WTK: Electricity comsumption.... between a 110v & 220v AC

rikosher

Re: WTK: Electricity comsumption.... between a 110v & 220v A

Postby rikosher » September 9th, 2011, 8:39 pm

these new meters ttec using now measures power not current like the old electromech ones.
so accordin to a guy here, chk d power rating on d unit.
generally once d load is d same, d power wud be d same dsnt matter wat voltage u use...

ttec can read d meters in ur house frm there office, they cud call uh an tell uh excatly wat number on d meter at dat time, these meters have a <0.5% error margin, neting grter dan dat dey dse regect d meter. whereas d old meter was >10%

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2011, 8:49 pm

why would d old ones uses current if the bill always had kilowatt hrs?

and the new ones they should be able to read it remotely so no more estimating

Postby pete » September 9th, 2011, 9:00 pm

Advantage of the 220 would more be in the wiring requirements. The current for a 110V A/C would be double that for a 220V so breaker size and wire would have to be sized accordingly. Thicker wire would be more expensive but there shouldn't be any difference in power consumption.

rikosher

Postby rikosher » September 10th, 2011, 1:28 am

the old meter had a coil n wud spin faster or slower depending on the amount of current u used, dat was d turning disc u wud see, n dat disc wud turn a series of numbers , these nos wud represent d amot of units used and inturn ttec wud do deh calculation ( the previous numba minus d new value) a multiply buy d period of time which is every 2 months, and den dey wud come up with a kWh value den dey wud multiply d kWh by uh rate (residental or commerical) and dis is how dey use to com up wit d amt u hve to pay, dats why dey say it was an estimate, cus dey use to estimate d value on meter cus dey never use to come n check it all d time...

dats why wen these new meters now come on d system ppl taught dey bill was wrng or too high, cus dey using d same amt of tings in their house, but infact its more accurate to the true amt of power u using in uh hme. ppl jus accustom payin less cus d old meters/system were less efficient and accurate.

as for d size of the wires used, there is d electrical code in trinidad dat specifys wat size to use for wat appliance n equiptment, dey dse rate d wire size according to the current consumption.
for lights its 1.5mm n normal everyday use plug its 2,5mm...whereas for air cond, it wud vary wit d size of d unit, a 12000 btu dse normally use 4.0mm wit a 30A breaker.

smell

Postby smell » September 10th, 2011, 8:22 pm

^^^What he said +
Ttec reads the meter over a 2mth period and then bills you,the next 2mths is averaged and then bills you, the next 2mths the meter is read and so the cycle continues

We have the lowest electricity rate in the entire Caribbean....dont know for how much longer tho...

rikosher

Postby rikosher » September 10th, 2011, 9:11 pm

wit these new meters it hve non like estimate again, every bill dat u recieve is the actual amount u used for the 2mth period.

wud explain how these new meter operates ,but dnt wanna give too much info jus incase na....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 11th, 2011, 6:08 pm

rikosher wrote:wit these new meters it hve non like estimate again, every bill dat u recieve is the actual amount u used for the 2mth period.

wud explain how these new meter operates ,but dnt wanna give too much info jus incase na....

lol.. that info is public knowledge yo!
http://davestech.blogspot.com/2008/02/itron-remote-read-electric-meter.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automatic_meter_reading

rikosher

Postby rikosher » September 11th, 2011, 6:39 pm

lol ^^^ point taken, but theres a lil more to it...long story short there is a way to beat this meter...n i jus dont wanna gve out ne info dat wud educate ppl as to how, if dey figure it out on dey own , its all well n gud wit me...