Re: BBM is down

Postby cinco » September 16th, 2011, 10:11 am

K74T wrote:
cinco wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I think OP got a bbm about how bbm not working in the region

my nokia 5301 dont get bbms :? :?
what part of TSTT informing us that you dont get???

5310 fadda

meh 9 eh wukkin :?

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 10:12 am

nervewrecker wrote:Its friday, lets start up a rumor & spread it about why BBM down.
lets get back at the mofo's for all the false news they gave in recent times. :drinking:

http://www.informationweek.com/news/mob ... /231601502

interesting

Postby crazybalhead » September 16th, 2011, 10:14 am

I had a BBM this morning.

Postby cinco » September 16th, 2011, 10:15 am

i had a BBW

Postby Bizzare » September 16th, 2011, 10:17 am

:o when BBWs go dong on yuh daiz pressure

Postby Habit7 » September 16th, 2011, 10:24 am

cinco wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I think OP got a bbm about how bbm not working in the region

my nokia 5301 dont get bbms :? :?

Exactly, thats why you shouldnt believe every bbm

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » September 16th, 2011, 10:26 am

This is torture... lol

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 16th, 2011, 10:48 am

I didn't get the bbm that bbm was down ... :| ...

oh well ! I don't care .. coz I dunno where my ph is .. :( even tho the bbm noise woulda help to locate it .. :(

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 10:52 am

eurogirl wrote:I didn't get the bbm that bbm was down ... :| ...

oh well ! I don't care .. coz I dunno where my ph is .. :( even tho the bbm noise woulda help to locate it .. :(

oho :mrgreen:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 16th, 2011, 11:10 am

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/09/ ... ews&rpc=71

(Reuters) - Research In Motion reported a steep drop in quarterly profit on limp sales of its smartphones and tablets, and offered investors little hope of a turnaround anytime soon, sending its shares tumbling.

RIM, which launched a string of refreshed BlackBerry phones in recent weeks, painted a dismal picture for its current quarter and said it now expects to reach only the lower end of an already reduced full-year outlook in a quarterly financial report issued late Thursday.

"This report is another nail in the coffin of management," said Edward Snyder, an analyst at Charter Equity Research. "Even though they guided down for this quarter, they still fell short of that."

The flagging performance by the one-time smartphone leader shows how far BlackBerry, once a byword for corporate communication, has fallen out of favor with both consumers and investors as Apple's iPhone and devices running Google's Android software take oversized bites out of the booming market, especially in the United States.

"It's pretty clear the BlackBerry platform is now in decline, said analyst Tavis McCourt at Morgan Keegan. "They really need QNX to reinvigorate the business."

RIM is hitting the labs to get the QNX software powering its PlayBook tablet onto its next generation of smartphones, possibly as soon as early 2012.

The limp numbers pile pressure on senior executives, who have been cajoled to step aside by investors and analysts worried about repeated failures to execute on strategy.

"If QNX is a bust that's when RIM needs to make strategic decisions as to whether it can go it alone," McCourt said.

RIM shipped just 10.6 million smartphones in the second quarter, as carriers struggled to sell year-old devices with limited processing power compared to newer rival products.

"I was stunned that the device number was below their guidance," said Peter Misek from Jefferies & Co.

Perhaps more ominously, RIM shipped only 200,000 PlayBook tablet computers, which went on sale globally in June after weathering some scathing reviews at a North American launch in April.

Analysts had expected RIM to ship almost 12 million phones and 600,000 tablets. RIM's own outlook was for BlackBerry shipments of between 11 million and 12.5 million.

Highlighting a widening gap, Apple sold more 20 million iPhones and more than 9 million iPads last quarter after virtually creating the tablet market last year.

CEO PROMISES

RIM's co-CEOs Mike Lazaridis and Jim Balsillie took turns explaining RIM's performance on a conference call after the results for a second straight quarter. Balsillie had previously taken the call on his own.

"We understand that the past few quarters have been challenging and we are confident that we are on track to return to growth in Q3 and beyond," said Lazaradis, who founded the company in 1985.

Acknowledging disappointing PlayBook shipments, Balsillie promised a software upgrade he dubbed PlayBook 2.0 and hinted it would be available by the time RIM hosts its developer conference in October.

Investors and analysts have largely lost patience though, and Balsillie and Lazaridis have a tough path back.

"Given management's consistent history of over-promising and under-delivering, we lack faith that the company can successfully hit the guidance that they've set," said technology analyst Bill Kreher at Edward Jones Investment.

He said he wouldn't be surprised if QNX-based phones are either delayed or pushed out to market with some functionality omitted.

BLACKBERRY REBOUND EXPECTED

The Waterloo, Ontario-based company's adjusted net profit fell 47 percent to $419 million, or 80 cents per diluted share, on revenue of $4.2 billion.

