Private track soon..............

Re: Private track soon..............

Postby stev » October 20th, 2011, 12:56 pm

Central Trinidad? where? by d sea in waterloo? ent dat was a site for a track...saw d sign a few years ago but that fall down and dog does sleep on it.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » October 20th, 2011, 12:56 pm

All them rich boys on Tuner cud get involved too, make it a joint venture enterprise local and regional sponsors. Target the caribbean dragsters, make up some good controversy and yuh on.

Wizard

Postby Wizard » October 20th, 2011, 1:00 pm

1mm a month in revenue is quite optimistic

i would be suprised if it could reliably rake in 250k a month because you cant expect to run internation or intercaribbean events every month

they would probably be able to get a solid 100-150k of revenue monthly from local racers but to hit much more than that it will need to offer more than drags alone

Lance

Postby Lance » October 20th, 2011, 1:02 pm

1 Million a month over a medium term period seems a bit of an overestimation.

Also, a payback period of 2 years also seems overly ambitious for a project of this magnitude.

If he sets a more realistic payback period, he could probably comeup with an achievable monthly required revenue.

Postby noshownogo » October 20th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Seeing is believing, I not even currently involved in motor sport and I fed up.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » October 20th, 2011, 2:01 pm

1million a month is actually realistic if they think outside the box.
Remember revenue is not solely derived from events. Also tv broadcasting regionally has money to be made as well. Race teams all over the world would also wanna use the facilities for practice/time trials especially if its FIA approved. That is big money as well.

Wouldnt it be cool if this facility could host F1 racing events. Money to be made here as well.

I hope it becomes a reality tho.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2011, 2:06 pm

suzieboy wrote:1million a month is actually realistic if they think outside the box.
Remember revenue is not solely derived from events. Also tv broadcasting regionally has money to be made as well. Race teams all over the world would also wanna use the facilities for practice/time trials especially if its FIA approved. That is big money as well.

Wouldnt it be cool if this facility could host F1 racing events. Money to be made here as well.

I hope it becomes a reality tho.

Cuz F1 racing happens just cuz a track built rite?
Also all those money making activities you called, Those are very optimistic things. Is there a strong demand for those such that we would be certain money will be made from those events.
Whose to say broadcasters would buy TV rights?

We still tout the 4 stadia as venues for world teams to come train 10 years after the U17 world cup but no one comes.

Postby rfari » October 20th, 2011, 2:10 pm

foss wrote:
rfari wrote:Sounds promising. Hope 3ne2nr can get involved with this to make it a reality.

what? :?

3ne2nr has a huge fan base. . i would think that it would be natural for it to be a stakeholder
Last edited by rfari on October 20th, 2011, 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SMc » October 20th, 2011, 2:21 pm

Good plan there...

Money does not only have to be made from events only.

Some thoughts I had in the past

NON-EVENT RELATED

-What about building with a few workshops where people can store/work on their cars it dont have to be 1 car per unit but rather a fixed monthly rate for a unit/warehouse type thing that can fit 3-4 cars where a set of partners could put up and rent/lease the space, It could be used for storage, restoration, modification....whatever you want. What could be better than running you car...change a manifold and compare the difference without having to drive home/mechanic/mango tree and back to do this. Additionally not everyone has space at home a place to work on your car would be a godsend for some. Keep a few units for short term rental and charge a higher rate or by the day. I mean people own boats you dont see them towing them home after every trip DDI

-Track time by the hour- want to run your car? During non peak times pay to run your car whether it be 1/4 mile, circuit or 24 distance up to you!

- Driving schools- not talking about drivers licence level, but advanced or defencive driving. do that here and Insurance companies will be sure to advertise/sponsor.

- Onsite dyno- see what it happening when you make a modification on your ride and as an incentive offer up free lap time for using the service.

-Retail, why not get some retail units made, not many needed; a rice shop, a food stop, a general parts store and a strip club would suffice.

