Crackdown on UK car stealing racket in T&T

toyota2nr

Re: Crackdown on UK car stealing racket in T&T

Postby toyota2nr » November 14th, 2011, 2:27 pm

If the owners bought the car through the bank and it gets seized by the police should they continue paying for it ? Honestly if it was me I wouldn't. Let the bank try to seize it.

Suppose this whole action by the police is orchestrated by the 'exclusive' dealers of the Range Rover who just want everyone to buy it from them.

Just a thought.

Postby gastly369 » November 14th, 2011, 2:28 pm

FS/FT Ranger Rover steal of a deal

$30,000 hurry !!

or trade for ah civic :|

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 14th, 2011, 2:48 pm

toyota2nr wrote:If the owners bought the car through the bank and it gets seized by the police should they continue paying for it ? Honestly if it was me I wouldn't. Let the bank try to seize it.

Suppose this whole action by the police is orchestrated by the 'exclusive' dealers of the Range Rover who just want everyone to buy it from them.

Just a thought.

plus these vehicles are very very hard to steal unless u got the keys

i know the owner very well ...and some how i doubt this story

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 14th, 2011, 2:55 pm

Ent those vehicles suppose to be equipped with gps and have the ability to be tracked ??

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 14th, 2011, 2:55 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:any Range rover USED Diesel that was brought in is probably ILLEGAL as its not legal to import USED diesel vehicles

eh heh? :|

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 14th, 2011, 3:03 pm

so risky to buy a vehicle these days. even if you do checks, ur not guaranteed its straight up.

Postby cinco » November 14th, 2011, 3:05 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:If the owners bought the car through the bank and it gets seized by the police should they continue paying for it ? Honestly if it was me I wouldn't. Let the bank try to seize it.

Just a thought.

plus these vehicles are very very hard to steal unless u got the keys

i know the owner very well ...and some how i doubt this story

really?
allyuh gone back with hard to steal keys story
d code cloner sellin on ebay normal

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 14th, 2011, 3:11 pm

any car can be stolen. man created it, man can defeat it lol

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 14th, 2011, 3:23 pm

DevilZ wrote:y do they seize them? do they send them back to the uk?

all them vehicles next to the central market in p.o.s ,right there they will be stored with the rx's, prado's,almera's and 323 bj .

Postby SR » November 14th, 2011, 3:28 pm

new car dealers pushing this talk long time now eh cuz their damn cars overpriced...........
compared to what it would cost to bring it on your own from the uk

while i agree it have some questionable imports being sold on the market there is talk in certain circles that there is also a lot of pressure from the new car dealers making accusations that some of the importers are doing it illegally as it affects the new car dealers pocket big time

imagine yuh bringin in a 2 year old range in mint condition that can be sold for half the cost of a brand new one locally ent it go sell...

similar issues new car dealers have with the roll on roll off market yet the new car dealers cant event keep a stock of spare parts for what they are selling presently

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2011, 3:33 pm

ohh well, gorn are the days of mr. soft-drink bringing rich-n199a-sh'it to the hood

Postby noshownogo » November 14th, 2011, 3:34 pm

SR add to that the bonus of added features with the foreign used vehicles. Our local dealers sell cars with 2airbags, 4speed auto and a cd player as "features".

real_d20

Postby real_d20 » November 14th, 2011, 3:43 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:any Range rover USED Diesel that was brought in is probably ILLEGAL as its not legal to import USED diesel vehicles

This

W8

Postby W8 » November 14th, 2011, 4:42 pm

LOL @ needing the keys....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13787442

The motor industry says 80% of thieves use the vehicle's keys and around a fifth of home burglaries are carried out in order to steal them.

Unfortunately I actually know someone who lost their car like that, didn't nick anything else but the car keys, not even the coins.

And as for it getting past customs? I don't know anyone who packs a container at the port and then fill out your packing list, and bill of lading?

Place of business, seal the container and head it down to the port, hoping it's not one of the randomly selected ones to check.

