Income Tax Arrears?????

Re: Income Tax Arrears?????

Postby cinco » April 21st, 2011, 9:04 am

work out the taxes and file them
if you are owed and owe then you just pay the difference or they refund u the difference

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » April 21st, 2011, 12:10 pm

Man makin big money since 1994...I feelz so underpaid..

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » April 26th, 2011, 6:04 pm

anybody know how to handle independent contractor taxes? what is the policy on that in Trinidad?

aprilaa

Postby aprilaa » May 2nd, 2011, 3:55 am

What is the income tax rate for capital gain to a non resident indian? A non resident indian has sold a inherited Urban Non agriculture Land in india. What will be the tax rate on such capital gain in india? Is he liable to file income tax return in india if the purchaser has deducted TDS while making Payment?
Last edited by aprilaa on May 6th, 2011, 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2011, 6:12 am

bai, juss keep that money in a foreign account.

Evoloution

Postby Evoloution » May 4th, 2011, 3:40 pm

so if i work out my takes for 2010 and i have to pay then i am not obligated to file. if i dont file how can this come back to haunt me later on like 10..20..30 years down the line

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 4th, 2011, 8:42 pm

^^^not obligated, no haunting.....dais if you live.....make sure however you file 8 years before you retire.....you are not culpable for periods prior to that.

I have to find out however, if one were to die, whether any benefits to be paid to family would be affected....

Postby cinco » May 5th, 2011, 7:53 am

yes if you dont file taxes your family has to go tru sum mumbojumbo before you can get your benefits
and if you dont file for 2010 you will have to pay interest on any monies owing to the government
there is an amnesty on for the past 6 years (which is what you are liable for )

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 7th, 2011, 1:34 pm

anybody got returns from May/June filing yet?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 7th, 2011, 3:39 pm

Income Tax returns for the income year 2011 will be mailed next year.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 7th, 2011, 5:44 pm

I also filed for previous years.. would all come the same time?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 7th, 2011, 5:50 pm

Income Tax returns for previous years can be printed from www.ird.gov.tt or you can get then at revenue offices.
Taxpayers would only receive a return for the current year (2011) in the mail.
It is always best to ensure that your information is current and accurate to ensure the receipt of your mails from IRD.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 7th, 2011, 7:13 pm

soooo... I'll have to go in their office for cheques that I filed for previous years :oops:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 7th, 2011, 7:23 pm

uncle sam wrote:soooo... I'll have to go in their office for cheques that I filed for previous years :oops:

Hoss... what you really talking about..?
If you're saying cheques.... Cheques are used to pay taxes owed at cashiers units.

An income earner needs to complete an income tax return to verify whether he has paid all taxes due, is still owning taxes or is due a refund for the overpayment of taxes.

IIT returns are filed on an annual basis.
For an emolument earner, you file when you receive your TD4 from your employer/s.
For a self-employed person, you file using your income statement

When you go into a Revenue Office, you can ask to speak with a Tax Officer who can give you any information needed.
All tax related assistance from Tax Officers should be FREE of charge as they are being paid to provide you with assistance by the government.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 7th, 2011, 7:37 pm

aight doe make me out so nah!... I was really talking about refunds due to over payments. I am due a few thousands in refunds and was expecting some kind of notification by mail about when to collect. (I already worked out the figures and sent in the forms) In the tax office, an officer looked at my forms, said they were ok and told me drop it in a box... so what now?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 7th, 2011, 7:45 pm

:) Now you wait.
I'm guessing you filed during the amnesty.
Persons who filled previous year returns during the amnesty will have a bit of a wait.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 7th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Thanks alot! Saved me a trip to the office. Thought I would have gotten some extra $ for the Christmas but that isn't looking like it's going to happen. Yes I filed during the amnesty.

Regards!