Yeast make evolutionary leap to multicellularity in the lab!

Re: Yeast make evolutionary leap to multicellularity in the

Postby Razkal » June 27th, 2011, 11:58 am

bluefete wrote:
Razkal wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
bluefete wrote:The Creator always was. He had to be, to be the Creator.

Come better dan that nah...

So you 'just exist". Like the universe. There is no purpose to your existence. Like your appendix. If you believe the doctors. Do you know what happens to you if your appendix which "just exists" and serves no purpose, ruptures?

Carry on then.

so all doctors are liars, concerning the necessity of the appendix for individual survival?

..the same doctors are liars when they treat your kid for dengue fever?
..save your grandmother from her severe stroke?
...what about save you from bleeding to death after some imps broadside yuh after sunday service?

why don't these retarded bible thumpers have some sense of consistency??

i mean, if doctors on shite and your 'book' knows better....then why use the facility?

wait, lemme help yuh, "god helps those who helps themselves" ent? :lol:

Listen here Doctor:

Psalm 139:14

14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

Jeremiah 1:5

5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Doctors are only now beginning to get the slightest understanding of the workings of the human body. Those who say the appendix has no purpose have no clue about what they are saying. Every piece of the human body derves a purpose ordained by God. If a doctor does not know, s/he should say so!!

(Some) Doctors are really on shrite. Maybe you know some of them... Being a doctor and all... 8-)

i don't understand your logic man. if doctors are only NOW beginning to understand, why risk it taking yourself and family there when the need arises? i'm sure you've used medical facilities before. i wouldn't trust such infantile knowledge on life and death matters.
they can perform brain transplants, regrow body parts, do quadruple by-pass surgeries and amputate limbs all for the betterment of the afflicted...but say the appendix serves no functional purpose?? blasphemy!! they knows nothing!

its based on the same type of grueling research that the entire medical profession is based on you nitwit. medical knowledge will always be evolving as new information is extracted, technologies improved etc.
a couple centuries ago, it was perfectly acceptable to diagnose someone with "madness" and have a practitioner drill, literally, a hole in the side of the head to alleviate said madness...we have now come to understand the complexities and intricacies of the brain through research and the minds of brilliant individuals in the field, and now have much more successful and humane ways of dealing with mental illness (just as an example).

save me the bible quotes, a reference text is not open to interpretations, which your comfort-book thrives on. i am a firm believer that the publication is completely and utterly useless and the biggest collection of contradictions on paper.

Postby crazybalhead » June 27th, 2011, 12:02 pm

CAAW!!! CAAAAAAWW!! TOOKIE TOOOKIE!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Razkal » June 27th, 2011, 12:05 pm

i forgot about that movie yes :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » June 27th, 2011, 12:07 pm

I opened this thread hoping to gawd and his noodly appendages that I would NOT see something like that movie.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 27th, 2011, 12:18 pm

Razkal wrote: a couple centuries ago, it was perfectly acceptable to diagnose someone with "madness" and have a practitioner drill, literally, a hole in the side of the head to alleviate said madness...
and that was during the time when church/mosque/temple/ and state was one.

Postby RBphoto » June 27th, 2011, 1:48 pm

I have only one question....they making this brewers yeast that they constantly evolving, they bottling the beer as carib or stag?

Postby crazybalhead » June 27th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Banks Guyana.

Postby Habit7 » June 27th, 2011, 2:21 pm

Unless I read a different article, it says:

Jonathan wrote:Sceptics, however, point out that many yeast strains naturally form colonies, and that their ancestors were multicellular tens or hundreds of millions of years ago. As a result, they may have retained some evolved mechanisms for cell adhesion and programmed cell death, effectively stacking the deck in favour of Ratcliff's experiment.

"I bet that yeast, having once been multicellular, never lost it completely," says Neil Blackstone, an evolutionary biologist at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb. "I don't think if you took something that had never been multicellular you would get it so quickly."...

...Ratcliff and his colleagues are planning to address that objection head-on, by doing similar experiments with Chlamydomonas, a single-celled alga that has no multicellular ancestors. They are also continuing their yeast experiments to see whether further division of labour will evolve within the snowflakes. Both approaches offer an unprecedented opportunity to bring experimental rigour to the study of one of the most important leaps in our distant evolutionary past.

So why the victory dance?
Jonathan wrote:Where is your god now? :lol: I keed, I keed!!

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 27th, 2011, 2:37 pm

Razkal wrote:save me the bible quotes, a reference text is not open to interpretations, which your comfort-book thrives on. i am a firm believer that the publication is completely and utterly useless and the biggest collection of contradictions on paper.

Very well said pal.....the only problem is: Idiots like bluefete will never take the time to listen to logic...them fellas blinded by indoctrination (lemme help you with that term bluefete: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indoctrination)....so is best to leave them be. Also they have real time on their hands and always looking to reply quick quick (man with no life nah).