Discontinuing Degree - What happens with GATE?

mitsuboi

Re: Discontinuing Degree - What happens with GATE?

Postby mitsuboi » September 7th, 2011, 8:22 am

As if I wasn't in enough debt alyuh saying I hadda repay $20k

1lanate yes

de_burr

Postby de_burr » September 7th, 2011, 9:05 am

Nobody aint give de man ah proper resonse yet..... From my limited knowledge of the gate program you have three options:
1. finish the degree (since you have one year to complete again) also the cheapest option.
2. repay the ministry the monies payed by government of Trinidad and Tobago for the 2 year already funded.
3. pay for the first year of the new programe ( you will need to inform the ministry)

BY de way u dont have to take my word on any of this....MSTTE No. are 645-2811, 663-3174, 662- 4647......

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 7th, 2011, 9:36 am

de_burr wrote:Nobody aint give de man ah proper resonse yet..... From my limited knowledge of the gate program you have three options:
1. finish the degree (since you have one year to complete again) also the cheapest option.
2. repay the ministry the monies payed by government of Trinidad and Tobago for the 2 year already funded.
3. pay for the first year of the new programe ( you will need to inform the ministry)

BY de way u dont have to take my word on any of this....MSTTE No. are 645-2811, 663-3174, 662- 4647......

Lol trinituner. Anyway thanks for the info. I figured as much that I'd end up having to pay back, which I do not mind. I still have some time for the masters because I am applying for the January semester, so I just want to clear my name by then from all now because it would work out to be much less with GATE assistance rather than paying it all on my own.

To the rest of you all who complete it, your repayment is working in Trinidad and Tobago at a public or private firm for the stipulated time period on the contract. Should not be an issue if you planning to live in Trini for a while.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 7th, 2011, 9:57 am

Bizzare wrote:Will gate fund you on another degree once your current "loan" has been paid?

Well I paid off some money I had for them and applied for it again for another degree so yeah.

Postby Bizzare » September 7th, 2011, 10:03 am

Thanx, I kept checking for a reply cuz I wanna see about some stuff today.
I dunno, think I have to cancel the degree and I'll have to ask how to cancel gate, pay back etc
UWI workers are very misinformed. All give you different information over the phone and in person.

de_burr

Postby de_burr » September 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

mitsuboi wrote:Wait wtf am I reading....u have to pay back d money if u drop out O_O

I started my degree an dropped out in d first year/first semester because 1. Classrooms were too packed and I prefer individual attention (not straining to see d whiteboard) 2. As a shift working individual I expect some leeway when I can't make it to classes or miss a quiz/exam 3. Four years is too damn long to go through part-time classes and 4. Lecturers wanna treat u like u r in high school.

Anywayz sorry to take over ur thread OP but how much does one hadda pay back GATE???

Mitsuboi u don't have to pay back gate....if you want to start another program and want\need gate funding then you will need to repay what they pay for you or pay for the first year of the new program...... they will suggest the cheaper option for you. As for the amount u owe u will have to contact the ministry to find out that.

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » September 7th, 2011, 10:26 am

ok here is what happens, if u dropped out, you would have to go to the STTE office next to SACC and they would tell you how much you owe, you would have to write a letter and state that you are either going to pay it back or work it off....once your debt is cleared you would be able to receive GATE funding again....that is what I was told the beginning of this year when i dropped out of uwi

Postby bushwakka » September 7th, 2011, 12:29 pm

wow, so i can't do more than one undergrad degrees using GATE?

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » September 7th, 2011, 12:54 pm

bushwakka wrote:wow, so i can't do more than one undergrad degrees using GATE?

that is unclear... if i base it on what the guy at STTE was telling me, if its another institution and you pay off your debt then you're free to be funded by GATE again for any other program.

I dropped out of uwi for health reasons and was looking to go into an entirely differnt programme/ school (pivot point). He gave me my balance, a small slip of paper with instructions to write the letter and told me it would needed to be paid off first, then I'll be GATE approved once again.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » September 7th, 2011, 1:14 pm

Chill_Factor wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so you waited 2yrs to realize you didn't like studying whatever you're doing????????

Lol at first it went pretty well but after a while, I realized it was just not for me.

u sure u aint find it too hard :evil:

de_burr

Postby de_burr » September 7th, 2011, 1:24 pm

bushwakka wrote:wow, so i can't do more than one undergrad degrees using GATE?

To answer your question simply.... YES...... as long u finish de first one.....easier said than done. :drinking:

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 7th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Update:

The good news was I didn't have to pay back as much as I thought, ended up being $13,200. They don't add an interest fee either, which was even better. Finally, you could do as many programs as you like, but only one at a time. If you do drop out before you graduate though, you would have to pay back what they covered for you. Once that is cleared, you can re-apply for GATE for another program on their approved list without any hassle.

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2011, 12:38 pm

rfari wrote:Hope the government put the on allyuh slackers

we know where you're headed

Thts a typo