Why do people, especially youth, smoke?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Why do people, especially youth, smoke?

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2011, 10:17 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ The previous generations did not have the information that we have nor the highlighting of the risks of smoking, there is a lot of information now anyone that smokes now and says "if only i knew" is an idiot and deserves what they get.
That said I AM a smoker, it's a choice i made conscientious of the risk to my health over the long run.

Questions though: do you have children? And if you do, have you ever caught them trying to take one of your cigarettes from your pack? And what did you do if you did?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2011, 10:25 pm

Don't get me wrong, nit trying to be "the precher that preaches eternal damnation" but seeing and living with people who have had cancer, I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy: it's almost like being buried alive 6 feet after being beaten almost to death... you can't breathe, moving is painful and there's nothing you can do.

It just brings back some horrible and painful memories...

Postby rollingstock » December 9th, 2011, 10:25 pm

MISHI wrote:
rollingstock wrote:^ The previous generations did not have the information that we have nor the highlighting of the risks of smoking, there is a lot of information now anyone that smokes now and says "if only i knew" is an idiot and deserves what they get.
That said I AM a smoker, it's a choice i made conscientious of the risk to my health over the long run.

Questions though: do you have children? And if you do, have you ever caught them trying to take one of your cigarettes from your pack? And what did you do if you did?

Don't have kids. But i would venture an answer, may change if the scenario is real but honestly i would not like my kids to smoke. I wouldn't want that for my kids but if they choose to smoke i won't try to stop them.
As a parent i would try to educate them on the risks and let them make an educated choice.
the taking of a cig from my pack would be a no no though, whether they're old enough to make a decision or not, if you have to have a habit you must be able to maintain it, i also see that as being very dishonest and hinges on stealing, i don't tolerate dishonest persons and a kid of mine? nah not taking that.

Postby rollingstock » December 9th, 2011, 10:32 pm

MISHI wrote:Don't get me wrong, nit trying to be "the precher that preaches eternal damnation" but seeing and living with people who have had cancer, I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy: it's almost like being buried alive 6 feet after being beaten almost to death... you can't breathe, moving is painful and there's nothing you can do.

It just brings back some horrible and painful memories...

Nah i understand where you're coming from, and actually agree.

But as i said i made a choice to be a smoker, not going to run from my decision or deny the obvious health risks. I have never attempted to stop, and contemplated stopping a few times just because of the smell, never because of guilt.

I actually stopped smoking for 4 months in 2004 when i was last on vacation, every morning i got up took up my cigs and lighter put it in my pocket and left the house, limed, fished and didn't feel the need to smoke. Don't know if i can do that now though.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2011, 10:33 pm

Reason why I asked that is what happened if one day your little 8 or 10 year old picked one up and you got ticked off with him and he said "because you do it daddy I want to try it too."

I think it's a mentality that if our family doin it and it's ok for them, then as we get older friends doing it and it's ok then we could do it and it's ok... even if suddenly they say it's wrong.

I get what you saying though...

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2011, 10:35 pm

mishi, dude sorry to hear about that dude. My condolences. its nice that ur using ur experience to help others. And to think i was gonna remove this post due to the first set of replies i got.

Postby rollingstock » December 9th, 2011, 10:44 pm

MISHI wrote:Reason why I asked that is what happened if one day your little 8 or 10 year old picked one up and you got ticked off with him and he said "because you do it daddy I want to try it too."

I think it's a mentality that if our family doin it and it's ok for them, then as we get older friends doing it and it's ok then we could do it and it's ok... even if suddenly they say it's wrong.

I get what you saying though...

Kids will be influenced by parents and family members that's why it's important as a parent to speak to your child and tell them of these things.
Again it's not always an influence at home so you need to educate kids because there will be exposed to this and other vices outside.
And not all the time offsprings will be tempted by what goes on at home, for instance me, i come from a home where alco flowed like water, at a young age my grandfather used to give us a small shot of puncheon 'for de worms' and i'm not a drinker, not that i never tried it, it just doesn't appeal to me, i will take a social drink for a special occasion but don't feel the need for a significant intake.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 9th, 2011, 11:14 pm

wow, sorry for your experience MISHI, but thanks for sharing.

I don't even know how I tried a cig when I was younger, but my father never took up the habit. He told me when he was young he smoked an entire pack the first time he tried it, and he still never continued.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 9th, 2011, 11:48 pm

I dont condone smoking tobacco does kill... but every now and then

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 10th, 2011, 10:08 am

Only young and/or sheltered people can't understand vices once you get a vice of your own you can understand other peoples.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 10th, 2011, 11:06 am

jm3 wrote:Only young and/or sheltered people can't understand vices once you get a vice of your own you can understand other peoples.

Exactly. They feel so cooped up that when they find a vice, its like crack.

