Anybody knows anything about planting garden?

Re: Anybody knows anything about planting garden?

Postby rfari » December 24th, 2011, 9:41 pm

rfari wrote:OP. you typical agri shop would be able to help you out. I bought some seeds last week (approximately 1/2 lb) for $5. the agri dude said that its real easy to start. haven't done it yet

Allyuh eh easy nah! :lol: :lol: :lol:

lol. i see what u did there. its christmas too. once the season over, imma get to it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2011, 1:21 am

jramsarran wrote:plant cucumbers "direct seed" FTW....not seedlings...
u always get a stronger plant and it adapts much faster. plus...not transplant shock/stress.

yes...you may need to supply <replant> a couple that dont germinate...but that's really insignificant...

@ shake...try that bro...^^^...u will be surprised at the performance.
and btw...i harvest vlaspic more than 2 weeks... :o

yuh lucky dred.. :D price was nice to or wa?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 3rd, 2012, 8:45 am

Any of those varieties of cucumbers are not genetically modified?

I think farmers have to pay greater consideration to these things, rather than just going the way of quick and easy money to the detriment of the health of consumers.

There is too much reliance on a chemical intensive type of production that is really about making bio tech companies rich.

I recently ventured into the realm of organic farming, so i am eager to hear about the non modified varieites and more organic alternatives.

Postby AllTrac » January 3rd, 2012, 9:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead, well done, informative post!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 9:45 am

thanks man..^^

spinner

Postby spinner » January 7th, 2012, 10:39 pm

The intended site for the crop!!!!
Photo0298.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2012, 8:31 am

daz ah putigal tree in d bak they? if so that's good,it means the soil structure is good for planting...but you have real cleaning up to do they bai..

spinner

Postby spinner » January 8th, 2012, 9:47 pm

Na... but it have a few fruit trees (not in pic) on the land - Sapodilla, plum, cherry and level bananas.
Cleaned it up already, thinking about planting on the 12.01.2011.
I got a farmer to help me set the seeds last week.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2012, 11:22 pm

spinner wrote:Na... but it have a few fruit trees (not in pic) on the land - Sapodilla, plum, cherry and level bananas.
Cleaned it up already, thinking about planting on the 12.01.2011.
I got a farmer to help me set the seeds last week.

well ur inna gear dey...let us know how it coming along..

spinner

Postby spinner » January 9th, 2012, 8:57 pm

All cleaned up...
Photo0322.jpg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 9th, 2012, 9:09 pm

what about beds? irrigation?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2012, 10:13 pm

what he said^ also where you pulling water from? ah hope you aint waiting for rain inno..

spinner

Postby spinner » January 13th, 2012, 10:09 pm

The new plants. Pipe water is available also...
Photo0323.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2012, 9:27 pm

yuh inna gear they...btw what kinda cucumber u planting? the variety has a lot to do with how you plant it. (spacing in between plants)

Postby rfari » January 14th, 2012, 11:57 pm

great progress OP. you started the seedlings yourself?

spinner

Postby spinner » January 16th, 2012, 5:51 am

I got help from a farmer in setting the seeds. The brand on the tin is Vlaspic 88% + sire 12%

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2012, 7:20 am

well expect great yields with this variety (once done right though) usually picks up diseases like wow..so be aware of that..have ur chemicals on stand by...

Postby rfari » January 16th, 2012, 11:15 am

how many seeds in those contains and what the typical price is like?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2012, 11:33 am

ah tin ah vlaspik is usually $70 contains about 3000 seeds or so (not sure) most expensive is odysey which is $200 ah pk with 2000 seeds (sure bout that) usually I put two seeds per hole when I setting them..

spinner

Postby spinner » January 16th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Thanks shake d livin wake d dead, I payed $120 for my tin of 3000 seeds (it had a bit more than 3000 though!!!)

spinner

Postby spinner » January 16th, 2012, 12:27 pm

This is what i'm talking about!!!
Photo0316.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2012, 2:42 pm

daz d rel thing dey^

Postby nervewrecker » January 16th, 2012, 8:23 pm

Why farmers plant "according to the moon"?
What is the science behind that?

*small hijack*

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2012, 10:21 pm

Plants respond to the same gravitational pull of tides that affect the oceans, which alternately stimulates root and leaf growth. Seeds sprout more quickly, plants grow vigorously and at an optimum rate, harvests are larger and they don't go to seed as fast. This method has been practiced by many for hundreds of years, and is a perfect compliment to organic gardening because it is more effective in non-chemically treated soil.