Now if we could get one of these...........lol

Postby SR » November 14th, 2011, 5:07 pm

noshownogo wrote:SR add to that the bonus of added features with the foreign used vehicles. Our local dealers sell cars with 2airbags, 4speed auto and a cd player as "features".

yuh mean like the "new car" dealer in south that bringing in 2012 models of pickups with tons of features compared to the local brand representatives

Postby wagonrunner » November 14th, 2011, 5:16 pm

SR wrote:
noshownogo wrote:SR add to that the bonus of added features with the foreign used vehicles. Our local dealers sell cars with 2airbags, 4speed auto and a cd player as "features".
yuh mean like the "new car" dealer in south that bringing in 2012 models of pickups with tons of features compared to the local brand representatives

well when a few years back the local brand representative was in the habit of removing the OEM deck, and selling it to you as an extra when purchasing a new vehicle ..............

Postby SR » November 14th, 2011, 5:29 pm

actually one company ordered the vehicles without the stereo system and installed a clarion unit locally with a dash kit

Postby wagonrunner » November 14th, 2011, 5:32 pm

the clarion unit was analog, as opposed to the factory digital?
Was it wired to the also factory power antennas, or were those replaced too?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 14th, 2011, 5:45 pm

being Trinidad nothing going to come of this .... it will be business as normal because police and customs officers in on the racket. Best thing is to buy from a reputable dealer in the UK, have vehicle inspected and ship it to TT using a reputable shipper. Hell if I gonna save $100K on a vehicle I'll fly to the UK and check vehicle in person.... What's $20K when you saving $80K.

Buying public can still counter the local stealerships .... just do it the right way .... and don't trust any local used car dealer ... all ah dem is a set ah scamps. If you want a Range yuh could afford to make a trip to the UK for a couple days to make sure everything goes legit.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 14th, 2011, 7:13 pm

:shock: :shock:

and BMW's too, well watch how the resale ah beemahs just went even furthur downwards.............. man anit buying bmw if it used, or buy and yuh could take for ah tek way for being stolen

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2011, 7:32 pm

So how poor folk suppose to stunt now? Cyar stunt in no frigging japbox.

Postby bushwakka » November 14th, 2011, 7:41 pm

rfari wrote:So how poor folk suppose to stunt now? Cyar stunt in no frigging japbox.

samurai ftw?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » November 14th, 2011, 7:45 pm

*sigh.... sheron's, you and your shenanigans

Postby eliteauto » November 14th, 2011, 7:46 pm

dok_tec wrote:*sigh.... sheron's, you and your shenanigans

notsureifliterate

Postby AllTrac » November 14th, 2011, 7:50 pm

dok_tec wrote:*sigh.... sheron's, you and your shenanigans

what sheron's and dem doing is a drop in the bucket compared to this kindda racket.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 14th, 2011, 7:57 pm

If I'm reading this correctly then

Hint *great race*

Postby toyolink » November 14th, 2011, 8:38 pm

There are a few sayings I always reflect on.
-If it's too good to be true it ain't.
-Good ting ain't cheap and cheap ting ain't good.
-A fool an his money are soon parted.
Just don't understand why people always love to suspend their capacity to disbelieve even outside a movie cinema.This even applies to the so called "enlightened/well-informed".
I have met a few who upon asking for a quote come back to inform me that they are 'getting a deal'.Todate some are in court seeking recovery of the deal money from men of "straw".

Postby BrotherHood » November 14th, 2011, 10:37 pm

Friday night on Ariapita avenue was the most amount of Range Rovers I see. Like all in Trinidad were there on that night....and newly registered eh....PCS

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 14th, 2011, 10:40 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Friday night on Ariapita avenue was the most amount of Range Rovers I see. Like all in Trinidad were there on that night....and newly registered eh....PCS

ironic thing is more than HALF of them cant afford to maintain it, and probably living in debt just to say they jive a RR.

oh well Miami style living is coming more to trinidad, living in debt to look good.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 14th, 2011, 10:48 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Friday night on Ariapita avenue was the most amount of Range Rovers I see. Like all in Trinidad were there on that night....and newly registered eh....PCS

ironic thing is more than HALF of them cant afford to maintain it, and probably living in debt just to say they jive a RR.

oh well Miami style living is coming more to trinidad, living in debt to look good.

I think people are just trying to avoid purchasing a vehicle with a tray.

I'mjustsaying.