menthlyated spirit on HP screen - Pics up

TK!

Re: menthlyated spirit on HP screen

Postby TK! » June 8th, 2011, 6:43 pm

methyl ethyl sprits and lcd = fuhget about it. that spoils lcds and plastic. nvr ever use that on computer equipment/tvs or plastics.

u are safe using 50-50 isopropyl and pure distilled water

Postby skylinechild » June 8th, 2011, 7:10 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:just a lil bit or rubbing alcohol on a small piece of cotton dan......it will do no harm but u cant wipe your keyboard or any other part of the laptop cause it will damage.......

but its an Hp Laptop.....

How old? If it almost a year old...no worries cause you will have to replace the whole laptop anyway.......cause its HP...........

I know I will get some bashing there but my friends have HP and their motherboards gave up just after a year...as soon as the warranty period finish........

my laptop is like almost 3 yrs old....no over heating problems what so ever...all i did was as soon as it was bought remove the stock 120Gb HDD and memory and install a 250Gb HDD and install a 2Gb memory...

it's still the same way....pics to come....soon...any other suggestions on what to do..?

noobie

Postby noobie » June 8th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Nothing you can do. The spirits removed the coatings on the LCD screen and it's now permanently screwed.

Happened to a monitor of mine ages ago.

Have to change the screen, it isn't going to get better or 'come off'.

Re: menthlyated spirit on HP screen - Pics up

Postby skylinechild » June 8th, 2011, 7:38 pm

pics up guys.....see 1st post for the image link.

orie34

Postby orie34 » June 8th, 2011, 10:01 pm

dont power up laptop

happened to my cuz laptop some months ago, but in his case his son threw half bottle of methylated on screen and keyboard, i just removed screen & motherboard and placed in sun for about 2 hrs.... back to normal after.

don't leave to dry up on own cause this could cause moisture to remain on lcd, although it may seem dry there will still be moisture

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 9th, 2011, 9:23 am

start scrapping the screen. remember the order that you took out the filters and cloth dry everything.....blowdry the lights at the top and bottom of the screen..

as for whatever little damage to the outer surface.. there is nothing much you can do..but that pic telling me that you manage to get some inside the laptop

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2011, 9:56 am

pee on it

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2011, 10:14 am

my screen lookin like this too....

WHAT TO Dooooooo????????

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2011, 10:17 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Image

my screen lookin like this too....

WHAT TO Dooooooo????????

stop using skylinechild computer

Postby skylinechild » June 9th, 2011, 9:46 pm

ok guys.....screen changed....back to full operation.....a friend of mine gave me his screen....and i installed it....works perfect....the keyboard apparently started back to work...so everything in order now....

Postby rfari » June 10th, 2011, 1:44 am

jah hoss now see the photo. hard luck dey. try searching for something online tho. might be possible to reverse it . never know

Postby stev » June 10th, 2011, 4:14 am

holy crap...i thought it was a cloud background in d screen at first glance. will help yuh google sumtin...yuh never kno