Flugtag trinidad review

Re: Flugtag trinidad review

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2011, 12:15 pm

well if someone did have an emergency... what yuh wuda say... yuh shuda take in sick d day before or after the 3rd july?

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » July 4th, 2011, 12:17 pm

This was a great from my point of view.
Spent 3&1/2hrs in traffic frm MT to William's Bay, reach WB 11:30am, which to me was good enough time. Those backroads real help me out (i think 3/4 of the people goin didn't know of those roads) but i had my fun in the traffic as well.
I didn't like that it took close to 3hrs to go through the 1st 10 teams. WTF was up with that? This killed it for me, but was great nonetheless
Also cell services were lacking! couldn't call/text anyone while i was there.

Postby foss » July 4th, 2011, 12:17 pm

tr1ad wrote:foss if yuh famalee from up in glencoe went to church and spend 2-3 hrs getting back home yuh wuda say d same ting?

i doh have family in trini :( all dem livin foreign

everyone new well in advance the size of crowds.. why redbull have to go out of pocket to pay for shuttles? it wasn't a government event. stop pointing fingers na..

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 4th, 2011, 12:17 pm

so for all those who thought that it was a bad location- i suppose that you have a better location in mind?

South is OUT of the question, central nas no good water front places with any access,
Anywhere alone the NORTH shore would have been worse.

So where exactly should this event shoul dhave been held?

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2011, 12:20 pm

tobago

Postby foss » July 4th, 2011, 12:20 pm

pioneer wrote:It eh affect dem so it wasn't ah problem, general trini backward mentality.

how did the event affect you?
please share your experience with us.

I knew not to bother leaving my house yesterday. Sadly I didn't suffer

Postby 16 cycles » July 4th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Ingredients

Red Bull contains taurine, glucuronolactone, caffeine, B vitamins, sucrose, and glucose. Red Bull sugar-free also contains aspartame, acesulfame K, and sucralose in place of sucrose and glucose.[20]

Red Bull GmbH also manufactures Red Bull Cola, containing the coca leaf, which has sparked a controversy in Germany regarding minute traces of cocaine.[21]
[edit] Health effects

A review published in 2008 found no documented reports of negative or positive health effects associated with the amount of taurine used in energy drinks, including Red Bull, concluding that "The amounts of guarana, taurine, and ginseng found in popular energy drinks are far below the amounts expected to deliver either therapeutic benefits or adverse events. However, caffeine and sugar are present in amounts known to cause a variety of adverse health effects."[22] Another publication found that "the number of available publications that really go into the details in this topic is also rather poor".[23]

Commonly reported adverse effects due to consumption of the levels of caffeine used in the quantities commonly present in Red Bull are effects such as headache, nausea, and anxiety (see Health effects of caffeine). For drinking too much Red Bull and side-effects including tachycardia (see Caffeine intoxication). A 2008 position statement issued by the National Federation of State High School Associations made the following recommendations about energy drink consumption, in general, by young athletes:[24]

Water and appropriate sports drinks should be used for rehydration as outlined in the NFHS Document “Position Statement and Recommendations for Hydration to Minimize the Risk for Dehydration and Heat Illness.”
Energy drinks should not be used for hydration. Nor should they be used for performance enhancement
Information about the absence of benefit and the presence of potential risk associated with energy drinks should be widely shared among all individuals who interact with young athletes.
Energy drinks should not be consumed by athletes who are dehydrated.
Energy drinks should not be consumed, without prior medical approval, by athletes taking over the counter or prescription medications.

[edit] Cardiovascular effects

The results of a study showed that the ingestion of one, 250mL can of sugar-free Red Bull, in a sample of 30 healthy young adults, had an immediate detrimental effect on both endothelial function, and normal blood coagulation. This temporarily raised the cardiovascular risk in these individuals to a level comparable to that of an individual with established coronary artery disease.[13]

Based on their results, researchers involved with the study cautioned against the consumption of Red Bull in individuals under stress, in those with high blood pressure, or in anyone with established atherosclerotic disease.[25] Red Bull representatives, however, stated that this observed increase in cardiovascular risk was not felt to be different from that associated with drinking a regular cup of coffee.[26] They also stated that they believed that Red Bull must be safe, as it was felt the only way Red Bull could have such substantial global sales is if various health authorities had concluded the drink safe to consume.

