The Strange Thing About the Johnsons

Re: The Strange Thing About the Johnsons

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 8:43 am

:lol: nah man vexXx...click it...you always have the option of closing the window

I however, like many here, was curious to see what happened next and paid the price :(

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 8:44 am

really?
after the first scene to me it was kinda obvious where it was going to end up
i thought the son's wife would have gotten in on it tho

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 8:55 am

I was kinda hoping wifey and mammy woulda have a go at it :oops:

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2011, 9:45 am

^ Wheyyyyyyyyyy and i thought i was teh only sick forker that was hoping for that, allyuh just as bad as me.

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 10:01 am

:lol: if dey could have a Tyler Perry look-alike raping his own father, there was nothing stopping some hot mom/daughter-in-law action

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 10:02 am

Hook wrote::lol: if dey could have a Tyler Perry look-alike raping his own father, there was nothing stopping some hot mom/daughter-in-law action

hahaha
i find he look like young chris rock
the whole setting remind me of the remake of death at a funeral

Cid

Postby Cid » November 30th, 2011, 10:42 am

in an industry where everyone is trying to be different this director really did an excellent job in standing out... He took a very serious issue and put it in a way to get the attention of everyone.

The cast is really talented , and the scenes are well set...i mean at certain times you cant help but be afraid of the son .... You start off thinking the father is the center point but then you realize that the real focus point is the wife who says nothing and ignores the abuse that is going on right under her nose....

this was very well done , hopefully people can overcome the taboo and find the real life link to this and the in house abuse that is going on all over the world

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 30th, 2011, 10:55 am

Who flogs their mule with their door unlocked anyways?

Postby Stephon. » November 30th, 2011, 11:01 am

When the son came through the door in the bathroom, I honestly thought i was watching a horror movie.

Postby RBphoto » November 30th, 2011, 11:18 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:i fraid to click play now.

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 11:23 am

when the son kicked in the bathroom door my angus trembled in fear...really connected with the father there oui...a little too much...I'll never kick in the bathroom door when my pops is in the tub again

is d yute man speech that really creeped me out tho...he'd convinced himself that it was right and that the father was wrong for "not giving it a chance to be good"...real psychotic behaviour yo

you think his wife knew tho? she had a really worried expression after the ole years party

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 11:25 am

the wife looked like she had an idea something was going on but she didnt know what
i think her concern was when he broke the bottle and appeared upset
i think the dad molestered him from young that is why he let the son do it to him.
btw
the moms look like ah scramble egg punanny bizness

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2011, 11:30 am

the speech the son gave the father before he ran out reminds me of something a wife beater would say

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 11:30 am

nah, moms look like axe wound punani business when she was young but it transform to beef curtains with age

Cid

Postby Cid » November 30th, 2011, 11:46 am

I think she only found out at the party , but she coulda put a stop to it , or do something and she didnt.....until it was too late and she lost it all....so this is really about her inability to act .......

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2011, 11:53 am

was at the wedding dawg.. the wedding

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 11:54 am

i believe Cid was referring to the son's wife not the moms

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 11:59 am

how wifey did find out at d wedding dan?

unless yuh mean d look she give mama when mama was lookin fuh dem two fellas

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 12:02 pm

d moms find out at d weddin
d wifey eh figure it out till d party
my view

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 12:04 pm

yuh feel so? nah man

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 12:09 pm

well then again in the end the moms ask about prom night so she had to have known something before hand

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 12:15 pm

nah, moms only asked abt prom night after she read Cocoon Man...remember she burn it at the end

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2011, 12:22 pm

i guess the director has gotten the effect he wanted
http://blogs.indiewire.com/shadowandact ... short-film
There has been much debate on our site, and all over the Internet, about the meaning and intent of your film; can you explain whether The Strange Thing About The Johnsons was intended to be humorous or dramatic?

Why not both? I see the film as a satire of the domestic melodrama (a la Douglas Sirk or Nicholas Ray), so it draws more from movie cliches and genre tropes, especially from films dealing with abuse or family dysfunction, than it does real life. But it was a challenge for us (and something that we always kept in mind) to transcend the absurdity of the premise and to actually consider the implications of such a thing. In a lot ways the film serves as a nightmarish cautionary tale on liberal parenting, a sort of worst-case scenario for a father who's granted his son too much freedom and respect, but there's also the suggestion of culpability on the father's part, so the film skips a lot of the causes and focuses primarily on the effects of an insidious, inverted dynamic.

In the end, we just wanted to make a film that was compelling, visceral and unique.

Cid

Postby Cid » November 30th, 2011, 12:27 pm

sorry guyz
ah did mean de mother found out at the wedding ,
edit* the mother could have found out when it started in the script like hook said
Last edited by Cid on November 30th, 2011, 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » November 30th, 2011, 12:28 pm

she knew the flick since grad.....she jus play dumb.......

too many WTF moments in one half hour............

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2011, 12:30 pm

1st wtf was within the first minute, then at the wedding

Postby sliderz1 » November 30th, 2011, 1:36 pm

WTMC :|

i should have heeded the warnings frm the previous posts

:? :? :?

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 30th, 2011, 3:03 pm

:yankit:

Postby K74T » November 30th, 2011, 3:08 pm

Moms!!!!!

Postby Bizzare » November 30th, 2011, 3:15 pm

Still pondering. I've watched other disturbing videos before that kept replaying itself in my head without my permission.