73%
NO
27%

Total votes: 60

Re: SHOULD TRUCKS OPERATE AT NIGHT ?

Postby noshownogo » June 16th, 2011, 7:48 am

Those port trucks need to be off the road at peak hr traffic, cannot run between 4-6pm nor 6-8am, something like that, I think that's more realistic.

I still commend Jack for his initiatives tho, he tries, and makes it known that he working for us.

I fear if he succeeds with this, Duane's prediction would be accurate and we would never see the price of services/good reduced if reverted after a trial. Typical Trini business fashion :?

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 16th, 2011, 8:19 am

A Lane or separate route for trucks only i would support.
but not for trucks to be delivering material at night.

dais madness.. so if you own a hardware and you waiting for material you have to pay workers to receive it at 12:00pm and also pay drivers to make deliveries at that odd hours?

Postby Stephon. » June 16th, 2011, 8:21 am

Shango_13 wrote:yessssss. n like in NY they should always be on the left lane (the slower lane), buses too. no reason for those mass vehicles should be speeding
I agree with them always being in the left lane, I hate to see a big truck in the right lane! :x
Them NESTLE trucks will drive from arima to NESTLE HQ in the right lane. =/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2011, 8:28 am

yup good idea for them to work at night, less pebbles falling to scratch meh car as well as well as them big stone to buss yuh windscreen.

Postby SR » June 16th, 2011, 8:46 am

how about enforcing present laws

heavy vehicles should remain in the left lane and not cross 60kph

including all dem bus

smell

Postby smell » June 16th, 2011, 8:50 am

Do it like d US where trucks are only allowed to use the "slow" lane...in our case the left lane.

I believe Mins. of works and trans believe there is an existing problem where ppl drive slow in the right lane because they went from "keep left except when overtaking" to "slower traffic left lane" for the eeerm....how to put it......"stupid" people, but it seems it still isnt working and might have to draw it for them to understand now!

Imagine yest a man in the fast lane, hazards on, driving 30km/hr!....I wish i was one of them truck men yes!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 8:55 am

Shango_13 wrote:yessssss. n like in NY they should always be on the left lane (the slower lane), buses too. no reason for those mass vehicles should be speeding
now THIS can/should be implemented immediately - no T vehicles on the right lane!!!

I am sure that will cut down on congestion and carnage instantaneously!!!

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 16th, 2011, 8:58 am

now THIS can/should be implemented immediately - no T vehicles on the right lane!!!

true true

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2011, 8:59 am

doh forget T vehicles on the shoulder.....mainly farmall!!!

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2011, 9:04 am

no neveras, hylux, trytonn etc.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » June 16th, 2011, 9:17 am

Trucks should not be a able to come into and leave Port of Spain during peak hours, the traffic does done be heavy then it does have them big a$$ trucks switching lanes causing more traffic cause when they finally reach on the next lane they does leave a million cars length space in front of them!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 16th, 2011, 9:42 am

Speed limiters should be mandatory on all Heavy Vehicles.
No approval for importation of vehicles unless they are equipped with a speed limiter.

These Nissan trucks..10 wheelers...they are not restricted...I've seen them doing 130km/h easy on the highways.

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2011, 10:10 am

not T,
but heavy T,
or over certain MGW and wheels, wheelbase length

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2011, 10:18 am

not from 6pm to 6am but rather

hours like 4am-6am, 9am - 12pm, 1pm-3pm, 6pm-10pm

well my thinking from a logistics perspective

Postby TRAE » June 16th, 2011, 10:31 am

from a normal commuter this would make sense, for truck drivers this would not. if we had proper planning by the ones that founded the country we could have them running on other roads, and completely seperate from normal traffic which would help our roads stay intact and keep that heavy traffic isolated... but what choices do we have now?

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » June 16th, 2011, 10:35 am

The idea is dumb in my book.....look at the reaction rather than pro-action... the companys that transport with big trucks need to get their health and safety game in order... that not the job of the Min of Transport... a truck is a special equipment like a crane.. you got to do your pre checks first before they get operational on the road everyday with is done by the Fleet coordinator along with the driver... even in the instances with the truck being owned by the driver... contracted or sub-contracted. Govening down the speed is not noing to solve the problem... you need Standay operating Proceedures that are followed on a daily basis... heavy T drivers should also have to do a defensive driving course yearly which is submitted to the Min of Works.. with checks by Osha periodicly to ensure that the drivers and equipment are being considered in terms of Health and Safety.. Jack Plan in my mind FAIL...