There has been at least one case report of Red Bull overdose causing postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome in a young athlete.[27] A February 3, 2009 article in The Daily Telegraph called, "Red Bull 'may have triggered heart condition that killed student'" reported on the death of a 21 year-old woman who died after drinking four cans of Red Bull as well as alcohol at "social levels".[28] It was believed, but had not been proven, that she suffered from a rare heart condition called long QT Syndrome.[28] She was on medication for epilepsy. A medical examination found that there were no illegal drugs in her system. The article quoted a doctor as saying, "The QT levels may have grown over a few years, or it may have been artificially pushed over the limit by caffeine".[29]
[edit] Cocaine controversy

In April and June 2009, batches of "Red Bull Cola" drinks imported from Austria were found to contain between 0.1 - 0.3 micrograms of cocaine per litre, according to Hong Kong officials. In Taiwan it was found that the importer was due to launch a marketing campaign the next day. Importing cocaine to the island is an offense that is punishable by death or a life sentence in prison. In Germany, 11 out of 16 states had already banned the drinks by May 25, 2009.[8][9][10][11][12]

Testing of Red Bull Energy Drink and its variations has shown that a person with a low tolerance for cocaine would [theoretically] have to consume two million cans of the drink in a single sitting before becoming critically ill from the cocaine.[30] However, this finding is legally irrelevant since distribution of cocaine is illegal in any quantity in Taiwan. At this point, no further action has been taken on the matter in Taiwan.
[edit] Caffeine content

The caffeine content of a single can of Red Bull contains 80 mg/250 ml of caffeine.[31][32] This is about the same as one cup of normal coffee, or slightly less depending on the brewing method.[33] The actual caffeine level in Red Bull can vary depending on country, as some countries have legal restrictions on how much caffeine is allowed in drinks.

As is the case with other caffeinated beverages, Red Bull drinkers may experience adverse effects as a result of overuse.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Bull

Postby foss » July 4th, 2011, 12:24 pm

okay 16 cycles.

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2011, 12:26 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:so for all those who thought that it was a bad location- i suppose that you have a better location in mind?

South is OUT of the question, central nas no good water front places with any access,

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby foss » July 4th, 2011, 12:27 pm

foss wrote:
pioneer wrote:It eh affect dem so it wasn't ah problem, general trini backward mentality.

Didn't bother me either, i knew to stay away from that crap.

However it affected my countrymen.

Imagine how the entire world is laughing at us now.

as opposed to them not laughing at us when?
cricket? football?
Its only when thing free people jump on board anyway. If it was ticketed, then I could understand.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » July 4th, 2011, 12:28 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:so for all those who thought that it was a bad location- i suppose that you have a better location in mind?

South is OUT of the question,

:? :?
please elaborate on this....

Postby Stephon. » July 4th, 2011, 12:32 pm

If I was kamla I woulda set up a toll booth and collect a 5 dollars for people to enter chag with their vehicles. Easy 100000 in rum buying next day

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2011, 12:35 pm

no mention of finding keeshan phone yes

hadda pass by him later and tell him all is lost

Postby Damien » July 4th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Champion troll yes hehehe

Postby pete » July 4th, 2011, 12:42 pm

It affected me cuz i wanted to go buy doubles yesterday morning but it woulda taken me 3 hrs to get back home :(

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2011, 12:46 pm

POS Waterfront, it easily handles 20,000 ppl on a weekday

slick

Postby slick » July 4th, 2011, 12:53 pm

pioneer wrote:It should of been ticketed

care to explain how that woulda work?

so many vantage points along that area...were they going to cordon off everywhere???
and ppl on boats and other vessels would have been charged some how???

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 4th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Event was good overall.

If you wanted to be there early, you need to leave home before 6 am.

I left home at 7 am and got there at 2 pm.

One of the MAJOR reasons is people breaking the law and riding pavements, using the shoulder, going up one ways, passing on people lawn, etc etc

When you have those a$$holes doing that and just bypasssing everyone waiting, that causes the problem.

But to hell with that.. Our team WON, and them boys going on a Vacation while most haters/naysayers aint have anything to show for it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 1:14 pm

^ ditto! Congrats to your team!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 1:23 pm

foss wrote:

Didn't bother me either, i knew to stay away from that crap.

However it affected my countrymen.

Imagine how the entire world is laughing at us now.
exactly how are they laughing at us. Pios sometimes I think your hand has a spasm when it touches the keyboard and nonsense just spews out.

the event was great and something worth experiencing - especially being the first one in the Caribbean held here in T&T

It was a big deal and a huge event - not everyone could have attended, if you wanted to be there then get there early - no one said it would be extra convenient to be part of the experience.

Basically Red Bull had a competition and said hey if you wanna come down and check it out you are free to do so, how ever which way you want to get there. People on their boats had no problem either.

IMO it was great to witness the event and see the huge turnout.

Flugtag Jamaica should be really good too!

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 4th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Duane,
Minus the rants of mindless few who just need to type, im sure that you'll agree that regarding the access / egress of this event, could have been better planned and implemented to allow for minimal chaos.

rossi

Postby rossi » July 4th, 2011, 1:55 pm

There is now way any sort of planning and implementation could have helped this event......no way.
No amount of police or army officials can hold back citizens when they heading to a free event.
Shuttle service would not have worked because there is no place to park cars in downtown POS. Carpooling might have worked but that would have required police to check every single vehicle.
Ferry service running non stop would not have worked because where are the ppl going to be dropped off?
The only way was to not have it here in the first place and that's out of the question because I"m glad they came and had the 1st one in the Caribbean here.
If everyone had left early the traffic would have started even earlier.