The lunar phase controls the amount of moisture in the soil. This moisture is at its peak at the time of the new and the full moon. The sun and moon are lined up with earth. Just as the moon pulls the tides in the oceans, it also pulls upon the subtle bodies of water, causing moisture to rise in the earth, which encourages germination and growth. Tests have proven that seeds will absorb the most water at the time of the full moon.

After the full moon, as the moon wanes, the energy is drawing down. The gravitation pull is high, creating more moisture in the soil, but the moonlight is decreasing, putting energy into the roots. In the fourth quarter there is decreased gravitational pull and moonlight, and it is considered a resting period. This is also the best time to cultivate, harvest, transplant and prune. Mow lawns in the third or fourth quarter to retard growth.

Postby rfari » January 17th, 2012, 12:04 am

Great stuff there shakes!!! OP hope tht you have ur mcdonalds booklet. Have to take the time to read mine as well.

Another question. What's the deal with the milk of magnesia bottles close to the garden?

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2012, 12:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Plants respond to the same gravitational pull of tides that affect the oceans, which alternately stimulates root and leaf growth. Seeds sprout more quickly, plants grow vigorously and at an optimum rate, harvests are larger and they don't go to seed as fast. This method has been practiced by many for hundreds of years, and is a perfect compliment to organic gardening because it is more effective in non-chemically treated soil.

The lunar phase controls the amount of moisture in the soil. This moisture is at its peak at the time of the new and the full moon. The sun and moon are lined up with earth. Just as the moon pulls the tides in the oceans, it also pulls upon the subtle bodies of water, causing moisture to rise in the earth, which encourages germination and growth. Tests have proven that seeds will absorb the most water at the time of the full moon.

After the full moon, as the moon wanes, the energy is drawing down. The gravitation pull is high, creating more moisture in the soil, but the moonlight is decreasing, putting energy into the roots. In the fourth quarter there is decreased gravitational pull and moonlight, and it is considered a resting period. This is also the best time to cultivate, harvest, transplant and prune. Mow lawns in the third or fourth quarter to retard growth.

I understand what you saying but does the moons gravitational pull have an effect on the rate / way that seeds absorb water?
While the pull may be increased by how much of a rise in the height of the vadose zone we talking here?
finally someone I can converse sensibly with on the forum btw, yay me.

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2012, 12:52 am

rfari wrote:Great stuff there shakes!!! OP hope tht you have ur mcdonalds booklet. Have to take the time to read mine as well.

Another question. What's the deal with the milk of magnesia bottles close to the garden?

they usually put those bottles on the end of branches they cut so they wont grow back. the bottles are pretty opaque so they dont permit the passage of sunlight accross the walls so any new leaves that attempt to regrow will not suceed and that branch will remain outa production.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 17th, 2012, 8:55 am

rfari wrote:Great stuff there shakes!!! OP hope tht you have ur mcdonalds booklet. Have to take the time to read mine as well.

they usually put those bottles on the end of branches they cut so they wont grow back. the bottles are pretty opaque so they dont permit the passage of sunlight accross the walls so any new leaves that attempt to regrow will not suceed and that branch will remain outa production.

actually to an extent yes...but blue magnesia bottles are used to prevent people from throwing a "bad eye" or "maljo" on your crop...real envious people tend to do that.once the crop picks up that blight,there is no coming back.blue is the colour used to prevent maljo..it's the easiest thing to find in addition to pieces of blue cloth..

hence you see parents using blue clothing on their new born babies,or young pups are outfitted with blue collars etc etc. don't pray for young babies to get maljo dazreal headache dey..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 17th, 2012, 9:02 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Plants respond to the same gravitational pull of tides that affect the oceans, which alternately stimulates root and leaf growth. Seeds sprout more quickly, plants grow vigorously and at an optimum rate, harvests are larger and they don't go to seed as fast. This method has been practiced by many for hundreds of years, and is a perfect compliment to organic gardening because it is more effective in non-chemically treated soil.

I understand what you saying but does the moons gravitational pull have an effect on the rate / way that seeds absorb water?
While the pull may be increased by how much of a rise in the height of the vadose zone we talking here?
finally someone I can converse sensibly with on the forum btw, yay me.

it all depends on what cycle the moon is in..whether it's new moon,second quarter,full moon or fourth quarter..Each cycle affects different types of crops as well as the moisture in the earth's surface..

Postby rfari » January 17th, 2012, 10:46 am

gonna organise a blue something for my setup later.