Arima Grand Prix 2011 - April 24th CANCELLED!

chris1388

Re: Arima Grand Prix 2011 - April 24th

Postby chris1388 » April 12th, 2011, 6:34 pm

I live very close to that stadium and from my experience with those roads that are outlined for the "track" is that they are very uneven. The area i have circled in blue below is like sort of depression....a small drain almost...connecting the two roads.....I don't see how cars will be able turn over that at full competition speed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2011, 6:40 pm

Briefing meeting at Larry Gomes Stadium at 7pm Wednesday 13th April 2011
You must attend the briefing meeting if you plan to compete at this event.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 12th, 2011, 7:30 pm

i feel i coming home early for this :(

Postby wagon r » April 12th, 2011, 7:57 pm

....Unkle.....no drift display.....if we showcasing ALL aspects....give the guys a chance. It will surely be a crowd highlight....

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 12th, 2011, 8:55 pm

chris1388 wrote:I live very close to that stadium and from my experience with those roads that are outlined for the "track" is that they are very uneven. The area i have circled in blue below is like sort of depression....a small drain almost...connecting the two roads.....I don't see how cars will be able turn over that at full competition speed.

Chris, but I just confirmed all of what you said as fact, and indicated that we have been promised that this will be fixed, we are continuing to push to have it done ASAP.

And nephew, one of your brother phototakeouters was supposed to dialog with two persons from that group and give us some feed back - but you know the man, and you would not want him to come to take you to the airport for a flight!

Postby sliderz1 » April 13th, 2011, 12:37 am

^^niceeeee

link

Postby link » April 13th, 2011, 1:13 am

AutoSport wrote:For clarity, this event is entirely a fun event to bring a display of Motor Racing to the people of Arima and environs.

The Circuit Cars and Karting competitors are the only ones who will participate in a “race” with more than two competitors.

The Solodex and Rally competitors will participate in “time attack” style competition with only two vehicles at a time, and set off some distance apart.

Moto Cross riders will determine how they will run.

The Drag cars, again we are not looking for any fast cars, those slower than 12 seconds. The distance is less than 1/8 of a mile. They will run on the Boulevard, South of the Larry Gomes Stadium, one car on either side of the median. We would like those taking part to pair themselves with others of similar speed/bracket. We will not be running any cars to determine a class or bracket.

Again pure fun, a display event for the people of the area. And giving some a chance to “blow out the carbon”.

Because of the limitations of the area we have to use, there will be no “real competition”, no trophies; but we know how any motor racer can be very “competitive” even when running by themselves.

Safety scrutineering will be done to all competing vehicles by their respective management, Drag Racing scrutineering done by AutoSport personnel. Very simple, very fundamental.

And for this we are charging the grand fee of $100.00 and you get four passes with this.

again...mr.autosport...I ask :
IS THIS EVENT SANCTIONED BY TTASA THE T&T MOTOR SPORT NSO :?: :?: :?:

link

Postby link » April 13th, 2011, 1:29 am

autosport wrote
For clarity, this event is entirely a fun event to bring a display of Motor Racing to the people of Arima and environs

ISC art.22
c) Demonstration
A demonstration is a display of the performance of one or
more cars. The following conditions must be observed:
- demonstrations are controlled at all times by a clerk of
the course;
− demonstrations of more than 5 cars are controlled at all
times by a safety car, driven ahead of the field by an
experienced driver under the control of the clerk of the
course;
− all the marshals must be present at their posts (within
the framework of a meeting), and rescue and signalling
services are required;
− arrangements ensuring the safety of the spectators
must be in place;
Published on 10.11.2010
Immediate Application
5/25
− drivers must wear appropriate safety clothing (FIA
approved clothing and helmets are strongly
recommended). Organisers may specify minimum
clothing standards;
− the cars must pass scrutineering on safety grounds;
− a precise entry list must be published after
scrutineering;
− no passengers are allowed except when the cars were
originally designed and equipped to transport
passengers in the same safety conditions as the driver,
and provided that they wear appropriate safety clothing
(the clothing and helmets approved by the FIA are
strongly recommended). The organisers may specify
minimum clothing standards;
− overtaking is strictly forbidden unless under the
instructions of marshals showing blue flags;
− timing is forbidden;
− cars must not bear any racing numbers, except for cars
that are historically associated with a particular racing
number.
Other means of identification of the cars may be used by
the organisers (letters or numbers on side windows,
etc.), but such identifications must be removed when
the car leaves the location of the event.
- within the framework of a meeting, any demonstration
must be mentioned in the supplementary regulations
and the cars taking part must be mentioned in the
programme.
Parades and demonstrations cannot be organised without
express authorisation from the ASN of the organising
country

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » April 13th, 2011, 5:30 am

Adolf Hitler: Dead
Saddam Hussein: Dead
Hosney Mubarak: Deposed
Laurent Gbango: Deposed
Muaamar Ghadafi: Still fighting his people

Keep it up my friends, one day we will all get what we looking for.

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » April 13th, 2011, 6:57 am

ingalook wrote:Slower than 12 secs?

Not getting to see and GT-Rs then :(

I want to run "time attack" though... hope my car is up to it

12 days is not enough to get my car put back together, :cry:
but I am hoping to get a similar mazda borrowed. :twisted:
Last edited by mazdamaniac on April 13th, 2011, 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 13th, 2011, 8:44 am

IS THIS EVENT SANCTIONED BY THE T&T MOTOR SPORT NSO

LInk if it is or not... what difference does it make?

