver wrote:nah man.... I think people who talk about drastic power loss on CNG either had shiddy tuning or were driving cars that didn't have any power to begin with.

ditto that.

Postby TRAE » September 18th, 2012, 3:39 pm

soulya yuh dissing 626 or wha

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 18th, 2012, 5:06 pm

so what is the octane equivalent of cng ?

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2012, 5:20 pm

nervewrecker wrote:WTB: Nissan Frontier.

Just posted one fs on teh car classifieds, price neg ;)

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 18th, 2012, 5:21 pm

You must be from one of those areas where google is unavalile huh?

http://www.google.com/search?q=octane+e ... ent=safari

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 18th, 2012, 5:28 pm

nareshseep wrote:so what is the octane equivalent of cng ?

RollaCoaster

Postby RollaCoaster » September 18th, 2012, 5:51 pm

I am not saying no to an alternative fuel, but there are hardly any options on the market. They talk about the gas subsidy, but take back that money in the MVT and duty. The CNG kit offset the entire balance of a vehicle and adds a considerable amount of weight. It's a step backward especially for regular passenger cars. I hearing they might even want to remove subsidy on diesel too.

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2012, 6:21 pm

RollaCoaster wrote:The CNG kit offset the entire balance of a vehicle and adds a considerable amount of weight. It's a step backward especially for regular passenger cars. I hearing they might even want to remove subsidy on diesel too.

:? What is your actual experience with having CNG in a vehicle?
It weighs less than a passenger, and the music boxes some folks put in their vehicles would be a whole lot more likely to offset its balance.

Postby nemisis » September 18th, 2012, 10:30 pm

RollaCoaster wrote:The CNG kit offset the entire balance of a vehicle and adds a considerable amount of weight. It's a step backward especially for regular passenger cars. I hearing they might even want to remove subsidy on diesel too.

:? What is your actual experience with having CNG in a vehicle?
It weighs less than a passenger, and the music boxes some folks put in their vehicles would be a whole lot more likely to offset its balance.

for those who have music boxes that's all fine and well but what about those who not so idle and actually use their trunk space??

I hope before subsidy on fuels gets removed the gov leads by example by having all ministers and ministries convert their vehicles to CNG as well.

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2012, 10:59 pm

nemisis wrote:for those who have music boxes that's all fine and well but what about those who not so idle and actually use their trunk space??

then. 70lb tank and at different intervals......... (all in the trunk of the 323 sedan, not a wagon)
2 suitcases
8 mid tower computer cases
what else?, what else?..................
hmm toolpan, 2 rim and tire, bbq pit............
what else?, what else?..................
cyah remember.

some who speak with so much conviction never had CNG in their car, yet spew BS with so much authority it's amazing.

Postby nervewrecker » September 19th, 2012, 11:01 am

70lb? so light that tank is? Looks plenty heavier to me.

RollaCoaster

Postby RollaCoaster » October 2nd, 2012, 9:52 pm

cng in we arse!!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 2nd, 2012, 10:49 pm

nemisis wrote:
I hope before subsidy on fuels gets removed the gov leads by example by having all ministers and ministries convert their vehicles to CNG as well.

This!!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 2nd, 2012, 10:55 pm

Quicksilver wrote:
TRAE wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

nah man.... I think people who talk about drastic power loss on CNG either had shiddy tuning or were driving cars that didn't have any power to begin with.

Had an A32 on CNG which would easily run up to 160km/h with AC on while being far more economical than my diesel C33.

Plus apparently ppl don't realize that you could flick a switch to go back to gasoline anytime, even while driving.

A car with more power to begin with will have a larger engine... since we have a draconian engine tax system most of us are stuck with 1.3s to 1.8s...

Global trend is to smaller high compression engines as well, I'm not sure how well they will work on CNG.

Also read that LPG seems to be a better option... who made the call that CNG is the way to go?

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2012, 11:33 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:You must be from one of those areas where google is unavalile huh?

http://www.google.com/search?q=octane+e ... ent=safari

he cyah ask ah question about gas on an automotive forum? :roll:

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2012, 11:36 pm

this CNG had better be cost effective by next year (when super goes up according to the Finance Minister)

RollaCoaster

Postby RollaCoaster » October 6th, 2012, 2:34 pm

I wonder if this CNG drive cost effective for anyone? The removal of tax on CNG kits and then there is the cost to the government to outfit gas stations with the CNG stations. Then there is the cost to buy and install the whole system. Any CNG experts out there?

1. How is the CNG kit working with the fuel injection system?
2. Does the kit have to be for the specific vehicle?
3. Cost to install.
4. Any local dealers offering CNG vehicles? I know there is the removal of MVT and Custom duties on vehicles that come with the CNG.

Postby pete » October 6th, 2012, 3:15 pm

Would also like to know who sells kits for EFI engines.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 6th, 2012, 3:31 pm

this whole cng thing the covernment is pulling seems like a massive massive fail

Postby shogun » October 6th, 2012, 3:33 pm

nemisis wrote:

lol @ "gov't ministers" and "lead by example" in the same sentence.

Postby wagonrunner » October 6th, 2012, 4:01 pm

pete wrote:Would also like to know who sells kits for EFI engines.

ACL has, for years.

Postby pete » October 6th, 2012, 4:22 pm

Was not aware. Thanks for the information. When I go to renew my battery warranty I'll ask them about the cost.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 7th, 2012, 3:21 am

nervewrecker wrote:70lb? so light that tank is? Looks plenty heavier to me.

The 70lb tank actually weighs 150lbs...

curtisg

Postby curtisg » November 7th, 2012, 1:01 am

The cost to install is $12000 and yes they work on all injected engines.The performance is quite good compared with the old draft system where they cut you intake to install a mixer.These new Electronic Sequential Injected systems perform really well.

Postby RBphoto » May 6th, 2013, 9:40 am

Hypnosis? Really? The distribution network that is coming soon looks promising though.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/internal ... =/business

Campaign to ‘hypnotise’ nation to CNG
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 49311.html

By Carolyn Kissoon
May 3, 2013
THE National Energy Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (NEC) has embarked on a campaign to “hypnotise” the nation into converting vehicles to compressed natural gas (CNG), chairman Roop Chan Chadeesingh said yesterday.

And he suggested that Government ministers and corporate managers lead by example and convert their own vehicles to CNG fuel.

Neal and Massy Administrative Ltd yesterday delivered the first seven of a fleet of 22 CNG vehicles to be used by NEC employees.

The vehicles were handed over during a ceremony at NEC’s administrative building in Couva.

Speaking at the function, Chadeesingh said, NEC and the National Gas Company (NGC) were awaiting Cabinet approval to drive the CNG campaign.

“There is no way we as a Government can ask Trinidad and Tobago to convert and use CNG when the chairmen, ministers and the prime minister are not using it. We have to lead by example,” he said.

Chadeesingh said the campaign would include billboards along the highway on the benefits of CNG.

“NEC has partnered with Neal and Massy to provide its employees with a suitable, safer and environmentally friendly alternative to leaded and unleaded fuel with the introduction of this first fleet of seven CNG vehicles, with 15 more vehicles expected this year. The change from regular fuel to CNG is in direct support of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago’s continued efforts to encourage citizens to make the transition to this cleaner form of fuel,” he said.

Chadeesingh said CNG was a cheaper form of fuel--half the price of super gasolene.

“It is also a cleaner form of fuel and contains no additives. It burns cleanly leaving no by-products of combustion to contaminate spark plus and engine oil.

Postby nemisis » June 5th, 2013, 9:17 am

^^^ free advertising ent