So Toyota Engines really can't be killed?

Re: So Toyota Engines really can't be killed?

Postby A172 » October 11th, 2011, 12:18 pm

economy tuning ftw

zorced

Postby zorced » October 11th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Hook wrote:men crediting engines running on little/no oil to the engine manufacturer and not the oil...wow :roll:

good point

NP Premium
Castrol Gtx

1credit

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2011, 12:46 pm

:lol: buh yuh unnastan wha ah saying nuh

I highly doubt any automaker will design an engine to run on no oil for a couple days. The quality of the oil will ensure that critical engine components are properly lubricated.

moti

Postby moti » October 11th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Postby bushwakka » October 11th, 2011, 1:15 pm

Hook wrote::lol: buh yuh unnastan wha ah saying nuh

I highly doubt any automaker will design an engine to run on no oil for a couple days. The quality of the oil will ensure that critical engine components are properly lubricated.

nah boi.....toyota rotating parts and components come pre-lubricated with a hybrid film of high heat resistant graphite and teflon on all of their surfaces......no oil needed

Postby toyolink » October 11th, 2011, 1:56 pm

I moved to the Toyota brand sometime during the early 80's and have not shifted.
There isn't much I haven't subjected the brand to and really remain fully satisfied.
Prior to Toyota the other brands that had me as a customer were English FORD (box type cortina GT and E) and HILLMAN (hunter and vogue).
I could go on and on about a lot of stuff including driving without accelerator cable in a manual,without a gas tank and without the service of a water pump or radiator fan.However,those were times when the adrenalin rush took precedent over good sense.

Postby S_2NR » October 11th, 2011, 2:01 pm

whats with all these threads about different car brands OP.
u confused brah?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 11th, 2011, 2:42 pm

foss wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
TK! wrote:oh gorm.. look at toyota men gonna beat dey chest now.
den nissan and honda men go jump in to prove dem wrong...

whey strauss, wagonrunner and hook?

5pg ah nonsense follows....

Ahemmm..........*clears throat*

who is you?

WTF!!!!!!!!! What kinda dotish question is that? UDFR eh foss.

It is my experience that Toyota vehicles on the whole have the lowest maintenance. I once did 15,000km without changing oil some people here went longer than that. The fan belt in my father Cressida burst and the car drive home normal. No problems.

My NZE is insanely reliable I would not go to any other brand. I know people with other vehicles that give trouble on a routine basis.

Toyota FTW!!!!!!!!!!

:evilbat:

Postby Stephon. » October 11th, 2011, 4:08 pm

But at the end of the day your car will run perfectly as long as you want it to if you take care of it and service it when it's needed, no matter what brand.

Postby AllTrac » October 11th, 2011, 4:18 pm

brand loyalty ftl....

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 11th, 2011, 4:22 pm

I would have to disagree Stephon. My father had a Rover 75 from new. He hardly drove that car and treated it like a baby and it rewarded him with nothing but real trouble.

My brother had a PAT model 626 and used to shut down more than drive.

From my point of view I think it's the car as well. Some cars just more reliable..........like the Corolla.

Postby AllTrac » October 11th, 2011, 4:28 pm

as much instances you can name a different brand being unreliable I and many others here have stories of that same brand being abused and being just as reliable. My Mitsu pajero, took a beating, my frontier, dare i say it? Hilux durability! My suzuki vitara, started up every day like a champ, my legacy, heavy on gas but was yet to fail me etc etc

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 11th, 2011, 5:31 pm

lol....nissan .... long time ago padna had a b14 never chekd oil..wen he idd it was not evn hitting the mark...and he never chagned it either....and it was working like a dream..... i dont think anytn can touch nissan engines.....