There isn't any place to hold an event like that on the island other than Chaguaramas. If, and it's a big if, south had a venue like that then it would have worked because there are many access points throughout....

Say what, the event come and gone, one man dead, ppl get robbed and so on and so on.....9 days max and we forgetting about this.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 4th, 2011, 2:02 pm

rossi wrote:There is now way any sort of planning and implementation could have helped this event......no way.
No amount of police or army officials can hold back citizens when they heading to a free event.
Shuttle service would not have worked because there is no place to park cars in downtown POS. Carpooling might have worked but that would have required police to check every single vehicle.
Ferry service running non stop would not have worked because where are the ppl going to be dropped off?
The only way was to not have it here in the first place and that's out of the question because I"m glad they came and had the 1st one in the Caribbean here.

There isn't any place to hold an event like that on the island other than Chaguaramas. If, and it's a big if, south had a venue like that then it would have worked because there are many access points throughout....

Say what, the event come and gone, one man dead, ppl get robbed and so on and so on.....9 days max and we forgetting about this.

There's the Parkade on Edward Street (and Neal and Massy one just a lil way up), Waterfront Multistory Parking and the multilevel parking opposite the Twin Towers. I'm pretty sure that's well over 4,000 parking spots available in any park and ride scheme.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » July 4th, 2011, 2:30 pm

red dull did provide a private boat service from the waterfront to pier 1 but it was basically for red bull vvips and brydens staff.....we actually parked up in hyatt and took the boat to pier1 where we had a blast and then was provided a boat ride back to hyatt.....so they did plan to an extent imho the traffic couldnt be avoided and i'm also sure that in other countries more chaos ensues

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 4th, 2011, 2:33 pm

rossi wrote:There is now way any sort of planning and implementation could have helped this event......no way.
WRONG ON MANY LEVELS
Shuttle service would not have worked because there is no place to park cars in downtown POS.
WRONG. THERE ARE MANY LEVELS
Carpooling might have worked but that would have required police to check every single vehicle.
Ferry service running non stop would not have worked because where are the ppl going to be dropped off?ON ANY OF THE MILLION JETTY'S IN CHAG

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 4th, 2011, 2:36 pm

who have pics ah all d sexy ladies there...

rossi

Postby rossi » July 4th, 2011, 2:36 pm

tarzan, what was the ratio of VVIP and Brydens Staff to the "locals" ???

Sleeper, the "wrong on many levels", explain nah.

ttdrifter

Postby ttdrifter » July 4th, 2011, 3:00 pm

As usual trust trinis to be entertaining. From the word go, Traffic=entertainment
Flugtag=Entertainment
Police=entertainment
Pier 1 security= entertainment
News=entertainment
Accidents along the way=entertainment

To the people who lost/annoyed/angry ah rel sorry, but we all Trinis so we know your ill fate and discomfort/inconvenience had to be somebody else fault.

Thanks to all who made it possible I was well entertained.....

As far as traffic is concerned to the people who spent 3-4hrs in traffic welcome to the hell of ppl living in south and work in Port of Spain. (Must big up d hwy works on the north south lanes....grrrrr......)They do this time on a daily basis for transit on a regular day.

To the Police/health services/wreckers who passed me on the highway @ approximately 9:00/9:30am for an event starting @ 10:00am Kudos to you hope you got there on time you Trini you! (coulda film the high speed driving in the opposite direction on the four shore and in cocorite and use in a movie dred flashing lights/sirens....what a freakin rush!!!!)

To the "innocent" people from the Carenage district who robbed people etc great press, when the police/army kill your fellow villagers looking for you you are sure toreceive lots of sympathy from me and the rest of Trinidad.

Postby honda hoe » July 4th, 2011, 3:00 pm

pioneer wrote:Blame the event organizers

Here's what should have been done

1. Shuttles from city gate to the venue. People pay for the trip.
2. Make use of the ferry's from sando to pos and pos to pier2 and/or hire some private vessels. Let people pay for the trip. Easy revenue for the state.

redbull/bryden or whoever was fully aware of the potential traffic situation but they did nothing about it to make their event accessible, but you all want to blame the police :roll:

But hey, next time let's all leave home at 5am.

maybe ppl who have grouses should apply for a refund

oh wait thats right... it was FREE

so everybody knew what that meant

epic traffic, no parking, squeeze up on d beach, bun up in d sun/soak dong in d rain... unless of course u in VIP

this was all common knowledge an everyone had TWO choices. don't go or leave home early

no one was FORCED to attend

but guess what? exercising common sense = u hadda be on redbull/bryden payroll rite :arrow: