Serious talk about soca music

Re: Serious talk about soca music

Postby TRAE » May 4th, 2011, 12:11 pm

AllTrac wrote:
mero wrote:Soca/Calypso is a dying art form but you could swear these half the ppl here from Holland.. lol at these girly men yapping at trance/house is real music when most of them never reach past Zen and Jerry West dance nation on 94.7

ooooohhhhhh gooooooouuuuuuuuuuddddddd WHO GET THAT?!?!?! :shock: :shock: :lol:

i doh even think he get that

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » May 4th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Stephon. wrote:Techno, House, Electro, Electro-pop, Euro-pop, Pop, Trance.

The only real genres of music are stated above, with the exception of some other genres.

wait... NO
Listen someting with some lyrics nuh.
Deadmau5 is a beast though

Postby rollingstock » May 4th, 2011, 4:26 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Bizzare wrote:Scoobert....... ah realize yuh rel trolling lately. Welcome. :drinking:
Wait....... Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011
............. Posts: 147
Ermmm........ Actually, you're jumping the gun son. :|

All dem noobs have ah set ah posts..steuppss :evil:

And your point is?

Postby A172 » May 4th, 2011, 4:57 pm

Scoobert Bauce, you're black, aren't you?

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » May 4th, 2011, 5:01 pm

A172 wrote:Scoobert Bauce, you're black, aren't you?

DOH BE ON ME NAR

Postby A172 » May 4th, 2011, 5:07 pm

zer0xp wrote:
A172 wrote:Scoobert Bauce, you're black, aren't you?

DOH BE ON ME NAR

DOH BE ON DE WRAP AND KUNSHUS VIBES NAR BIGMAN

HARD TING DEHYA

Postby Bizzare » May 4th, 2011, 5:19 pm

Dear God..... It's him :|

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2011, 5:23 pm

Bizzare wrote:Dear God..... It's him :|

not again...

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:

The only real genres of music are stated above, with the exception of some other genres.

wait... NO
Deadmau5 = House/Electro :|

This ha lyrics.

One of my highest played songs on itunes.

Postby mero » May 4th, 2011, 9:03 pm

boy UDFR with that tune eh.. you bashing soca and bigging up electro house and that the biggest tune you could find to bring forward? Your most "most played" too?

u eh shame :|

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 9:27 pm

That's not my most played, its in the top 10. Also as much as the song sucks, soca still at the bottom of the barrel :lol:
Here hold ah E.T

Postby shogun » May 4th, 2011, 9:28 pm

That was your "lyrics" song Stephon?..and then you post a mediocre pop song, to help the argument, that you know what good music is?....your avatar makes more sense to me now. :|

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 9:53 pm

What is a "lyrics" song? :S

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 4th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Postby shogun » May 4th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:What is a "lyrics" song? :S

Stephon. wrote:
This ha lyrics.

According to you......^this

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:

wait... NO
Deadmau5 = House/Electro :|

This ha lyrics.

stephon no eh.

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 11:25 pm

shogun wrote:

Stephon. wrote:
This ha lyrics.

I see comprehension wasn't your strong point in primary school, that isn't a "lyrics" song, nor have I identified what I think a "lyrics" song is. As a matter of fact a "lyrics" song isn't a term I would use.

NOU AllTrac :(

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 4th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Stephon :? :?

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 11:58 pm

^^ DA BAD!!!

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 11:58 pm

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 5th, 2011, 12:06 am

boi she does look like my ex too much it scary...nice voice though

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2011, 12:50 am

Stephon. wrote:
shogun wrote:

Stephon. wrote:
This ha lyrics.

I see comprehension wasn't your strong point in primary school, that isn't a "lyrics" song, nor have I identified what I think a "lyrics" song is. As a matter of fact a "lyrics" song isn't a term I would use.

And i guess vocabulary wasn't yours, because literally, or figuratively, that tripe barely qualifies as "lyrics"...it's literally one or two sentences, with portions repeated...look up the meaning of "lyrics" sometime..it doesn't mean saying a few dis-jointed words to music.

Postby Stephon. » May 5th, 2011, 12:57 am

I was replying to
"Listen someting with some lyrics nuh."

The song I posted has lyrics, back to my comprehension comment.

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2011, 1:03 am

Use of the singular form lyric to refer to a song's complete set of words that is grammatically acceptable However it's not considered acceptable to refer to a singular word in a song as a lyric.

you were saying?

Postby Stephon. » May 5th, 2011, 1:36 am

If I answer that people will think both of us went Junior Sec schools, I'd rather just let everyone think you're the only one that did.

jump an wave jump up an wavex10

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2011, 2:22 am

Yeah, go with that answer.

Postby Hook » May 5th, 2011, 8:28 am

wow...y'all fackers went WAAAAY off-course, came back in for a bit and then veered again :|

anyways...on-topic

TRAE wrote:I'm actually kinda scared to think about if Soca becomes a Yearly production for 2 reasons:

the Quality will Decrease because Artists will just push any and everything out to make quick money instead of compiling the best for Performing

Artists will blend Dancehall into Soca until we cant tell the difference

Other than that though I love Soca and it is our culture and should be promoted as an integral part of trini heritage---- look what dancehall does for Jamaica

Your two concerns have already come to pass, the first being proven for the greater part of a decade and the second happened just this year.

Case in point:

Exactly WHICH part of that was soca? Yet he says "we soca again" in the song, when clearly one could easily think it was Busy Signal chookin' he han' in d ting.

Postby crazybalhead » May 5th, 2011, 8:43 am

Dear Gord, please doh make someone post Dahrude...please, I beggin yuh.

Talking about beggin yuh:

Listen to the universal appeal. Friendship.

Now listen to this, take a step back and view it from an international perspective:

What the fvck is he singing???? Even other islanders can't understand the sheit he's on about.

Now...I saw a program years ago about international music and this is not a new phenomena, oru soca music tends to be myopic with a view to creating some vapid nonsense to wine to for a very short season.

Destra once said in an interview that she is not taking voice lessons, "Why I have to do that?", that's the prevailing attitude, and that is why Soca will go nowhere.

Right, now that I've said that, we still have some gems:

rossi

Postby rossi » May 5th, 2011, 9:15 am

Postby rollingstock » May 5th, 2011, 9:34 am

This is tune, nice rhythm and hard lyrics.