Deer-eating python captured, killed in Florida Everglades

Re: Deer-eating python captured, killed in Florida Everglade

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2011, 1:33 pm

But yet noone would dare say the world is perhaps overpopulated?

snowman

Postby snowman » October 29th, 2011, 2:24 pm

THIS

Postby X2 » October 29th, 2011, 3:07 pm

Those snakes not particlularly 'native' to Florida...

They are however native to Trinidad....

d spike

Postby d spike » October 29th, 2011, 11:11 pm

X2 wrote:Those snakes not particlularly 'native' to Florida...

Ehhh?
Surely you are not referring to the Burmese Python... or any python for that matter...
The Pythonidae, commonly known simply as pythons, are a family of non-venomous snakes found in Africa, Asia and Australia.

Postby X2 » October 30th, 2011, 8:31 am

d spike wrote:
X2 wrote:Those snakes not particlularly 'native' to Florida...

Ehhh?
Surely you are not referring to the Burmese Python... or any python for that matter...
The Pythonidae, commonly known simply as pythons, are a family of non-venomous snakes found in Africa, Asia and Australia.

Ah yes.... details of which 2nrs so scour to look smart.

No, pythons aren't native to Trinidad... anacondas are... anacondas... which are typically larger and more aggressive than any python.

But take win hoss... we all safer from big snake now.

Postby Damien » October 30th, 2011, 10:30 am

i doh think anacondas native to trinidad eh

d spike

Postby d spike » October 30th, 2011, 10:46 am

X2 wrote:Ah yes.... details of which 2nrs so scour to look smart.

I don't know if you sneezed while you were typing... what was this supposed to mean?

X2 wrote:No, pythons aren't native to Trinidad... anacondas are... anacondas... which are typically larger and more aggressive than any python.

Anacondas and pythons are two different types of snakes. (Anacondas are boas, just like macajuels.) I thought this thread was about Burmese pythons in Florida...

We only have one anaconda species here in Trinidad, Eunectes murinus gigas, which is actually a sub-species of the Green Anaconda. As far as anacondas being typically typically "larger and more aggressive" than pythons, most snake fanatics will disagree with you.
I personally prefer to think of the Huille (our local name for our species of anaconda) as being the biggest snake (nationalist pride tends to be flavoured with blindness and ignorance :lol: ) as it is the heaviest snake - almost twice the weight of the heaviest pythons recorded. However, as all fellows know, "biggest" is synonymous with "longest", and the longest snakes recorded are pythons (but only by a few feet... and a couple hundred pounds lighter... so what :evil: )
"More aggressiveness" is another argument you might lose. Many pythons are known for their ferocity and willingness to strike. Amerindian children have been known to play on the backs of large anacondas... The account I know of was that the kiddies would straddle the resting animal (playing horsey-ride?) and when the weary beast's head looks back at them they know it is time to find another game to play. (Now you know why there aren't so many Amerindian children... FPA should take note... I am sure some beleaguered parents would be glad for a large anaconda as a pet - "Come sonny, go ride the big snake...")

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » October 30th, 2011, 12:45 pm

^^^^^ correct on that...anacondas and pythons two diff thing and also agree on aggressiveness but that can vary....it depends on the situation, anything would be aggressive if threatened frankly

16ft is still small for these snakes, 20+ have be recorded and well snakes grow bigger as they live sooo killing the big ones should not be the plan, wipe out the small ones and leave the big ones for exhibits....would make a definite attraction and crowd pleaser

but they said how it would upset the balance of predator/prey balance.....doesn't have a show called "swamp people" who killing a ton of crocs?? if ya wipe out the crocs and not the same for pythons, you don't think that would happen and its not the snakes fault, its them damn fault

d spike

Postby d spike » October 30th, 2011, 1:46 pm

lostallos101 wrote:but they said how it would upset the balance of predator/prey balance.....doesn't have a show called "swamp people" who killing a ton of crocs?? if ya wipe out the crocs and not the same for pythons, you don't think that would happen and its not the snakes fault, its them damn fault

As far as the show "Swamp People" is concerned, someone paying attention to the show would realize that it is a controlled hunt within a specific time period which is strictly monitored.
There was supposed to be a program in place to hunt down and trap Burmese pythons - how well-developed/successful it is now, I have no idea, but just because they haven't made a reality show out of it doesn't mean it doesn't exist. :lol:

I have a problem with those who yell and scream about the threat posed by invasive species to the native environment, yet are quite comfortable with hunting using firearms, clear-felling of forests and large scale land-development. So it's wrong for some Asiatic beetle to decimate your forests but it's quite okay for local land-developers to do the same.
I say, if you are going to be squeamish about anything that affects the "native environment" then live in a wig-wam and hunt with a spear.

At first, when the problem of Burmese pythons living in the swamp arose, I distinctly remember a chorus of voices claiming that the local 'gators' would soon decimate the lil' buggers. I guess that hasn't happened yet...