Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby rfari » July 26th, 2011, 5:38 pm

tr1ad wrote:G-Shock

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 26th, 2011, 7:24 pm

pioneer wrote:Where were all these people when manning de in power?

indeed.....but unions were quite the supporter of this gov't during electioneering, so guess is union time now.

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 7:28 pm

Samo wrote:this morning some parts of penal had no current.

i thought that was a normal thing :idea:

Postby sliderz1 » July 26th, 2011, 8:00 pm

i have mine 4yrs now :|

Postby sharkman121 » July 26th, 2011, 8:29 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Image

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2011, 8:56 pm

rfari wrote:

wondering the same thing.

Not just the unions... EVERYBODY.

Now farmers about crops, residents about roads, teachers about crime, police about pay...

Is either they did fraid Manning because he was a dictator, or they liked how things were under the PNM. Because is the same thing was going on back then and for seven years everybody keep they 'kants' quiet.

That or is mostly PNM people is the ring leaders of the noise making (baring the unions' legitimate demands)... which would then mean dem indian really docile in this country. Cuz PP is an injun party, righto?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 26th, 2011, 8:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:

ammmm no...... :|

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 8:58 pm

People in Trinidad just reach their BS threshold.
Has nothing to do with who in power.
Trinis tolerant but its only so much ppl could take.

*awaits riot*

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 8:59 pm

Samo wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

ammmm no...... :|

from what i heard.
current goes in penal once/week.

did it go more than once this week? then it may be the strike then :drinking:

Postby rollingstock » July 26th, 2011, 9:02 pm

Was at the meeting, it didn't go too well, Kams tell the unions if they want to try to shut down the country go ahead and try.
My gastank full, in for the long haul

Postby sliderz1 » July 26th, 2011, 9:07 pm

^^hmmm.........1/4 tank of diesel...........i'll definately fill tmrw then!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 9:11 pm

rollingstock wrote:Was at the meeting, it didn't go too well, Kams tell the unions if they want to try to shut down the country go ahead and try.

which side of the table were u on stock?

the union or the govt?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2011, 9:12 pm

Strauss wrote:
rfari wrote:

Now farmers about crops, residents about roads, teachers about crime, police about pay...

Is either they did fraid Manning because he was a dictator, or they liked how things were under the PNM. Because is the same thing was going on back then and for seven years everybody keep they 'kants' quiet.

That or is mostly PNM people is the ring leaders of the noise making (baring the unions' legitimate demands)... which would then mean dem indian really docile in this country. Cuz PP is an injun party, righto?

Maybe Manning was an effective leader and got things done.

Or he knew how to run the show.
I hope they do this with all government to come.

And just shut down the country already.

Postby rfari » July 26th, 2011, 9:30 pm

kamla is more approachable and accommodating than manning so far. so i could see why everyone wants dey pound of flesh. buh if i was she, i woulda tell dem hymc

Postby Chimera » July 26th, 2011, 9:32 pm

rollingstock wrote:Was at the meeting, it didn't go too well, Kams tell the unions if they want to try to shut down the country go ahead and try.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby rfari » July 26th, 2011, 9:34 pm

sliderz1 wrote:

mine. last christmas. strong as an ox

Postby rollingstock » July 26th, 2011, 9:34 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

which side of the table were u on stock?

the union or the govt?

Neither i was standing to the side like a beh beh :roll:

Postby sliderz1 » July 26th, 2011, 10:13 pm

RS ..........u wuz eeeeen yuh natural state

rfari........dem watch rel durable

Postby K74T » July 27th, 2011, 1:06 am

Roget: From today, we are going to declare war

By Renuka Singh

Story Created: Jul 27, 2011 at 1:00 AM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 27, 2011 at 1:00 AM ECT

A war cry has gone out to all workers following the trade union meeting with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday, which ended without progress.

Talks broke down three hours into the meeting, as the two sides reached the same five per cent snag over the wage negotiations. The five per cent impasse has peppered wage negotiations for months and has now become the reason for a union-styled war.

"From today, from this evening, we are going to declare war," said Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) president-general Ancel Roget.