I don't/can't smoke . I'm a minor. But I do plan on tryin a few smokes now and then. Even a little weed now and then. It doesn't make you a bad person. I know people who used to smoke (cigarettes & weed) and they turned out pretty fine.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » December 10th, 2011, 11:20 am

cause its a nicotinic agonist...... duh

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 10th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Population control.

doh stop them

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2011, 2:42 pm

i smoke mainly because of stress (well thats how it started)
and now im just addicted and cant break the habit, not like i want to either.
i dont wanna live past 60 anyway.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 10th, 2011, 2:48 pm

The majority of youths these days are a wasted generation IMHO.....smoking drinking gambling stealing , having kids at an early age.....u name it...12 yr olds know more about sex than what we knew when we were that age......

Alot of these youths thinks its hip to be smoking..They think that this will attract girls.. .....with their yellow teeth and bad breath......lol....

and NO i dont smoke...

shudder to thiink they are the future

Postby Trini Hookah » December 10th, 2011, 4:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:i smoke mainly because of stress (well thats how it started)
and now im just addicted and cant break the habit, not like i want to either.
i dont wanna live past 60 anyway.

Painful way to go bigman.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Alot of these youths thinks its hip to be smoking..They think that this will attract girls.. .....with their yellow teeth and bad breath......lol....

Attract? Is the girls themselves smoking this rounds too oui. Normally girls would hide and smoke or thief a smoke, now they just out in the open, everywhere.

Postby K74T » December 10th, 2011, 4:52 pm

I smoak cuz it gives me knawlidge

Postby Bizzare » December 10th, 2011, 5:03 pm

i duh smoke wen I walkin tru arima 2 look cool and dem smallie teenage girls doz be checkin meh out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2011, 9:08 pm

I doh noe bout allyuh but I hate to see ah gyal smoking,especially if she real good looking...does make meh feel to bun she wid d cigarette....

Postby DVSTT » December 10th, 2011, 9:10 pm

yes boi, dem lil girls smoking does fret meh. bt no matter d sex none of dem chiren shud b smoking.

Postby AllTrac » December 10th, 2011, 9:42 pm

Rahtid wrote:
I know men who smoke 3 packs a day, and they look ok,

it have men with aids and they look ok :lol: doh let de looks fool yuh, dey dieing inside

Postby DVSTT » December 10th, 2011, 10:12 pm

lol exactly, dats wat cigarettes do kill u slowly and painfully from the inside. Some ppl say dey dont wanna live past sixty so dey dont care bt do they know how long dey will suffer b4 dey die from a life of smoking? no. but it will b long and painful. plus its not only d smoker bt the smokers family thats affected as well. Think about your loved ones.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 10th, 2011, 10:50 pm

e cig ftw

Postby Trini Hookah » December 10th, 2011, 11:02 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:e cig ftw

One nicotine OD and I'd like to hear your take on it after.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 11th, 2011, 12:22 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Population control.

doh stop them

this actually makes sense

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 11th, 2011, 12:56 am

98 days smoke free...... reasons stated in the "what smoking does to your heart" thread...

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » December 11th, 2011, 2:15 pm

Started smokin as a youth and always say wen I reach 25-30 yrs ole I go stop .....if only someone had told me how hard d habit is to break....worst part is d diminished lung capacity.....I used to be somewhat of an athlete.....now can't run a good 5mins without gasping for air

Postby DVSTT » December 11th, 2011, 6:55 pm

Yea and plus your putting yourself at risk for asthma and a whole plethora of cancers and other problems. I just never got into it because I was aware of all the problems associated with it. Plus I'm asthmatic so i couldn't get into it lol.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 11th, 2011, 7:32 pm

my dad never smoked and therefore i was never exposed to it....Uncles did but they were ole drunks......didnt wanna to end up like them......so I followed in daddy's footsteps...thank god...

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 12th, 2011, 6:26 am

hi good day, my tuner name is pluggie... I am 30 years old... I am a smoker... I started smoking fairly heavy at age 19.I would like to quit smoking :( ... if i cud turn back time and not take that first cig in my mouth I would do it at this very second. Over the past 11 years, I have gotten some really hectic coughs due to smoking and I had to ease up or smoke lighter cigs...

On a serious note; Pulling that first cig was the biggest mistake I feel I have ever made. I would never encourage anybody into smoking, its a sh*t habbit this.. my grandfather died frm lung cancer and as Mishi said, it aint a nice thing to see ppl with Cancer, my grandfather was bed ridden for over 3 years and liked cigs so much , he smoked a pack everyday on his bed sometimes he would even be spitting blood while takin a smoke but he is so addicted he wont stop... I have made a few attempts in the past but after reading the post, i think today is worth a try... thanks gents...