-The build!!- the only place I can see somthing like this being built is somewhere in South or central (not being odd here north have too many hills!) With that comes the responsiblity of looking after the present natural environment. I will admit I'm a bit of a tree hugger and enjoy wildlife around me and PAP WFT is always somewher that I enjoy visiting just because where else in the world would you find a bird sanctuary in the the middle of an oil refinery?(it is a funtional oxymoron) People pay good money to visit T&T to see our wildlife..if built properly a site like this can this type of tourism and can be a viable source of income. When I was Asa Wright last year I was speaking to a group of 8 and they were very happy to pay US$65 each for day in a red band maxi to go to Aripo and Wallerfied to see some birds.

EVENTS!!

besides the regular race meets some other ways of drawing a crowd. An exibition hall would be in in order but if you building somthing from scratch i wont add that much more.

-NAPA is sheit- exibitions they have are good but thats probably because there is not really anywhere else..eg the recent orchid show

- EXPO...a proper one like they used to have in the JP Complex

-Concerts- not for carnival, but for MG Man kinda thing, oldies but Goldies. Trinidad need to be de-centralised and having somewhere else than the Oval or Stadium can help do this...nothing better than watching REO while sat in a comfy seat in the stands. Just make sure they have space between the circuit track to fait a stage.

Above all security is a priorty whether it be day visitors,concert goers, tennants or one of Banzais mampfies get that right and you on your way, they have a few tuners in the security industry and am sure are willing to give advice.

them is my thoughts and I have not bothered to spellcheck everything..so if I typed sheit somewhere hard luck. I have the track designe in my little brain here that would cover everything mentioned above execpt for the additional ideas that I have not mentioned

byee

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 20th, 2011, 2:28 pm

i mill ah month....like d man washing m.............i'am out..........

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 2:37 pm

finally someone who thinking outside of the box and realise the potential and revenue that could be generated from this...

I'm sure a lot of racers going to bend to pay but at the end of the day, business is business

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » October 20th, 2011, 2:43 pm

Exactly SMc. These are international business men before they are racers. They couldnt care less if Dooks camry could do a quarter mile in 10 secs flat. Their business model hadda look sumting like that for returns and employment oppertunities like that. This is how its done worldwide in the world of autosport.

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 20th, 2011, 2:52 pm

file this thread with the others....if anybody doin this it should be just done, no speculation or proposals cuz ppl fed up get their hopes up for the idea to fizzle out

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2011, 2:58 pm

them folks must have money to throw away
there are a lot of other easier ways to make plenty money if you have that kind of money to sink
as somebody say how much of that revenue is profit ?

Postby SR » October 20th, 2011, 3:11 pm

i hope he knows that 90% of the people who like to drag race DONT like to pay for anything and prefer to run for free

so getting a return on 1 mil a month i gonna be tough especially if he thinks that gonna be just profit

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 20th, 2011, 3:27 pm

SR wrote:i hope TTASA doesnt get involved

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... rt-project

Chaguanas businessman Rishi Kanick plans to rake in $1 million a month from the motor sport industry. Kanick said he intends to get a motor sport park in central Trinidad up and running within the next two years, with the main activity being drag-racing. Kanick was speaking with the Business Guardian on Sunday following a meeting with Brazilian businessman and international drag racer, Sidney Frigo at Frigo’s $24 million private raceway at Sao Paulo, Brazil, last weekend.

Kanick, who said his plans include a $20 million private-public sector investment, added that he plans to model his project based on Frigo’s private raceway at Sao Paulo. “We are in the technical phase of this project. Once it comes off the ground, the project would generate over 100 permanent jobs and earn $1 million monthly from various events, such as drag-racing, go-kart racing, four-wheel drive racing. “We want to to capitilise on sports tourism and make Trinidad the mecca of drag racing in the region, and, at the same time, fulfil the craving for local auto sports enthusiasts, who do not have a venue and sometimes turn to have illegal races on the public roadways. The Government stands to benefit, especially from the taxes they would rake in from the revenue.