Roget led a team of union leaders, representing 19 trade unions, at yesterday's meeting with the Prime Minister to remove the national five per cent "cap" that has plagued workers at the majority of negotiations.

"We are entering a period of war. The exact amount of days, we cannot say," he said.

Roget said though the Prime Minister maintained there was no wage cap, part of her offer included scrapping current negotiations and restarting with a clean zero per cent slate. This, Roget said, was unacceptable.

"We have been at all of the bargaining tables and all of them are saying to us that there is a cap. There is in fact a cap, despite the lack of knowledge by the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister said from this evening there is no cap, but we must start back at ground zero," Roget said.

"Effectively, we have lost all the ground that we have already achieved that was stymied by the five per cent has been lost," he said.

Roget said what the unions recognised then was that all negotiating entities could then be "surreptitiously" advised to not go beyond five per cent. "So we may discussing with you and you may not even get to five per cent. You may end up at four or at three, but we have already passed that," he said.

He said what they wanted was a continuation of the negotiations without the five per cent ceiling.

The national shutdown, which was held by the unions as a bargaining tool before this meeting, is expected to begin today.

Roget said when they exposed that hidden ploy to "set them up", the Prime Minister then told the unions to go ahead and shut down the country "in a fit of frustration".

"We asked, 'What you say, Prime Minister?' and she returned with that instruction to shut down the country," he said.

"We are honest, law-abiding citizens. We are diligent workers and if the Prime Minister give us a task, in whatever shape or form we are gearing to carry out that task," he said.

"Carrying out that instruction will convince her that workers are serious," he said.

"What in fact has happened is that the Prime Minister has declared war on the workers," Roget said.

Roget said the unions will adopt a militant approach to force the Government's hand in the wage cap debate.

"There will be a campaign of workplace issues which would entail different types of responses, including a shutdown," he said.

"Instructions have already been given," Roget said.

Roget said there will be not follow-up meetings with the Prime Minister until that five per cent cap is removed.

"We still leave it open to the Government to let good sense prevail and revoke that unfair decision of the wage cap," he said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Roget__From_today__we_are_going_to_declare_war-126231983.html

Postby eliteauto » July 27th, 2011, 1:12 am

Postby janfar » July 27th, 2011, 1:19 am

Oh em gee.... ***kicks back to watch idiots grovel***

Postby K74T » July 27th, 2011, 1:26 am

eliteauto wrote:Image

Postby buzz » July 27th, 2011, 1:50 am

they want better wages for the same sh1tty work ? :lol:

this reasoning is why we'll never progress

trinis FTL, our attitudes are most disgusting :arrow:

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2011, 2:22 am

oh great..cues panic buying at gas stations.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 27th, 2011, 5:16 am

Pity we never hear the other side of the table so we can understand the reason for marginal wage increases.

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2011, 7:43 am

Strauss wrote:
rfari wrote:

Maybe Manning was an effective leader and got things done.

Or he knew how to run the show.
I hope they do this with all government to come.

And just shut down the country already.

or its just that if you fart too hard and a lil shite comes out
this goverment sends someone to wipe it for you and then gives you a new house.
The way they make everyone feel now its worse than when Eric Williams was PM

Postby ismithx » July 27th, 2011, 7:58 am

rfari wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

mine. last christmas. strong as an ox

have mine since 2007 September, still running the original battery :mrgreen:

Postby nemisis » July 27th, 2011, 8:14 am

buzz wrote:they want better wages for the same sh1tty work ? :lol:

this reasoning is why we'll never progress

trinis FTL, our attitudes are most disgusting :arrow:

This logic only holds if prices for commodities don't increase independently of the pay for shitty work. You wanna go the grocery and feel like a big shot because you buying kiss and not bakery hops??
Last edited by nemisis on July 27th, 2011, 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » July 27th, 2011, 8:16 am

imo, the best timepieces money can buy. rolled over mine in a car park. dust it off, rinse and back on wrist :twisted:

Samo

Postby Samo » July 27th, 2011, 8:19 am

did wasa took the 5%?