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2011, 10:42 am

Bama...
the bigger companies already have such in place yunno, and they take pride in their trucks
i have seen myself as in my job i have to deal with many transport companies,
osha checks, certified drivers etc are all in place
it's the smaller hardware, average man trying a ting

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » June 16th, 2011, 10:55 am

tr1ad wrote:Bama...
the bigger companies already have such in place yunno, and they take pride in their trucks
i have seen myself as in my job i have to deal with many transport companies,
osha checks, certified drivers etc are all in place
it's the smaller hardware, average man trying a ting

tr1ad i agree with you cause i used to work closely with paramount.....Ready mix and a host of other companys... but when you tell me a gas truck slipp off the road that should raise eyebrows....how did the truck slip.. i didn't read or hear the drivers statement so i am not aware of what he may have said happened but take the idea and play with it.... was it a air brake issue, fatigue on parts in the truck, fatigue on part of the driver, did the track get a bad drive......? etc... but don't tell me as a person who think i can sift sense from BS that the Min of Transport want to stop heavy T's from operating during the daytime... to me its a retarded statement... as for average man they have to get the jobs to transport goods...and if they have their own transport business someone should be checking the equipment before it goes on the road just like how you will check your water, oil, brakes and such before leaving your home...ok ah done...

Postby foss » June 16th, 2011, 10:59 am

imagine if Uncle Jack was Sports Minister :shock:

we would have some bess racing facilities :D :D

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » June 16th, 2011, 11:06 am

lol..... Buh i tought all yuh like Anil.... lol.... boi... to me all ah dem is waste of time....at de end of the day YOU have to do for you and your family....while they reap all kinda benifits... remember when them get sick they don't go to the hospital... or nursing home...they fly out..ah don't like politicians....doh like dem atall

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » June 16th, 2011, 11:50 am

As it was said before, I doubt this is feasible. Better off with the other suggestion of goods vehicles in the left lane only.

Yes its easy for the average commuter to sit back and say "yeah trucks should only work at night" because they probably haven't considered the implications.

Think about it, where am I going to find drivers AND loaders who are willing to work at those hours, and how much will I have to pay them? Same goes for factories and warehouses that have to dispatch the goods along with customers who have to receive, having to operate throughout the night and then open for business the next day.

Are you willing to have heavy vehicles passing through your area during the entire night?
What happens if you or someone in your area decides to do any type of construction? no sleep for anyone for weeks...
Will you get up @ 11pm then again @1am and again @3am to receive goods? Sleep not important right...
Are you willing to pay more for EVERYTHING because of increase in operating cost and security risk?
How about shortages because all deliveries cannot be made within that timeframe?

These a just a few implications off the top of my head that I know I will face, imagine for all other industries.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 12:14 pm

pugboy wrote:not T,
but heavy T,
or over certain MGW and wheels, wheelbase length
nah nah nah - ALL T

them spaceship owners need to understand that a pickup is to transport goods, not to set records at Nurburgring. If yuh want to ride high then buy a SUV that will be licensed P.

ALL T in the left lane only!!!! 8-)

hell, put all H in the left lane too! :lol:

Postby foss » June 16th, 2011, 12:18 pm

pugboy wrote:not T,
If yuh want to ride high then buy a SUV that will be licensed P.

ALL T in the left lane only!!!! 8-)

hell, put all H in the left lane too! :lol:

AGREED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and add all dem ole rotten down van, and woman too :|

Postby sharkman121 » June 16th, 2011, 12:26 pm

Restrictions on container trucks would be hard to implement as the ports peak period for delivery of containers is in 6am - 11pm period and anyone who's ever been a truck driver knows the chaos it is sometimes to get yr container from the port.

The port depends on these trucks to deliver hundreds of containers everyday to clear space for containers coming on vessels which sometimes bring 1000-2000 containers at a time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 2:53 pm

ALL PH in the left lane too!!!

smell

Postby smell » June 16th, 2011, 3:16 pm

Y try to re-invent the wheel?

The system has been proven by the yankees with respect to trucks on the "slow" lane only

Getting them to run at night will be almost impossible and the consumer will suffer!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 16th, 2011, 3:25 pm

smell wrote:and the consumer will suffer!

more?

allan

Postby allan » June 16th, 2011, 3:31 pm

every ting will go up (more) man go have to work longer hours to wait to collect goods tink about it ah man have a shop in grande and he waiting on a truck to bring goods from point fortin what time he getting that when trucks starting to work from 6pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 16th, 2011, 3:33 pm

I believe jack will go ahead and implement this....the left lane ony sounds realistic and good......also the peak hours they should not be allowed to operate

Postby RBphoto » June 16th, 2011, 4:02 pm

They should make a law for vigo jivers to drive at night only also.