Buying from Walmart

Re: Buying from Walmart

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 3rd, 2011, 12:48 am

eViLwOn wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Local businesses over do it with their prices. It's not worth it.

Agree to a certain extent, I look at quality and price of the local items that I may be interested in versus the foreign one before I make my purchase.
Many times one can find cheaper products of comparable or if not better quality abroad but when you factor in the duties and cost of importing the item, it may be better to buy local...

agreed duties and vat would kill ya sometimes

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 3rd, 2011, 12:49 am

eViLwOn wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Local businesses over do it with their prices. It's not worth it.

Agree to a certain extent, I look at quality and price of the local items that I may be interested in versus the foreign one before I make my purchase.
Many times one can find cheaper products of comparable or if not better quality abroad but when you factor in the duties and cost of importing the item, it may be better to buy local...

agreed duties and vat would kill ya sometimes

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 3rd, 2011, 8:30 am

Duties and VAT considered, I'm still coming out cheaper buying from abroad. Besides, many items I see online are very difficult to find locally. If you are lucky to find them, be prepared to pay BIG $$$$$$$$$$.

Concerning the CC issue, I'm not able to buy from Walmart, Kmart, Target, etc. I tried putting my shipping address and billing address as the same i.e my skybox address but still no luck.

Thanks anyways for the ideas.......

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 3rd, 2011, 8:50 am

Motofreek wrote:Duties and VAT considered, I'm still coming out cheaper buying from abroad. Besides, many items I see online are very difficult to find locally. If you are lucky to find them, be prepared to pay BIG $$$$$$$$$$.

Concerning the CC issue, I'm not able to buy from Walmart, Kmart, Target, etc. I tried putting my shipping address and billing address as the same i.e my skybox address but still no luck.

Thanks anyways for the ideas.......

what items you looking to buy :?:

daquijones

Postby daquijones » September 3rd, 2011, 12:24 pm

Motofreek wrote:Tried searching, got nothing that applies to me. I'm using Republic Bank Internet VISA CC.

I get this error after placing order :
Unfortunately, we are unable to accept credit or debit cards issued to billing addresses outside the U.S.

add a us address as ur secondary address on ur cc account...

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 3rd, 2011, 6:12 pm

Where exactly do I add the US address to my CC ? In my republic bank profile or on the website (WALMART) ?

I am already using my skybox address as my billing address... which also is my shipping address

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 3rd, 2011, 6:21 pm

Motofreek wrote:Where exactly do I add the US address to my CC ? In my republic bank profile or on the website (WALMART) ?

you need to fill out a form at your local bank branch specifying what address you want as a secondary billing address on your card. that form then goes to CC center where it takes about a week to process. confirmation of the addition will be made to you in writing

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 3rd, 2011, 9:08 pm

@biggy82 Thanks ! That's sounds like the most sensible advice so far. I'll definitely try that next week

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 3rd, 2011, 9:14 pm

Motofreek wrote:@biggy82 Thanks ! That's sounds like the most sensible advice so far. I'll definitely try that next week

Advice given sounds really good...the strange thing is that I did none of the sorts with my Scotia bank Mastercard...just used the skybox addy for mailing and shipping and that's it.
Prolly things work differently over at Republic?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 4th, 2011, 3:42 pm

eViLwOn wrote:
Motofreek wrote:@biggy82 Thanks ! That's sounds like the most sensible advice so far. I'll definitely try that next week

Advice given sounds really good...the strange thing is that I did none of the sorts with my Scotia bank Mastercard...just used the skybox addy for mailing and shipping and that's it.
Prolly things work differently over at Republic?

it depends on what site you shop on. some sites (like Amazon for instance) dont care if the bill addy doesnt match the ship addy. other smaller sites insist on it. and now with MasterCard 3D secure, most sites dont care about bill or ship addys. however, 3D secure has not reached our shores as yet

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 4th, 2011, 4:50 pm

Allyuh fellas soundin like some rel big time CC users dey boy. I doh even kno what allyuh talkin bout. 3D ??? huh !? I is jus a small fry. Just use my CC to buy small ting for home...

I will let you all know how it turns out. BTW do I have to do the verification thing one time ? How do I do that ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 4th, 2011, 6:22 pm

Motofreek wrote:I will let you all know how it turns out. BTW do I have to do the verification thing one time ? How do I do that ?

3D secure is where MasterCard give you a 12-digit ID# (secure code) only known by you and them. when you use the card on an online site, it automatically redirects you to a MC secure site which asks you for certain numbers in your secure code (like 2nd, 5th, 7th and 10th).

we dont have that in Trini tho....at least, not the last time i checked (3 months ago)

Postby RBphoto » September 5th, 2011, 9:55 am

The walmart gift card works well too. Give someone in the states the money to buy the card and send it to you (or just send you the card number) Ordering is even simpler this way.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 27th, 2011, 1:49 pm

Finally got my skybox address as a second address on my CC. Went over to Walmart.com to buy a T-shirt and guess what.........

Same problem. They're not accepting international CCs. I called CC center who told me it was out of their control

Postby Team Loco » September 27th, 2011, 2:09 pm

i was at walmart last week in miami. visited several stores. went online and bought some items that were listed in stock. went over to collect and they told me no stock. they redirected me to a store half hr away. when i got there, same issue, had to be issued a refund. guy told me to never bother with their online stock count. its never accurate

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 27th, 2011, 2:32 pm

Motofreek wrote:Finally got my skybox address as a second address on my CC. Went over to Walmart.com to buy a T-shirt and guess what.........

Same problem. They're not accepting international CCs. I called CC center who told me it was out of their control

i just got some stuff from walmart using my TT CC :|

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 27th, 2011, 4:58 pm

ANYBODY USES A REPUBLIC BANK VISA CARD TO BUY FROM WALMART ???

It seems the issue is with RBL itself.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 27th, 2011, 5:20 pm

This is the error:

We're sorry, there is a slight problem (see below).
We cannot accept international credit cards. Please use a different credit card, or contact your credit card company if you feel you have received this message in error.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 27th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Motofreek wrote:This is the error:

We're sorry, there is a slight problem (see below).
We cannot accept international credit cards. Please use a different credit card, or contact your credit card company if you feel you have received this message in error.

Dat situation is really fcuked up bro, I made four purchases this month, one from Walmart, Kmart, JCPenny and Foster and Smith Aquatics. In all these purchases my skybox addy was also my billing addy.
I used my Scotiabank Mastercard to pay for each purchase without any problem whatsoever. So I can't really see a reason why your intended purchase was rejected.

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » September 27th, 2011, 9:52 pm

Just for info, BestBuy refuses to accept it too. It seems like I can only make purchases from Amazon and eBay.

Maybe it's the skbox address ?

[using UPXpres]