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2011, 6:03 pm

zorced wrote:
Hook wrote:men crediting engines running on little/no oil to the engine manufacturer and not the oil...wow :roll:

good point

NP Premium
Castrol Gtx

1credit

bo---- doww!!!!!! and in ah ga15 to boot.

i tawt my oil light was goin tru cause at low idles it used to flicker, gud few weeks later i get by meh mechanic, and he got the flickering to stop. ting run with out oil for a couple of months...
years before head gasket blew, and head have epoxy in the pits caused, u would never know,
dat engine like a lil pot-hound, not too flashy, but wukin with very low to no maintenance. probably was the oils used, but was castrol or np and penzoil this one time i got a deal from stackhouse in williamsville

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 11th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Postby Stephon. » October 11th, 2011, 8:17 pm

toyota2nr wrote:I would have to disagree Stephon. My father had a Rover 75 from new. He hardly drove that car and treated it like a baby and it rewarded him with nothing but real trouble.

My brother had a PAT model 626 and used to shut down more than drive.

From my point of view I think it's the car as well. Some cars just more reliable..........like the Corolla.

I wasn't including cars of yester-century

Postby BrotherHood » October 11th, 2011, 9:17 pm

An aunt of mine drove with an empty radiator for three days and all the car did was cut off because oif excessive heat. When it cooled it started and drove like normal. She drives a NZE.

I have had similar experiences with my previous car and it was a Mazda 323 BJ model.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 11th, 2011, 9:29 pm

BrotherHood wrote:An aunt of mine drove with an empty radiator for three days and all the car did was cut off because oif excessive heat. When it cooled it started and drove like normal. She drives a NZE.

I have had similar experiences with my previous car and it was a Mazda 323 BJ model.

Its called a SENSOR. What it does, it senses when the engine temp. is getting to high and shuts off the engine as a safe mode to prevent u from facking up yuh head gasket etc. When the sensor deems the engine cool enough, you can restart the car. That "technology" has been around ages.

As far as reliability goes, every brand has there good and bad eggs. To me nissan has more bad eggs, but that can just be the low end nissan vehicles.
Honda b series and d series engines can take a BEATING.
SR20 is sheit...that engine cannot take abuse.
Toyota have there good and bads *side note* there is a toyota carib taxi wukking the cane farm route, he supposed to have some "frank" 20v engine in there....ask him how much engines he pass tru nah for oil problems :lol:

My 2L OHC pinto and my E32 735i BMW was by far the most reliable engines i came across...they can take anything you could through at them. Japanese engines in comparison are soft.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » October 12th, 2011, 8:02 am

my dad had a TAG long base land cruiser parked up for about 3 years.....i use to play in there when i was small.....put on a battery, check oil and water, bounce starter and out the gate for a spin....sold it soon after to work taxi in paramin.....paid $50K brand new, sold for $50K about 15yrs ago

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 14th, 2011, 8:00 am

ok, why is it that EFFECTIC_DESIGNS's posts seem to centre around the "greatness" of the typical gorocery getter offerings in trinidad?

e.g.

Corollla engines + no oil = win

B14 is his dream car

Civic is the best sport compact ever

etc etc.

JWT

Postby JWT » October 14th, 2011, 8:10 am

we owned a corolla when you use to order cars by amar and hope you make the list and that was since series PAG. Since then to now we own corollas and no probs to date.
we also owned 323 and 626 and those gave real problems.

even the prado we now own have no probs and we real beating that

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 14th, 2011, 10:46 am

Groovemaster wrote:

roti powah! :D

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 14th, 2011, 4:45 pm

98' civic....over 400000km, 00'crv ...over 300000km...driven without oil and water...both took reeeeal abuse...and they still on d road...had two nissans,waste ah money.
No jap beats a honda!!!!!

Postby Hook » October 14th, 2011, 8:06 pm

*note to self: DO NOT buy vehicle from whyteliver...he abuses them apparently*

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 14th, 2011, 9:07 pm

whyteliver civic for sale?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 14th, 2011, 10:08 pm

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 14th, 2011, 11:04 pm

^^ clicks like

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 14th, 2011, 11:11 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:whyteliver civic for sale?

lol both sold already......on tuner to.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 14th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Hook wrote:Image

*note to self: DO NOT buy vehicle from whyteliver...he abuses them apparently*

y not yuh will b missing a good deal... 8-)

Postby Hook » October 14th, 2011, 11:21 pm

hahahahaha...torsion-tested engines ent?