“Frigo is interested in the project and may be a potential investor. He has agreed to give us all the technical support for this project to make it economically feasible. Chaguanas is poised to become a city and we want it to be the home of the first organised and professional drag-racing strip in the country.” Kanick, a director on the board of the state-owned Seafood Industry Development Company and a local champion dragracer, said he funded the trip to Brazil in an effort to see the realisation of a “very profitable venture” that is being under-utilised. The investment can be recovered within two years, he said. Kanick presented Frigo with a hand-crafted chrome steelpan.

“The potential for sports tourism is phenomenal. People travel all over the world to witness drag-racing events and we in the region can give them more. They are getting the races, the sand, the sun and an allround experience.” Kanick said the last time drag-racing was held in T&T was in 2008 when the Camden airstrip in Couva was used. The Government has since disallowed use of the airstrip for autosports. It was announced earlier this year that the Government plans to use Camden to develop an airport in central. Kanick said racers spend quite a bit of money to ship their sport vehicles to the United States to compete, when that foreign exchange could remain in T&T.

yuh started with de bess statement ever!!!!

Wizard

Postby Wizard » October 20th, 2011, 4:32 pm

all that pie in the sky stuff of dynos and warehousing and tv broadcasting rights will ramp up initial investment costs

nothing under 40mm will cost to build the track and unlikely to see payback within 10 years, much less possible will be 2 years not to mention design as it seems even the veterans of motor racing in trinidad dont even have a clue as to how to design or layout a facility

Postby pete » October 20th, 2011, 6:32 pm

whyteliver wrote:i mill ah month....like d man washing m.............i'am out..........

Same thing I was thinking.

Postby r3iXmann » October 20th, 2011, 6:39 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:yawn.......

when i see,i'll believe :roll:

Postby Rooki3 » October 20th, 2011, 6:41 pm

not this sh!t again

Postby Rooki3 » October 20th, 2011, 6:43 pm

Glitch wrote:Interesting....1 million a month is alot though

thats not very hard to make inno, revenue from major sponsors, billboards, may have a lil booths renting, also spectator fees, its very possible

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 20th, 2011, 7:00 pm

i think its possible to earn that kinda revenue..

but i aint gettin my hopes up for this track thing until i see it being built..

allyuh remember the 'freeport raceway'?...stueps
$100M drag facility.. :fist:

http://www.guardian.co.tt/node/5429

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » October 20th, 2011, 7:56 pm

this mc take my future idea bai......drag racing & throwing parties right there.....you in the game!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 20th, 2011, 9:12 pm

but even Robert Cadiz sayn that Rishi Kanick is an opportunist...what makes him different from the last "businessmen" that started this?

steups....

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 20th, 2011, 9:16 pm

i doh mind if the man is an opportunist..at the end of the day business is business..

but atleast lewwe get to see this thing all the way tru..not just hearing this and that about this track and that track..

the amount of different tracks i hear people were building it shuda have about 5 drag strips by now..

Postby BrotherHood » October 20th, 2011, 9:42 pm

SR wrote:i hope he knows that 90% of the people who like to drag race DONT like to pay for anything and prefer to run for free

so getting a return on 1 mil a month i gonna be tough especially if he thinks that gonna be just profit

You said it meng

Postby rollingstock » October 20th, 2011, 9:58 pm

Sold my 2 dr roti powered escort some years ago and just recently my slightly modded VR4.

I won't street race and i won't start another project until something solid is done.

I refuse to give in the constant hype over a track, like going reflections for de b1tch to tell you it's that time of the month :?

When i see it i'll believe it.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2011, 10:28 pm

hmmn, skimmed tru the article, two things come to mind, that they building a motor sport complex, so is not only drags, but many other activities, if properly staged. ( if they make a big hole, when the place flood out, is aqua motor sports, with ttjs)
the other thing is that they referred to this location as a 'mecca' for motor sports, which leads me to believe, they not thinking local patronage. and if so not local sponsorship.

the way it extrapolating, we might have to get visa to go een

Postby BrotherHood » October 20th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Well we go see. However, it will not stop 'gangster drags'.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » October 21st, 2011, 8:11 am

BrotherHood wrote:
SR wrote:i hope he knows that 90% of the people who like to drag race DONT like to pay for anything and prefer to run for free

You said it meng

For all you know drag racing might be in the minorities. :(