Analysts had on average expected RIM to earn 88 cents a share on revenue of $4.47 billion, according to Thomson Reuters I/B/E/S. The company, which issued a profit warning in June, earned $1.46 a share on sales of $4.62 billion in the year-earlier period.

RIM expects profit and BlackBerry shipments to rebound in the current quarter as upgraded, touchscreen versions of its Bold, Torch and Curve smartphones, plus a Torch-branded touchscreen-only device, start selling in volume across the world. But its outlook did not go beyond what analysts had anticipated.

RIM's Nasdaq-listed shares fell as much as 18 percent to $24.20 in after-hours trade following the results.

RIM expects to earn between $1.20 and $1.40 a share on sales between $5.3 billion and $5.6 billion in the three months to late November.

RIM said it had more than 70 million subscribers and sell-through was 13.7 million, meaning it was able to clear some excess inventory that had been lying unsold in carrier stores.

Postby stev » September 16th, 2011, 11:12 am

but wah d hell? everybody in d office say dem bbm wukkin...both bmobile and digi :S

Postby bushwakka » September 16th, 2011, 11:14 am

oh eemmmmm geeeee

dies

Postby Team Loco » September 16th, 2011, 11:28 am

everybody own down but mines work just fine. i feel special

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2011, 11:39 am

i have no problems tho

neither does the mrs

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » September 16th, 2011, 11:40 am

Mine just came back..
And of course the first thing I could get was a frikking forward!!
STEUPS!!

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 11:58 am

stev wrote:but wah d hell? everybody in d office say dem bbm wukkin...both bmobile and digi :S

Same.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 16th, 2011, 2:16 pm

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/blackberry-users-report-problems-with-bbm-service/article2168907/

BlackBerry users report problems with BBM service
RICHARD BLACKWELL
Globe and Mail Update
Published Friday, Sep. 16, 2011 1:37PM EDT
Last updated Friday, Sep. 16, 2011 1:39PM EDT

Research In Motion Ltd. (RIM-T23.61-5.79-19.69%) acknowledged Friday that it is having problems with the popular BBM instant messaging service on its BlackBerry devices.

In a posting on its Twitter feed, the company said some Canadian and Latin American customers have reported BBM issues, and BlackBerry support teams are investigating the problem.

Research In Motion (RIM-T)
23.61 -5.79 -19.69%
As of Sep 16, 2011 1:52
Range:1 Day 5 Day 1 Year View Larger Chart Add to Watchlist
The Twittersphere was rife with complaints on Friday morning – from users in Canada, the U.S., the Caribbean and South America – about BBM service not working or being very slow. However, it was also clear that many users were having no problems with the service.

Some telecom carriers also acknowledged the problems. On its Facebook account, Saskatchewan Telecommunications told its customers that there was an interruption in service that was causing slow or delayed BBM service. The carrier said RIM was aware of the problem and working on it.

Postby foss » September 16th, 2011, 2:18 pm

mine no work :( got two bbms and went again

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » September 16th, 2011, 2:38 pm

I guess all the guntas out of communications for the while...
cuz you know they doh have no credit to send no text :stalk:

/endBBrant

snowman

Postby snowman » September 16th, 2011, 2:45 pm

Getting msgs from earlier this morning.

Pressure.

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 2:46 pm

jsm1985 wrote:I guess all the guntas out of communications for the while...
cuz you know they doh have no credit to send no text :stalk:

/endBBrant

:rofl: reminds me of the time I saw a gunta buying a phonecard for his 8520. He was telling the cashier that they cut him, he had to put on 50 dollars to get back he bbm. I was like wtf?

Postby BrotherHood » September 16th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Mine working all afternoon. Digicel.

Postby foss » September 16th, 2011, 3:09 pm

everything else working (data-wise) but bbm... whatsapp and fb wukkin normelllll... PIECES

Postby AllTrac » September 16th, 2011, 3:56 pm

for some reason those pesky bbm broadcast still coming through.....FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF
FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2011, 3:56 pm

broadcast msg being sent out claiming to fix your bbm....

ent if yuh msg sent bbm wukking?

ROFL

Postby stev » September 16th, 2011, 4:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:broadcast msg being sent out claiming to fix your bbm....

ROFL

LMAO..

062345877 #REP :Broadcast this and your BBM will get repaired this is working.

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 4:18 pm

If you're getting that broadcast, then clearly you need to reevaluate the people you add on bbm.

Postby BrotherHood » September 16th, 2011, 4:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:broadcast msg being sent out claiming to fix your bbm....

ROFL

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2011, 4:21 pm

[RANT]GOSH BOY PPL FKIN CHUPIDDD!!!![/RANT]

Postby foss » September 16th, 2011, 6:43 pm

eh sharky, I get yuh broadcast earlier.. something about 'broadcast this msg....." was dat about?

I now buy ah samsung captivate 8-)