How long have you been affiliated with Motorsports ?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2011, 9:30 am

For those of you wondering how to get directions to the Larry Gomes Stadium tonight, directions are here:

Directions to the Larry Gomes Stadium at Malabar in Arima.
Proceed eastbound along the churchhill roosevelt highway, in the vicinity of the Arima Horse race track located on the right. At the traffic light intersection make a left heading north along O'meara road for approx quarter mile until you the sign for Larry gomes Stadium pointing to turn right. Head along eastbound for another quarter mile towards the stadium. You will see the stadium light towers. Make a turn left off the main road near the entrance to the stadium and proceed to the north area carpark.

http://www.trinirc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&p=1602

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 13th, 2011, 9:31 am

My one and only reply to those seeking clarification whether this event is sanctioned by anyone..

Note when this question was asked at the MSYA last Tuesday, the MSYA refused to be dragged into this discussion.

A meeting was held yesterday with the appropriate authority and this situation was discussed and a position agreed upon.

We move on.

Postby wagon r » April 13th, 2011, 2:34 pm

unkle....i know of what you speak. however, DWO is family to me (literally), so let me know what you need. I will pass on the info and get them involved.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 13th, 2011, 3:02 pm

CARVtech wrote:Adolf Hitler: Dead
Saddam Hussein: Dead
Hosney Mubarak: Deposed
Laurent Gbango: Deposed
Muaamar Ghadafi: Still fighting his people

Keep it up my friends, one day we will all get what we looking for.

roflmao ....well said

link

Postby link » April 13th, 2011, 4:36 pm

AutoSport wrote:My one and only reply to those seeking clarification whether this event is sanctioned by anyone..

Note when this question was asked at the MSYA last Tuesday, the MSYA refused to be dragged into this discussion.A meeting was held yesterday with the appropriate authority and this situation was discussed and a position agreed upon.

We move on.

your version.........it's amazing how easily you do this....no doubt from years of practice....
thank you for the committment
WE move on......

Postby tr1ad » April 13th, 2011, 7:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:As the vice president of said NSO/TTASA you should know!
you mean to say you don't know what your association is sanctioning?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 13th, 2011, 8:55 pm

I was very interested but then I saw 12 and slower.

Postby wagon r » April 13th, 2011, 10:46 pm

^ ....press the gas half way and leave the suspension setting in 'Comfort'......

...easy 12secs.... :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 14th, 2011, 12:06 am

"your version........." In the presence of three former TTASA Presidents.

One day you will open your eyes and see the reality of the world.
Good night.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2011, 3:06 am

White CZ4A wrote:

I was very interested but then I saw 12 and slower.

Let the GT-Rs run nah... Nissan selling them sub 12sec from the factory without roll cages... who is allyuh?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 14th, 2011, 8:23 am

AutoSport wrote:"your version........." In the presence of three former TTASA Presidents.

One day you will open your eyes and see the reality of the world.
Good night.

I was referring here to a meeting held on Tuesday 12th April, when this point was raised.

End of comments on this subject.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » April 14th, 2011, 11:27 am

^^ i know this a fatboy question....but by chance i was wondering if Sham curry duck is going to be there?

Postby tr1ad » April 14th, 2011, 11:30 am

get him at dex first nah den worry about AGP

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 14th, 2011, 6:26 pm

The meeting last night went well i believe and its good to meet Mr. Auto sport again after such a long time.

I hope the promises of the smoothing of the roads is fulfilled there are some undulations on the roads to the west of the the LG stadium.

The drag racing distance is a little less than 1/8 of a mile or approximately 656 meters , the total track seems to be twice that length with equal acceleration and stopping distances.

For solid barriers on the corners or areas likely to run off the paper rolls from the neighboring paper factory would be used.
Action gets under was thus far at 11am and public parking may be at the north of the stadium and further in that area.

I would advise some factory compounds to be used or whatever areas that can be solicited for paid parking away from the general racing areas.
Last edited by cornfused on April 14th, 2011, 9:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 14th, 2011, 6:54 pm

cornfused wrote:The meeting last night went well i believe and it good to meet Mr. Auto sport again after such a long time.

I hope the promises of the smoothing of the roads is fulfilled there are some undulations on the roads to the west of the the LG stadium.

I would advise some factory compounds to be uses or whatever areas that can be solicited for paid parking.

Today Thursday, the Ministry of Works sent their officers to look at what we are asking for and we hope this will be done in the coming days.

Good idea with the "factory parking", we will surely look into it.

Love the constructive comments, and even constructive criticism, we can all move forward together in this manner. Some suggestions were also made by others in relocating some things we had indicated and this will also be looked at.

Postby SR » April 14th, 2011, 10:50 pm

wait link still brayin ttasa............next ting he go bawl it eh fia sanctioned like how wallerfeild met all safety requirements to be fia sanctioned

good to see ALL people who want to see motorsport move forward come together to put on an event like this

twingated42R

Postby twingated42R » April 16th, 2011, 4:50 am

SR wrote:wait link still brayin ttasa............next ting he go bawl it eh fia sanctioned like how wallerfeild met all safety requirements to be fia sanctioned

good to see ALL people who want to see motorsport move forward come together to put on an event like this

no no u missed the part where sheldon's record breaking runs weren't TTASA sanctioned therefore they are not 'official' :|

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 17th, 2011, 12:30 pm

Cars entered to participate in the Drag racing category at this Event will be checked out at the venue, today Sunday from 2:00pm. And they will also have an opportunity to see how they will be set up on the Event date, so they will have a better idea of what is expected.

The various parts of this whole big extravangaza are nicely falling into place.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2011, 4:01 pm

^^ Media passes?