2012 Budget

Re: 2012 Budget

Postby rfari » October 4th, 2011, 10:13 am

any idea of where our revenue gonna come from? IMO PP need to backpedal a bit and implement some of the measure that the previous administration had in place. people will fret but they would forget soon enough

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2011, 10:20 am

Revenues still gonna come predominantly from oil and gas. Just not in the quantities as years before.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 4th, 2011, 11:21 am

Property tax should be brought back….however u can’t just move me from paying $90 / year for donkey years to paying $5,000 a year. Maybe like $500 a year would be more reasonable. Can’t see PP doing anything like that in the immediate future tho, not after they campaigned so hard against the Property Tax.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 4th, 2011, 12:00 pm

pioneer wrote:They need to stop GATE, if people can't afford education then go pump gas for those who can.

I actually have a brain... and use it quite well... so no... or at least wait until next year

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 12:05 pm

I agree with removing the gas sub-whatever its called. Would be funny to see more and more people in premium vehicles with their windows down tho :lol: :lol:

I also think that it would encourage people to travel more (maybe) - Even if the prices of maxi and taxi drivers go up, it would still be cheaper than if you have to put in your own gas.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 4th, 2011, 12:08 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Property tax should be brought back….however u can’t just move me from paying $90 / year for donkey years to paying $5,000 a year. Maybe like $500 a year would be more reasonable. Can’t see PP doing anything like that in the immediate future tho, not after they campaigned so hard against the Property Tax.

Answer me this, would you sell a piece of land for the price donkey years ago or current market price?

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 12:11 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Property tax should be brought back….however u can’t just move me from paying $90 / year for donkey years to paying $5,000 a year. Maybe like $500 a year would be more reasonable. Can’t see PP doing anything like that in the immediate future tho, not after they campaigned so hard against the Property Tax.

Answer me this, would you sell a piece of land for the price donkey years ago or current market price?

PREACH!!!!!!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2011, 12:40 pm

Government needs to go after all the businesses that have not remitted the VAT collected. Outstanding VAT would be much more than even a few years of property tax at modern day rates.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 12:52 pm

AND Businesses that sell you stuff WITHOUT the vat (selling you items without writing a bill or putting it in the system). Both the customers and the businesses need to stop encouraging this. They want a better live in TT, YET they refuse to pay any VAT to HELP out the country!

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 1:00 pm

"Eh small man yuh want a bill? Hear na, if you don't want a bill you will get it for 100, you wouldn't pay the 115, no bill no vat!" -Store Owner in the west.

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 4th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Some of you guys sound bitter. Stop GATE? Really? It's something to be proud of not to be taken away just cause other countries don't have it. There are idiots at ALL academic levels so just cause you came across a few with GATE funded degrees doh mean you should remove the program for ALL persons.

You would laugh cuz people would use their AC less without the gas subsidy? Man grow up. If you think it would stop there you must be joking. That removal of the subsidy on gas and diesel would increase prices on pretty much everything. Then you would complain about that.

Another thing. The transport services in this country suck. The way to encourage people to travel more would be to actually create transport services that DO NOT suck. Forcing people to travel more without putting something better in place is backwards.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 1:03 pm

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 4th, 2011, 1:10 pm

rawCpoppa wrote:Some of you guys sound bitter. Stop GATE? Really? It's something to be proud of not to be taken away just cause other countries don't have it. There are idiots at ALL academic levels so just cause you came across a few with GATE funded degrees doh mean you should remove the program for ALL persons.

I'm all for GATE, if it supports programmes for which the country has a gap in knowledge/skills. because of a lack of this we now have thousands of graduates with degrees, and nowhere to go, all applying for OJT, the majority who get placed doing clerical duties.

If they can't restructure GATE then remove it altogether.

and poor people could do what I did back in the old days, take a loan and work yuh arse off to pay it back.

I see nothing wrong with GATE for technical vocational programmes either, once it is consistent with the country's needs.

Postby AllTrac » October 4th, 2011, 1:12 pm

lol@small man :lol:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 4th, 2011, 1:18 pm

"Paving roads with poor aggregate material lead to persistent need for resurfacing. Poor planning, communication, coordination between the Ministry of Works and Utility companies also lead to persistent need for resurfacing.
The paving is particularly ridiculous when WASA's mains planted below roadways for some illogical reason are in disrepair when roadways are paved. I recently witnessed a road properly paved by the works ministry and the following week dug up by TSTT to lay cables. I presume TSTT believed more people would soon move to that area and would require telecommunications services.

Indeed.

And I imagine uncle Jack's 750 million will most likely be used to repave a highway (which will need to be done repeatedly, and take about 4 months), as opposed to paving the raods that need it, like the Naparima Mayaro Main Road.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 1:20 pm

OR from central go right back!

I drove on Monroe road yesterday and almost got a headache!
When I got on Chin Chin road, I had motion sickness by the time I got to where I wanted to go.

Postby AllTrac » October 4th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Stephon. wrote:OR from central go right back!

I drove on Monroe road yesterday and almost got a headache!
When I got on Chin Chin road, I had motion sickness by the time I got to where I wanted to go.

monroe road is pretty bad, its been that way for years, I miss my 4x4 when i drive through monroe road. Now i drive through monroe road like if its a mine field

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 5th, 2011, 7:30 pm

Income Tax for individuals making over 120k per year to be taxed at 35%

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2011, 7:33 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Income Tax for individuals making over 120k per year to be taxed at 35%

Are you being serious?

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 5th, 2011, 7:39 pm

It is one of the revenue raising measures being considered so let us see if it will make it in the budget.

If you think of it since the government no touching the gas subsidy or bringing back property tax so they really have very little options left.

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm

They better bring back property tax. 35% on people making 120k+ per year is BS.
That's 10 grand a month or more.
Imagine a father being the only working man in the house making 10k a month, taking care of his kid and his wife. His new cheque will not be able to take care of them for much longer. Worse yet if he has a car loan and/or rent to pay :?

Postby pete » October 5th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Maybe from 60 to 120k you pay 25% as you do now, then 120 to 180 35% of that 60k more. Then over 180 45% of all earnings over 180k.

Postby rfari » October 5th, 2011, 8:21 pm

Tht ridiculous. Waiting till budget day.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2011, 10:25 pm

this budget is going to be very interesting,diversification is the talk of the town and it's being used to loosely and no1 seems to know how the government is going to diversify the economy to increase economic growth,seriously awaits this debate.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 8:19 am

I think they should promote pitch more. I mean trinidad is one only two countries that have it.

and we should start back investing in agriculture, especially sugar cane. Why was Caroni closed down in the first place? lol

Postby janfar » October 6th, 2011, 8:31 am

pete wrote:Maybe from 60 to 120k you pay 25% as you do now, then 120 to 180 35% of that 60k more. Then over 180 45% of all earnings over 180k.

So ah man who work hard to study, get a good education, excelled at his job by working hard and earning good salary should be taxed more than the man who scratch his scrotum through school and working CEPEP???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2011, 8:31 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:I think they should promote pitch more. I mean trinidad is one only two countries that have it.

and we should start back investing in agriculture, especially sugar cane. Why was Caroni closed down in the first place? lol

to me that is the most important thing,people fail to realise there is no substitute for food.we cannot eat oil and natural gas.

Postby TRAE » October 6th, 2011, 8:34 am

I dont think GATE should be stopped, i think that people that actually pass in secondary schools should have this access, there should be emphasis on things like YTEPP and CCC and that kinda services because lets face it, plenty people doh want school, but at the same time we need to keep them outta trouble. Gate is helping alot of people and i think that eliminating this just keeps the rich in the higher positions

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 8:36 am

janfar wrote:
pete wrote:Maybe from 60 to 120k you pay 25% as you do now, then 120 to 180 35% of that 60k more. Then over 180 45% of all earnings over 180k.

So ah man who work hard to study, get a good education, excelled at his job by working hard and earning good salary should be taxed more than the man who scratch his scrotum through school and working CEPEP???

thats a very retarded way of looking at it. so ppl who make less should be taxed more?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2011, 8:40 am

Admittedly whilst the idea of GATE is nice it should be revamped though. Any rational person would know that. Even the Minister of Tertiary Education advised Lok Jack GSB that there are too much ppl with MBAs.
Everyone went and do one because it was subsidized and today we all see these ppl in our work places sour and griping that they have more qualifications but salary is the same. Education should be about capacity building/innovation or else we end up with more qualified ppl chasing down the same jobs.